You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Regent House Hotel

2

3-5 Forth Street, Edinburgh, EH1 3JX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Z Watson

  • April 2016

Wouldn't even waste your time looking!!!

When we were looking into accommodation for our weekend trip to Edinburgh, Regent House Hotel seem to tick all the boxes.

There were six adult women so the offer of a three bedroom self catering apartment was excellent and we booked due to the pictures of the apartment. When we arrived we were met with something totally different. The apartment is separated from the actual hotel down in a basement of a town house a few doors down. When we got inside one of the residents came out from the apartment above shouting at us to be quiet. We are all adult women not teenagers and was not being loud or rowdy, we were just talking about our weekend plans. When we actually go in the apartment... What a disgrace. There was one double room and two twin rooms. In the smallest twin room was two single beds rammed in so tightly you couldn't even get changed comfortably in there but that wasn't the worse part. Instead of a curtain up at the window they trapped a bed sheet into the window. There was holes in the ceiling, tiles missing in the bathroom, the "English country garden" promised in the discrieption is nothing more than a weed filled yard with two metal chairs tipped over and two huge glass panels leant up against the wall. The list of defects could go on and on. As you can imagine we were furious at the false advertising we fell for due to the lovely pictures shown on the website/laterooms. We were all extremely disappointed and all decided to get our money back and try and get another room elsewhere for the weekend (oh I also forgot to mention, when we actually checked in before seeing the accommodation we were charged a £250 safety deposit for any damages that may occur). We all made our way back up the stairs to the hotel reception to ask for our money back due to the false advertisement we were shown. The "assistant manager" was snotty, unhelpful and in a nutshell not professional in the slightest!!. She refused to give us our money back stating hotel policy. I myself work as a concierge in a prestigious apartment complex and know the do's and don'ts of hospitality. I understand hotel procedure but i wouldn't let a farm animal stay in that accommodation let alone adults, because we were refused our money back we had to stay but luckily enough my partner managed to get the safety deposit back as we thought they would find excuse to keep it with us kicking up a stink about the state of the place. Please take my advice when I say this..... stay away from this place. It is vile.

  • K Cai

  • December 2015

Nice house

Nice.

  • John Whitelaw

  • November 2015

Regent Accomodation

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night on the 27/11/15 and enjoyed a pleasant stay.

On arrival you were shown to your room and given the opportunity to ensure that you were happy with it. We had the ensuite room which was a great addition to our bedroom. The breakfast was continental but plenty off choice and delicious. Overall a great stay at an affordable price and would definitely book to stay at this hotel again.

  • Emma C

  • November 2015

Regent House Hotel

Good service.

  • J A

  • November 2015

Buget Beaater

Booked partly due to its proximity to a conference venue and partly due to the price, I couldn't fault this budget beater.

Not everyone would manage the 3 flights of winding stairs, but I need all the exercise I can get. Although I was travelling solo, the room I'd booked had 3 single beds and a spotless modern en suite shower/toilet (which, whilst bijou and compact, had everything needed). There were plenty of fresh, clean towels, a hair dryer in the room and an iron available on request. Breakfast was included and there was an ample choice, although no cooked breakfast - to be honest I wouldn't expect one for the price. All the the staff I met were polite and helpful. I would stay here again without hesitation for business or pleasure. Two people could have stayed and breakfasted for the same price, which is outstanding value.

  • Folkert v

  • October 2015

Very nice bed

I stayed one night in this hotel.

Close to the center. Will stay again when i visit edinburgh.

  • Tom J

  • September 2015

Lovely apartment with central location - good for small groups or family.

Accommodation is a basement apartment with three bedrooms, living room, kitchen and bathroom separate from hotel.

Rooms are clean and everything worked. Great position for centre of Edinburgh - about 5 minutes walk from Waverley train station. Excellent for family or small group as having use of kitchen and living room useful and saves money. Overall very happy with stay!

  • Sue B

  • September 2015

an experience

On arrival, they couldn't find the room key, had a 20 minute wait while they looked for one.

Was given the housekeepers key. Room on third floor no lift - it wasn't a problem for me but it would have been helpful to know in advance. En suite had been updated and was small but clean and usable (not sure how a family would have managed in the space). The room had three beds in it - I was expecting a single. The chair in the room was threadbare. The bed springs were uncomfortable. Wifi did not work in the room - when I complained it was suggested I sit in the lobby on the ground floor to get a signal.

  • D Scott

  • July 2015

Wonderful Hotel

Staff friendly and helpful.

Room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Near the centre without being in it. Lovely quiet location but plenty of restaurants/bars/pubs very locally.

  • I Laing

  • June 2015

Pleasant Stay

Reception and staff very friendly and helpful, room spacious, claen and tastefully decorated.

Although shower room a little compact there was also a sink in the room itself which proved useful. Continanetal breakfast had a reasonably wide choice of good fresh food. Reasonably central for shops, restuarants and the Playhouse Theatre.