No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
81 Holyrood Road , Edinburgh, EH8 8AU
The Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is in the heart of the Old Town city centre situated between Edinburgh Castle and the Palace of Holyrood. Positioned adjacent to the Scottish Parliament and overlooking Arthurs Seat, giving the hotel its unique quiet location assuring you of a good nights sleep. Shopping on Princes Street is within walking distance, along with the West End and Waverley Railway station.

All 156 rooms at the Holyrood are equipped to a high standard. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

The Club Floor delivers a new level in luxury. A private lift, lounge and library will delight individuals who demand real exclusivity. The club lounge and majestic sixth floor views add up to a unique collection of member benefits. Taking up the hotels entire top level, offers the Club Guest all the luxury of the city. From the moment you're greeted by the duty manager and escorted via a private keyed access lift to your room, your every need is taken care of. As the lift doors open onto the sixth floor, perhaps, enjoy a drink in the elegant Club Lounge with its commanding views over Salisbury Crags and Holyrood Park. Of course, the suites and rooms on the Club Floor are worthy of such an outlook with all the space and facilities you could wish for.

Whatever your idea of relaxation is, you'll find the Holyrood's health, fitness and beauty club the perfect place to unwind. As a guest of the hotel you are able to take full advantage of the Sauna, Steam Room, the 14 metre Swimming Pool and Gym. The Leisure Club also offers a Solarium and an extensive range of beauty treatments from just £6.00.

The hotel offers a Car Parking service which is available at a cost of £20.00 per 24 hours. The service is limited, and is given on a first come first served basis. Alternative car parking is available at Dynamic Earth which is situated across the road from the hotel.

**PLEASE NOTE THIS HOTEL IS NON SMOKING THROUGHOUT**
Picture of Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 104 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality hotel with welcoming staff
Well presented hotel with beautiful communal areas and nice bedroom. The staff were relaxed, friendly and welcoming. I had a spa treatment which was top quality. The location may be a slightly longer walk from the centre than some might prefer but it's great for Holyrood park and has a good view of Arthur's Seat.
The only slight grumble I would have is the cost of the breakfast - we effectively paid £40 for breakfast for 2 and the breakfast was a standard continental buffet with a small and unimaginative range of cooked options.

Reviewed by
Alison W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay in Edinburgh
When we arrived the room wasn't ready so we were given a different room. That room although we had been told was made up as twin room was not and we had to leave for half an hour while it was converted. Had to ask for a hairdryer and other items for the room. Used plates from someone's breakfast were left outside our room all day until late at night.
Concierge was very helpful in finding us train information.
Surprised by worn carpets in accommodation areas and on staircases. Not a cheap overnight stay. Tried to charge us a fee for use of our credit card to pay the bill so we paid by debit card instead.

Reviewed by
Diana L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay
A very helpful check in ensured as a heavily pregnant guest I had a huge, firm bed, which ensured a wonderful rest for my 2 nights stay. Hotel was quiet, clean and modern, will defiantly book again next time I am in Edinburgh. I got a seasonal deal (£300 for 2 nights) I would not pay more than this though, as it is a good 4 star hotel, not a 5 star.

Reviewed by
joanne g

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, great staff - fantastic service
This is a great hotel, the restaurant is excellent. Dinner was really good and the attitude of the staff a credit to the hotel. The breakfast was very good and again the staff were very good. The concierge/doormen are very very good, helpful/thoughtful/resourceful so capable and there when you need them!
I' like to have got more information about the "Make a difference" charity scheme, at first I was told the company match the guest donation, but on asking again the receptionist was not so sure. Leaflet did not clarify.

Reviewed by
Ewan D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nearly excellent
My boyfriend and I stayed here at the beginning of September for a little weekend getaway. I booked two months in advanced through laterooms and I got an excellent deal with discount and an included breakfast.
Upon arrival, there was a large older party in front of us having problems getting checked in so there was a bit of a wait, however staff were attentive and apologetic and quickly gave us our keys. We stayed in an executive suite which was spacious with a large bed, sofa, desk, bathroom and a wardrobe with dressing gowns and slippers. Everything in the room itself was great, one comment however would be is as the bed was a zip link king size (two smaller beds attached together) there was a small gap in the middle which was a little uncomfortable and awkward to sleep on. Also, the towels and dressing gowns were quite rough with a bit of a funky smell so maybe some newer fresher towels would have been nice!
Breakfast was included in our stay which turned out for the best, as it was pretty average and I wouldn't have payed the £17.50 that other guests will have had to pay! However as part of the deal, it was fairly good with a large choice of cereals and yoghurts and fruit from the buffet and a member of staff took our hot order as soon as we sat down which was delivered promptly.
The staff were absolute fantastic and extremely attentive, one morning before we head out to the zoo a member of staff at the reception desk gave us an umbrella as it looked like it was going to rain which was lovely and in the end needed!
The location of the hotel is great, just a 5 minute walk from the royal mile and 10 minutes from the station. Overall a lovely stay and I would definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
D Catterall

From Eaglescliffe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant weekend
I really enjoyed our weekend in Edinburgh. The hotel reception were what made it so nice. We arrived to a card and botel of wine because it was my partners birthday. The wine was really nice and they also organised Buck's Fizz breakfast for us. They basically organised out whole weekend from a climb up to Arthur's seat to a brilliant Italian meal in the evening.
Overall 5 stars!

Reviewed by
S Shergill

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good all round
The stay was excellent overall. The staff were very warm and friendly and happy to help. Staff were also very knowledgeable about the area and were able to give good advice. Arrived to find the room arranged as 2 singles so spoke to the front desk. Subsequently popped out to the shop and by the time I had returned the room had been rearranged to a king size.
Hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the Royal mile, virtually in the shadow of Arthur's Seat. Was perfect for evening entertainment in the city, and was very close to the University accommodation, so bars and restaurants were plentiful.
All in all, excellent.

Reviewed by
Alex R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overstated
Room cold but nice. Pool freezing but nice. Breakfast finishes at 10, a little later would be good but would go again.

Reviewed by
Julie Maher

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for central city.
Room was perfect! Staff very efficient at reception. Had a great meal in the restaurant and bar area very comfortable. Overall a great stay and woukd recommend it highly.

Reviewed by
C Marshall

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff
An enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Margaret W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next