No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Beggars Reach Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Burton Milton Haven, Pembrokeshire, SA73 1PD
Beggars Reach Hotel is a little Welsh secret just waiting to be discovered. The hotel was formerly a Victorian Village Rectory but has been transformed into a wonderful hotel with every modern comfort and convenience. The hotel has 9 acres of landscaped gardens and is surrounded by National Park and farm land, yet, despite its pretty and rural location it is not far from the towns of Milford Haven, Pembroke and Haverfordwest so is ideally located for exploring West Wales.

All of the 30 individually designed rooms are charming and comfortable with every convenience and the hotel has free WiFi. There is ample parking for up to 80 vehicles. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure you are sure to have a warm welcome and be well looked after.

The hotel has two restaurants and a bar. There is a very attractive Orangery in which to enjoy excellent food prepared and served to a high standard by our team of talented chefs.

Picture of Beggars Reach Hotel, Pembrokeshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a happy experience with small reservations.
Our family of four were pleased to find accommodation at very short notice on a busy bank holiday. We phoned Beggar's Reach Hotel who told us that they didn't have suitable accommodation available but undeterred we booked anyway seeing that Laterooms.com said there was a vacancy. This did prove to work out and we found that a wedding reception was taking place on arrival which may have explained the owner's reluctance to take us. The room was comfortable enough and the staff friendly and efficient. A downside was that WiFi wasn't operational while we were there and the owner said that the suppliers were at fault. There was a fairly decently appointed little restaurant but the food was not really much better than a local cafe. Overall, a curate's egg of an experience with some good parts but one or two things could have been better.

Reviewed by
Alan Gibbons

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
Beggars Reach is a beautiful hotel situated in a peaceful remote location. All staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly. The entire stay was excellent and great value for money

Reviewed by
N Shelley

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beggers Reach
The accommodation was clean and comfortable the staff very helpful

Reviewed by
Marcus Hughes

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay
Nice room, friendly service, beautiful location, ticked all the boxes, only thing on the downside was I wanted a shower at 6am but there was no hot water, I did phone from the room and inside 15 mins it was warm enough.

Reviewed by
Jill Clarke

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everyone was really friendly, however I think the younger members of staff could be a wee bit more engaging in conversation.

Reviewed by
Paul A

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business traveller
Basic room, WiFi was very slow. Restaurant was overpriced and served small portions, probably explained why there were only a couple of other people eating there.

Reviewed by
S North

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beggars Reach - Thoroughly recommendable!
When we arrived we were very impressed with the lovely location and beautiful grounds.
Our room (which was a family room for 3) was a nice size, very clean, a nice hospitality tray was provided. My son had a proper bed not a camp bed. The beds were very comfortable. Even though there was a big wedding taking place our needs weren't compromised by this.
The breakfast the next morning was superb. Plenty of cereals and orange juice to start. When the cooked breakfast arrived it was plentiful and piping hot! The owners themselves served our breakfast and were very nice to us.
I would definitely come here again !

Reviewed by
Denise Jarrett

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beggars belief
The location and surrounding grounds were stunning - can understand why so many weddings take place there - we saw 2 in our short stay.
The welcome was good even with us arriving extremely late in the evening.
We had some difficulty finding the hotel but that was due to us getting there in the pitch dark and it is quite easy to find in the daylight.
The accommodation was good and due to the hot weather the ventilation was inadequate as the window only opens some way - obviously during cooler climates this would not be a problem.
The breakfast was fantastic and plenty to choose from.
After walking the countryside all day we decided to dine in the restaurant on the Saturday evening and again the choice was superb and the food excellent - and not too pricey.
Checkout ran smoothly and the people were very welcoming.
Would like to make a comment that the staff work very hard and nothing is too much of a problem

Reviewed by
Andrea F

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
Good food pleasant , helpful staff. Quiet location.

Reviewed by
Robert T

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Me and my partner enjoyed every minute of our stay at the beggars reach .. The hotel was nice and clean and the staff were so friendly. Couldn't fault the evening meal or the breakfast, would definitely visit the hotel again.

Reviewed by
Laura M

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next