No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
81 Holyrood Road , Edinburgh, EH8 8AU
The Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is in the heart of the Old Town city centre situated between Edinburgh Castle and the Palace of Holyrood. Positioned adjacent to the Scottish Parliament and overlooking Arthurs Seat, giving the hotel its unique quiet location assuring you of a good nights sleep. Shopping on Princes Street is within walking distance, along with the West End and Waverley Railway station.

All 156 rooms at the Holyrood are equipped to a high standard. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

The Club Floor delivers a new level in luxury. A private lift, lounge and library will delight individuals who demand real exclusivity. The club lounge and majestic sixth floor views add up to a unique collection of member benefits. Taking up the hotels entire top level, offers the Club Guest all the luxury of the city. From the moment you're greeted by the duty manager and escorted via a private keyed access lift to your room, your every need is taken care of. As the lift doors open onto the sixth floor, perhaps, enjoy a drink in the elegant Club Lounge with its commanding views over Salisbury Crags and Holyrood Park. Of course, the suites and rooms on the Club Floor are worthy of such an outlook with all the space and facilities you could wish for.

Whatever your idea of relaxation is, you'll find the Holyrood's health, fitness and beauty club the perfect place to unwind. As a guest of the hotel you are able to take full advantage of the Sauna, Steam Room, the 14 metre Swimming Pool and Gym. The Leisure Club also offers a Solarium and an extensive range of beauty treatments from just £6.00.

The hotel offers a Car Parking service which is available at a cost of £20.00 per 24 hours. The service is limited, and is given on a first come first served basis. Alternative car parking is available at Dynamic Earth which is situated across the road from the hotel.

**PLEASE NOTE THIS HOTEL IS NON SMOKING THROUGHOUT**
Picture of Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 101 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Excellent break with my daughter, chilled out and a very good location.

Reviewed by
Anne Coyle

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Central Edinburgh location
Very friendly and helpful staff particularly concierge. Breakfast rather expensive so had fresh croissants from the Tesco next door. Room excellent value at under £100 on a 6 nations match day. Lovely rooms and really quiet though less than 2 mins walk to royal mile.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exellent time
The MCdonald holyrood hotel was a very very nice hotel the room was exellent and the staff were very friendly and could not have been more helpfull we had a very plesant time and would have no hesitation is staying there the next time we visit thank you for a very plesant weekend.

Reviewed by
joseph dickie

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Very helpful, brilliant service

Reviewed by
Michael H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant surprise and good value
A fifteen-minute walk from many of the key sites in Edinburgh, this hotel provided clean rooms and spacious arrangements. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. My wife and I were a bit saddened to be in separate twin beds and couldn't figure out how the heating worked, but as I didn't mention any of this to the staff given our short stay, that's more my problem than theirs. Overall good value for money!

Reviewed by
Steven H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Year 2014/15
Booked (and clearly requested!) one double room and one twin room (for teenage girl and teenage boy) through website and disappointed on arrival we were allocated two rooms set-up as doubles. The rooms were reconfigured on request although further cleaning was required. Disappointed not to have had the inconvenience suitably recognised given the high mark-up in the room rate during the new year festivities. Breakfast / Gym / location for Holyrood Park excellent.

Reviewed by
S Blewett

From Hook, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at MacDonald Holyrood Hotel
Enjoyed the quiet location, peaceful yet within walking distance of Royal Mile and Princes Street.
Lovely comfortable room, immaculately clean bathroom, and very comfy large bed! Friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
S Pendlebury

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holyrood
Excellent hotel and service was superb. Definitely returning

Reviewed by
V Tait

From Dalkeith, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at this hotel 27th-29th December. On arrival our room was somewhat chilly due to a drop in temperature outside. We called at reception and mentioned this before going out for a walk. On our return we found that a heater had been put in our room and switched on, so the room was warm on our arrival. Excellent service.

Reviewed by
D Wilson

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
First impressions count, so we are told. We arrived, the car was parked for us went upstairs to change, came back down, and despite the amount of people seen since the desk welcomed us by name. That is quality. Yes, accomodation, facilities and food were excellant, but its the little touches that makes a place standout and the MacDonald Holyrood does little touches well.

Reviewed by
kenneth l

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next