No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Beeches

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
76 Selly Oak Road Bournville, Birmingham, B30 1LS
Originally built by the Cadbury family in the 1900s, The Beeches is a unique and characterful property set in the heart of the beautiful village of Bournville. Easy to reach from the M42, M5 and M6, and with ample free parking on site, The Beeches’ grounds and peaceful location offers a restful stop at the end of your journey.

Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, The Beeches provides a very warm welcome and a comfortable stay in one of its cosy rooms. All the rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer as well as free WiFi for all guests.

In the evenings guests can relax in the bar and lounge where bar snacks and evening meals are served and also a restuarant (please call prior to your booking to enquire if the restaurant will be open during your stay). The friendly staff and home-cooked food make The Beeches a great choice for regular guests visiting the University of Birmingham, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham International Airport and new Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

With the popular Cadbury’s World and the attraction and history of Bournville just minutes from its door, The Beeches is the perfect location from which to explore the delights of the local area. The city of Birmingham is just a short train ride away, and highlights such as The Bullring Shopping Centre, the National Exhibition Centre and National Indoor Arena mean it is a fantastic location for a short break or extended visit!

Breakfast times are 07:30 - 09:00 Monday - Friday & 08:00 - 10:00 Saturday & Sundays
Check out time 10:00 Monday - Friday & 11:00 Saturday - Sunday
Picture of The Beeches, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget priced hotel with great service
I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
The staff were very good, the hotel was clean and noise free.
the room i booked was a single, a bit small but for the price no complaints.
They have a small gym that the reception was happy to show around even after midnight.
overall great

Reviewed by
shabaz r

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for value and for a romantic week end. Will come again!

Reviewed by
Mawuli

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Economical Accomodation
The conference centre is split over two types of accommodation – within the large house previously owned by the Cadbury family or within purpose built blocks set out in the extensive grounds. The house is solidly built back in the 1900s and has all the quality of sound proofing which goes with that type of construction. The blocks in the grounds do not enjoy the same quality of soundproofing. My first night was extremely quiet as I was only occupier in the block of approximately 24 rooms. The next night could not have been more different – the noise in the corridor and adjacent room was enough to keep me constantly disturbed until late into the night and again in the morning, being able to hear entire conversations through the walls. The last night of my stay was the same as the first – silence throughout the rest of the unoccupied block.
The room I was in was very small although adequate for my needs as a dormitory – however, a couple may have had some problems with the sleeping arrangements as one could only access the bed from one side or the foot of the bed. The en suite facilities were clean and functional. The room heating controllable by radiator thermostats.
The wi-fi was free and I had no connectivity problems.
Parking was free, and although the main car park was some distance from the main house entrance, parking for the block I was in was separate and closer to the block.
The cooked breakfasts were good with a very cheerful, friendly and willing staff serving.
I did not try the bar or evening restaurant and was not there for a conference.
Value for money – excellent! Although, if staying in one of the accommodation blocks in the grounds, I would try to choose a time to stay when the accommodation was less likely to be used by those visiting Birmingham to see shows or events at the NEC.

Reviewed by
David Davies

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay and the staff are really polite and professional. the accomadation was lovely too

Reviewed by
S Hilton

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The young woman on reception was very welcoming as was the young man on Wednesday morning. Both helpful and polite.The food however was truly dreadful.The burger was almost inedible and the chips tasted as though they were made from cardboard and not potaoes. The breakfast was distinctly average. I would be reluctant to stay there in the future because of the food. The staff were lovely.

Reviewed by
maggie s

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single room was adequate for a one night stay however it was very hot in the room and the heating was not accessible to turn it down. Inn addition the walls were very thin and the occupant of next room spent hours shouting into his phone keeping me awake until the early hours of the morning.

Reviewed by
Tricia C

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No fuss overnighter
Single room. pleasant enough, no fuss, no bother, quiet.

Reviewed by
S Gorman

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a hit and miss experience. For the price, this is a better then basic room but in need of updating. Facilities are good and in general, service was OK. But staff need some training. On two ocassions we were told contridactory information which was frustrating. Firstly we were told by the bar staff that we could only order food at the bar, which we later learned at reception that we could go into the dinning room area and order food. Food was brilliant but upon wanting to pay the bill for this separately, we were told it would go onto a tab to pay the next day. At reception, we were told we could have paid this at the time rather than have this on a tab. This was not only frustrating but created a bad impression about the hotel. If they could improve this aspect, I would have rated them higher. Good if you just want a basic stay for the night, but nothing over the top.

Reviewed by
Adam G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Beeches, Bournville - perfect addition to a great weekend
The Beeches was a very pleasant and comfortable hotel to stay in. Ideal for us as it was within 1 mile of Cadbury's World which was part of our visit. A nice addition was that The Beeches was built by the Cadbury family and so fitted in well to the weekend. The room was nice and had all the amenities you need for a short stay. The breakfast in the morning was tailor ordered so was lovely and fresh to set you up for the day. With the railway station a short walk away too, what more could you want! Would recommend and happily stay here again.

Reviewed by
Ben P

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I expected better
I paid £100 for 2 nights. The room was very basic and the bed hard.
Some of the staff were youngsters and I found their attitude a bit offish. I had problems connecting to the Wi Fi in my room and in the lounge. I told a member of staff and she was "yeah, what do you expect me to do?" Don't know if i'd stay again.

Reviewed by
Marc N

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next