No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Allison House

4Visit Scotland Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
17 Mayfield Gardens , Edinburgh, EH9 2AX
The Allison House is a Georgian Listed building with many original features,overlooking Arthurs View to the rear. The hotel has free car parking and is within a 20minute walk to all main attractions of Edinburgh or buses pass the house every 2 minutes to the City All rooms have recently been refurbished and have wifi connection to the internet free. We also have free internet access in reception for those wishing to keep in touch and wi-fi is available in all rooms.

Our elegant, family run 3 star townhouse offers 11 en suite bedrooms with free off street parking. Whilst retaining the traditional character of an Edinburgh Georgian town house, the bedrooms and public areas have been extensively upgraded.

Bedroom facilities include:

* en suite shower
* LCD TV
* tea and coffee making
* direct dial telephone
* trousers press
* desk
* hair dryer
* ironing facilities
* Wi-Fi Internet access
* Free Internet access at Reception


Relax and enjoy the hospitality of the Allison House.
Picture of Allison House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay , wonderful breakfast- could vegetarian sausages but plenty of other options for non meat eaters. The fruit was fantastic.
Drinks in room were a nice touch, might be an idea to have a non alcoholic alternative.
Room really nice although a bit warm at night. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Lucy F

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay very much - there were lovely touches eg decent quality toilet paper, toiletries and whisky and/or sherry in the room to welcome you.
Breakfast had a range of fruit juices and fresh fruits (mangos, raspberries, blueberries etc.) and the cooked part of the breakfast was very filling.

Reviewed by
Ann Allison

From Anstruther, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm and friendly....
Warm welcome, friendly owner and staff, clean & comfortable room (a little noisy as on a main road) and fabulous food!

Reviewed by
julia robb

From Huntly, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay for a weekend away.
We had a lovely stay here for the weekend. Nice feature house, with relaxed surroundings. great public transport into town. quality ingredients for the breakfast. and above all, the people who own Allison House and work there are fantastic! We will stay here again, and recommend to anyone!

Reviewed by
J Lennon

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Views of lone traveller
Warm welcome and courteous service awaits you at this hotel. The owner even carried my overnight bag to my room. The room was adequate and clean with en suite facilities. Nice quiet area even though on a busy road just 5 minutes in a taxi from visitor attractions. I thought that the hotel was overpriced but having said that Edinburgh is a busy city and I suppose these are city prices. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the food. If you are looking for basic, clean accommodation then this hotel should be considered.

Reviewed by
Elaina G

From Preston, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't really fault this hotel - warm and clean on a snowy night, wonderful breakfast (and we chose the continental!)

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Aberfeldy, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location, Fantastic Breakfast!!
David was an excellent host. He couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was absolutely superb, plenty to eat and lots of choice. Rooms were basic but comfortable with good amenities. Great location with good access to local buses.

Reviewed by
C Pottle

From , England
Who stayed in August 2012

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.