Reviews - Macdonald Holyrood Hotel


81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh, EH8 8AU

Price From 170.29 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (86)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • s stafford

  • November 2015

Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Room chilly even when heating view as ground floor room overlooking car park..scrambled egg at breakfast was awful and on first morning had to ask 3 times for toast..apart from that hotel was fine.

  • p brown

  • November 2015

enjoyable weekend but breakfast a let down

on arrival staff were efficient, friendly and welcoming, room was clean and comfortable and hotel in great area, only downfall was breakfast, it is not buffet style so you choose from menu, £17.50 each and there was no croissants, black pudding, eggs were awful, toast limited and had to wait 30 mins for a table

  • P Philip

  • November 2015

Back again

This is the third time I have stayed here and not the best, accommodation has been a lot better before room 422 could do with upgrading , the decor in the room was tired a lot of marks on walls and chairs in room discussing would not sit on them bedlinen was clean and as we only arrived at 7pm and had dinner reservations at 8 did not have time to complain or worry I am unsure if I will stay here again .

I will say breakfast was good and lots of choice.

  • S Sansbury

  • October 2015

Comfortable Central and welcoming

The hotel was in effect as a central location close to the Parliament , holy food palace and park and Dynamic earth.

Rooms were large and stylish. Public areas were family friendly. The hotel provide red a boxed breakfast for a family member leaving very early. Breakfast service was very busy and we had to queue.

  • martin B

  • October 2015

Lovely short holiday for parents to relax

What a fabulous time we had at holyrood.

The hotel reception staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was beautifully set out and cosy. You can adjust the temp to suit yourselves and it actually works (unlike some heating systems previously). The only down side was there was tea and coffee making facilities however not enough for two cups. Two people means we need two cuppas. The reception staff were very helpful and sorted us out with extra tea and milk even at a late hour.

  • Gareth H

  • September 2015

Great hotel

I have stopped here several times.

It's a favourite, when the price is right. The parking is good. Food excellent and if you fancy something else there are plenty of options a short walk away. everything from Pizzas to good vegan/vegetarian restaurants. Staff are always excellent, helpful and polite. The concierge guys are superb.

  • J Jones

  • July 2015

Heightened security posed a problem for the whole street

When we arrived we booked in, unpacked and ten went for a wander around the environs.

As we returned we noticed new signs posted in the road warning that due to a Special Event [HM Queen hosting a Garden Party round the corner in Holyrood Palace] the next day the road would be closed from 7am - 7pm. The hotel had not been given advance warning of this and it posed a massive problem for guests checking out & booking in, especially where disabled guests were faced with a considerable walk up a steep hill to beyond the cordon barriers to access vehicles. Even the adjacent NCP Car Park was marooned. The receptionist was extremely helpful and rang the numbers provided for the Police and the Council, neither of which were able to answer our questions. We were left with the option of cancelling our planned lie-in, get up at 05.00, have an extra early breakfast and check out by 7am. The security staff had made absolutely no provision for the impact on hoteliers and tourists and the receptionist should be commended for her diplomacy in tackling a formidable task!

  • Julie H

  • June 2015

Really nice hotel

The hotel room was clean and comfy, and the free wifi was a bonus.

The check-in service was very very slow, but I had both dinner and breakfast, which were both lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very well located.

  • Robert McDonald

  • April 2015

Fantastic Hotel - Highly recommended!!!!

Great location, 5 mins from the Royal Mile Staff, friendly and very helpful Room was wonderful.

Clean, warm, spacious, modern, and quiet

I did not get a chance to utilise the Gym, but pool, and sauna adds the cherry to this already delicious cake!!!!

  • N Phillips

  • April 2015

Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Great place to base when visiting the beautiful city of Edinburgh.

Lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff, especially the concierge. I will definitely return in the future to explore more.