No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Salisbury Green Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
18 Holyrood Park Road , Edinburgh, EH16 5AY
Salisbury Green 3* Hotel, a beautifully restored 18th century mansion-house, is a distinctive and elegant location for your next break or event. Set in private landscaped ground overlooking Holyrood Park, each of the 36 en-suite rooms are individually designed to combine modern style with the original 18th century features of the building to reflect the atmosphere and unique history of the Salisbury Green Hotel.

Ground floor rooms are available and all guestrooms feature Freeview TV, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. Guests will benefit from our 24-hour reception and free (limited) on-site parking.

A hearty breakfast can be enjoyed in the Breakfast Room - a full choice of juices, fruits, cereals, cheeses, as well as a full Scottish cooked breakfast.

Located in the private grounds of Pollock Halls, Salisbury Green Hotel is just 1.5 miles from Edinburgh Waverley Train Station, as well as many tourist attractions including the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and the National Museum of Scotland. For the more energetic visitor, Arthur's Seat and the royal Holyrood Park are on the hotel's doorstep. There are excellent public transport links outside the hotel grounds.
Picture of Salisbury Green Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived late but we were welcomed by the staff at the adjoining hotel, and everything was easy to find, room was warm and lovely and clean. The breakfast was excellent with many dishes to choose from and the service was excellent. Would definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
I Couper

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base for Edinburgh
Well situated, next to commonwealth pool, easy access to centre and Arthur's Seat.

Reviewed by
Gordon Hill

From Castle Douglas, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic room, quiet, clean and tidy. Ideal for easy access to Edinburgh city centre.
Good breakfast. Pleasant helpful staff in both reception and dining room

Reviewed by
A Burdon

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Beautiful accommodation, lovely breakfast and very polite staff, will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
L Greig

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfortunate experience?
I had high hopes after reading the reviews left by others but it was an awful experience and almost detracted from the lovely weekend in Edinburgh. It was a comedy of errors...over an hour to check in on Sat afternoon, it was a rabbit warren of building and felt like student halls, the room was ok but had no light above the mirror in the bathroom so I was shaving in the dark almost and breakfast (despite good quality food) was a joke as it only seats around 20 people and it is not geared up for guests at all - people were waiting for 30 mins to eat. Not satisfactory at all and will definitely not be going back.

Reviewed by
T Wilson

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

festival weekend
perfect location ideal for many different choices edinburgh has to offer, good views of arthur"s seat and country side short walk into edinburgh with good selection of cafes/ pubs on the way.

Reviewed by
KEVIN P

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A 'hidden gem'
Great central location yet far enough from the hustle and bustle to be peaceful. Great room, excellent staff. Superb breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mark White

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arthur's Boudoir
If the Scottish Baronial Style is your thing, then this is a marvellous place to stay. Wonderfully located for an early-morning hike up Arthur's Seat, and then back down the bluff for a three-course English breakfast and a quick rain-head shower (perhaps followed by a power-snooze in the magisterial bed). We were absolutely delighted by our stay at the Salisbury Green Hotel (for four nights), and were impressed by the value for money, the smiling table staff, and the quality of the rooms, which spoke of last century but are as comfortable as home. The only hitch was that the cabs couldn't find us: if you tell them to drop you off just opposite the Salisbury Arms on Dalkeith Road, then enter the Salisbury Green Hotel by the side gate, this saves all the trouble. It's about an £8 cab trip into Edinburgh city centre, but you more than save this on the price of the room. 9/10.

Reviewed by
R Scott

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely stay again
Stayed here after a wedding at The Caves in the City Centre. Turned out to be walking distance and we found lots of pretty little shops and eating places along the way. It's on the grounds of the universty, so we were able to park for free for the whole weekend. One of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in, really good shower and a fantastic breakfast for the grand total of £89 per couple in Edinburgh in July. Fantastic! We will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Laura W

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and tidy
Convenient location, charming hotel

Reviewed by
Mike P

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next