No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Beeches

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
76 Selly Oak Road Bournville, Birmingham, B30 1LS
Originally built by the Cadbury family in the 1900s, The Beeches is a unique and characterful property set in the heart of the beautiful village of Bournville. Easy to reach from the M42, M5 and M6, and with ample free parking on site, The Beeches’ grounds and peaceful location offers a restful stop at the end of your journey.

Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, The Beeches provides a very warm welcome and a comfortable stay in one of its cosy rooms. All the rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer as well as free WiFi for all guests.

In the evenings guests can relax in the bar and lounge where bar snacks and evening meals are served and also a restuarant (please call prior to your booking to enquire if the restaurant will be open during your stay). The friendly staff and home-cooked food make The Beeches a great choice for regular guests visiting the University of Birmingham, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham International Airport and new Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

With the popular Cadbury’s World and the attraction and history of Bournville just minutes from its door, The Beeches is the perfect location from which to explore the delights of the local area. The city of Birmingham is just a short train ride away, and highlights such as The Bullring Shopping Centre, the National Exhibition Centre and National Indoor Arena mean it is a fantastic location for a short break or extended visit!

Breakfast times are 07:30 - 09:00 Monday - Friday & 08:00 - 10:00 Saturday & Sundays
Check out time 10:00 Monday - Friday & 11:00 Saturday - Sunday
Picture of The Beeches, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 128 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
steve m

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, comfortable, good dinner

Reviewed by
Max I

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly service
The reception was welcoming and friendly

Reviewed by
Mary H

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great

Reviewed by
n ward

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If all you are looking for is a bed for the night then this is ideal. Dated but clean enough ( a few tiny bugs in the toilet/ shower room). would use again.

Reviewed by
Brian Wager

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple but clean accommodation
I purchased one of the cheaper rooms but was extremely happy with the cleanliness and value for money. Loved the breakfast!

Reviewed by
Scott W

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked this hotel for our trip to cricket finals nearby only 3 miles away, Yes, it is catering more for conferences but for us it suited our needs. The staff could not have more friendly and helpful and i am afraid to say you will have to put up with us at the cricket finals next year.

Reviewed by
peter hudson

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent hotel - great staff. Good value.
Located in a leafy suburb of Birmingham, I found this a quiet pleasant place to stay. The staff on Reception are exceptional - always really welcoming and helpful. Everything I needed was attended to efficiently. I booked a single en suite which although not large, was fine for my purpose. It was comfortable and clean, everything worked, there was always hot water in the shower and the free wi-fi signal good. I agree with other reviews in that the en suite especially was dated, but it was still clean and functional. Can't comment on the food as I stayed room only. Happy to use again and recommend to others. A good value stay.

Reviewed by
Philip S

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice quiet area for Birmingham
Nice quiet area to stay in. Plenty of parking, good clean room with everything you would need for a night or two. Good size room.

Reviewed by
lesley p

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome even at Midnight !
We stayed here on Friday 27th June 2014 as we were working nearby the following morning - the traffic that evening was horrendous due to the M5 being closed overnight and as a result we didn't get there til just after midnight. The guy on reception was friendly and helpful and even carried our bags for us ! Overall we were very pleased with our stay. We've given the Quality of Room a 4 - this is purely because this IS a conference centre not a hotel - as a conference delegate ensuite it is perfect I would say. Overall had a great experience and would stay there again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Janet M

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next