No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Nira Caledonia

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
10 Gloucester Place , Edinburgh , EH3 6EF
Surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat.

Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style.

Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service.

The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whisky blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours.

With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way.

Note: Kindly note that the hotel has two buildings (No. 6 and No. 10) and the Reception Team who will assist you in checking in is located in building No. 6. Please be informed that there is no lift in the hotel.
Picture of Nira Caledonia, Edinburgh  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel away from the busier part of Edinburgh
The hotel was lovely, I had to book at very short notice and the staff were absolutely excellent. The room was clean, a nice temperature and the iPod dock was an absolute lifesaver for me after a very stressful day! The only thing that would improve the room would have been a socket closer to the bed for a phone charger. I had a great night's sleep and the breakfast was brilliant.
The area the hotel is in is easy to reach on foot from the city centre, but away from the main bustle. The area surrounding it was lovely.

Reviewed by
Emily R

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless!
Absolutely nothing to fault. Situated on a beautiful quiet road, we easily parked our car for the weekend with no charges. Easy walking distance for town centre and botanic gardens, with plenty of choice in cafés, bars and restaurants on the doorstep. Very impressed with the staff, professional and efficient, loved the tartan trousers with braces that a few of the waiting staff wore! Room was lovely with the most comfortable bed with crisp white linen. Dinner and breakfast was delicious, very good quality ingredients and great coffee. I know we will definitely stay here again next time we visit Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
Nicola M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Cannot fault this place. Second time I've stayed and will definitely be going back. Perfect for couples looking for a break in Edinburgh . 5 minute walk to shops etc. very friendly staff and nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
andrew wilson

From Wetherby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with very friendy and helpful staff
Staff were very friendly and helpful. The Receptionist even showed us to our room and showed us where everything was. I was a bit concerned about other reviews saying that there were steep stairs to the rooms. They weren't that steep and someone took our suitcase to our room as soon as we arrived, so I didn't have to carry it. I booked a 'Petite' room for me and my 17 year old Daughter. The room was bigger than I expected it to be. The room was lovely and decorated to a very high standard. The bed was very comfortable. There was also a docking station in the room, which was useful.
We had a view out over the garden. The only problem was that the room was a bit cold, maybe better than being too hot though. We had a bar meal and breakfast the following morning. There was a good
choice for breakfast. The hotel was in a nice area with cobbled, wide streets. There were some shops, bars and restaurants quite close. It was probably about 15-20 mins walk from Waverley Station, part of it was up steep hills, but we used taxis which were about £5.00.

Reviewed by
Wendy R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Great location, excellent customer service, delicious breakfast

Reviewed by
Carolyn C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never dissapoints
I stay at the Nira on business quite a bit. I've never been to a more customer focused hotel. Truly amazing customer service

Reviewed by
l davies

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with very helpful staff
Arrived to be informed as it was Christmas I was being upgraded and what an upgrade. The room was large well appointed and had its own private garden which unfortunately we couldn't use as it never stopped raining. Staff were all lovely and helpful and especially sue and Ian on reception.
Breakfast was great and breakfast staff couldn't have been nicer or worked harder.
Hotel is in a quiet area maybe a little bit far from the centre but I didn't mind.

Reviewed by
John cochran

From hamilton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Find!
This hotel is a real little find. The room was beautiful! I just wish I had had more time to enjoy it!
The bed was extremely comfy, the little extras in the room made it a pleasure to stay and the staff were extremely helpful! The decor is fabulous!

Reviewed by
N Rich

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful jacuzzi suite with private garden!
This room was a wonderfully extravagant treat. The Jacuzzi was huge and open to the rest of the suite, with a private bathroom beside it. The minibar was well stocked and the nespresso machine made delicious coffee. If the hotel could provide bigger cups for us tea drinkers it would be very much appreciated, but this is the only thing I would want to change, everything else was perfect. I stayed on Halloween and was presented with some special edition Halloween Cadburys Crème Eggs from the staff - beautiful touch!

Reviewed by
H Hamilton

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expensive and small
Nice location with fantastic staff but very small and expensive.

Reviewed by
Allen P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next