Reviews - Lochend Serviced Apartments


149 main door flat number 1 , LOCHEND ROAD, EDINBURGH, EH7 6ET

Price From 174.43 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (21)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Graham

  • October 2015

Nice flat

Very nice apartment in a not well maintained building.

Both outside entry doors had broken locks so the building was not secure. The first floor hallway had a rancid odor so it was not very pleasant to enter the building. The apartment was on the forth floor and was very nice, although the glass kitchen table and glass coffee table were fine for adults, I don't think I would have chosen them for a rental apartment. The water heater went out the last night we were there, so cold showers in the morning before flying out. The unit did not have a freezer, just a refrigerator.

  • Debbie Arrowsmith

  • July 2015

amazing accommodation, great staff, had a fantastic time

Even though I booked the wrong date, the staff did all they could to change it for me, very clean and for the cost it was very reasonable in price.

I will be using these apartments again, free WiFi and clean crisp towels, coffee and tea well stocked ,an all round great apartment

  • W Aitken

  • March 2015

great accomodation weekend away

Spot on facilities, clean towels, tea, coffee, cereal and even milk in the fridge.

Easy check in and out and a hassle free stay


  • March 2015

two bedroom apartment

the staff were friendly and helpful.

The accommodation was comfortable, clean and tidy. there was a down side as the place smelt strongly of cigarettes, and being non smokers it was quite strong!

  • Eirian H

  • February 2015

Brilliant! ignore all bad reviews!

Having read a few bad reviews on here I was a bit worried what it would be like but as we needed somewhere at a good price for a rugby weekend I thought we'd go with it anyway.

I need not have worried. the location was great, close enough to the city centre, about £8 in a late night taxi, convenience stores just down the street, also a wetherspoons about 5 minute walk away. safe parking at the rear. The area was very quiet at night and taxis would be there to pick you up in approx. 5 minutes. Having read some bad reviews, the first thing i did was check the cleanliness as 'm rather fussy about cleanliness - it was immaculate and had plenty of washing up liquid and cleaning products etc. In case we needed them. Nice clean towels and plenty of spare toilet paper. Sofas were a bit tired looking but they were clean and comfy which is all you need. The kitchen was very modern and had everything needed. Bedrooms were great, plenty of storage space, only complaint was that the pillows were hard as they were memory foam ones - but that's just me being really picky. Shower was a bit cold first thing in the morning but warmed up after a bit of running. The whole apartment was very warm with easy to use controls for the heating. the corridors were a bit shabby but who cares about that as it's the apartment itself was great and very spacious. We had a bit of trouble understanding the locks at first and they were a bit fiddly but they were completely secure and didn't understand what people meant in other reviews when they said they didn't feel safe. Wi-fi access was free which was great and it worked perfectly. Would definitely stay again. my friends were also very impressed as they were used to staying in hostels for rugby weekends and said it was worth paying the little bit extra to stay here. Would recommend.

  • M Henderson

  • January 2015

Lochend Serviced Apartments

  • C Massey

  • December 2014

Not family friendly and bizarre experience

On arrival, my husband couldn't find anyone to check in with, so phoned and was told to pick up some keys that had been left unattended in a drawer.

Not the best security. The apartment was reasonably clean but had a used coffee cup behind the tv and absolutely thread bare towels full of holes. The beds were incredibly uncomfortable , the single I ended up in visibly sagged and had springs hanging out of it. The shower in the en suite was dirty. 3 of the glasses in the cupboard were chipped badly. There was no remote for the tv in the master bedroom, so it couldn't be turned on.

We were charged £8 for parking per day but couldn't get parked on our second day as the football crowds were all parked there (in the free of charge car park - quite cheeky to charge guests). We have a one and three year old, and were allocated a room on the second floor. The twin room had a large window above one bed and alarmingly there was no lock on the window and no bars to prevent a child falling out the window. Needless to say there is no way my inquisitive 3 year old was sleeping in that room, this I ended up in the twin room with the baby. A travel cot was provided but it had holes in the base at all 4 corners my child could have easily got stuck in. Bizarrely at 10.15pm we had a knock on the door, which was alarming as there is no locked communal entry to the building, it's just left opened. Hubby answered and as asked by a random man how long we were staying and then we were told he thought we were in the wrong apartment, then he left never to be seen again. Overall, not the best experience, and the most alarming thing has to be the window situation in the 'kids' bedroom. I wouldn't be able to recommend this company, and had no opportunity to complain as there was never anyone there to complain to.

  • Robert S

  • December 2014

First Time using an appartment

Excellent apartments, this was the first time I had used an appartment instead of a hotel room, for a family it is much better.

TV's in bedrooms and main living area, cooked breakfast in bed for under a fiver, you pay that much to have a tray delivered to your door in most hotels then another £15 for the food. As with all hotels and appartments around 2.30am a bit of noise as people came back from parties but at this time of the year you expect that in every hotel and city center.

I would and will book again at these apartments

  • g dhatt

  • December 2014


Very poor

  • I Dawber

  • September 2014

Great value for money

very spacious and clean, excellent in room facilities