Reviews - Regent House Hotel


3-5 Forth Street, Edinburgh, EH1 3JX

Price From 146.78 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Tom J

  • September 2015

Lovely apartment with central location - good for small groups or family.

Accommodation is a basement apartment with three bedrooms, living room, kitchen and bathroom separate from hotel.

Rooms are clean and everything worked. Great position for centre of Edinburgh - about 5 minutes walk from Waverley train station. Excellent for family or small group as having use of kitchen and living room useful and saves money. Overall very happy with stay!

  • Sue B

  • September 2015

an experience

On arrival, they couldn't find the room key, had a 20 minute wait while they looked for one.

Was given the housekeepers key. Room on third floor no lift - it wasn't a problem for me but it would have been helpful to know in advance. En suite had been updated and was small but clean and usable (not sure how a family would have managed in the space). The room had three beds in it - I was expecting a single. The chair in the room was threadbare. The bed springs were uncomfortable. Wifi did not work in the room - when I complained it was suggested I sit in the lobby on the ground floor to get a signal.

  • D Scott

  • July 2015

Wonderful Hotel

Staff friendly and helpful.

Room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Near the centre without being in it. Lovely quiet location but plenty of restaurants/bars/pubs very locally.

  • I Laing

  • June 2015

Pleasant Stay

Reception and staff very friendly and helpful, room spacious, claen and tastefully decorated.

Although shower room a little compact there was also a sink in the room itself which proved useful. Continanetal breakfast had a reasonably wide choice of good fresh food. Reasonably central for shops, restuarants and the Playhouse Theatre.

  • Maryam L

  • April 2015

Better than expected!

This Was my first visit to Scottland so I don't have any hotel experience there to compare it with.

i'll give you a quick overview. The hotel is actually more like a guest house. It's a very old building with outdated decore & carpeting & my single room was very small, although I didn't mind. It's situated in a great central location, walking distance to a lot of attractions, it's clean & quiet. I was very much impressed by the staff,they were super nice & very helpful, esp. Louis & the Hungarian woman(sorry forgot the name). The breakfast was very simple, pastaries, cold cuts, cheese, juice, coffee...I did

have an overall satisfactory experienc.

  • David Ferguson

  • April 2015

Two night stay

Excellent location, reasonable price, plenty of parking nearby - cost us £17.30 for the 2 days.

Ideal if you want to visit the Russian Visa Application Centre. Very quiet and peaceful.

  • S Welby

  • February 2015

Nice hotel

The bedrooms were very good and the staff were very friendly.

Would definitely stay again.

The hotel isn't very far from the center either, about a 7-9 minute walk. Close to a shopping mall as well.

  • john w

  • December 2014

nice stay , friendly staff,[ nice for the price]

  • yasin o

  • September 2014



  • Gary M

  • August 2014

Good clean accomodation which does the job!

Not the most amazing accomodation for the price, but it was during the Edinburgh festival, so everything is far more expensive at that time of year Large triple room and very clean quite close to all of the city, if was to be a little picky the tv is very small and only a buffet cold breakfast is included with no option for a full (which I am told is quite unusual in Scotland) even if required.

Staff were friendly and its located pretty close to the first stop of the tram (which takes you all the way to the Airport if needed), which is very useful