No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Thrums Edinburgh

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
14-15 Minto Street, Edinburgh, EH9 1RQ
Thrums Hotel offers you the finest base in which to enjoy a stay in Scotland's Majestic Capital. Business visitors, tourists, families and children are all made especially welcome. This hotel is ideally situated for the city centre either by use of the frequent bus service or a brisk 1 mile walk. For dining, there is a wide choice of bars, cafes and fine restaurants within a couple of minutes walk of the Hotel.Comfortable ensuite rooms, guests lounge. Secure private car park within large rear gardens.
We now offer Free WiFi internet access to guests.
Picture of The Thrums Edinburgh, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central and quirky!
A quirky hotel. We had a good sized comfortable room.
Had problems with the temperature of the shower for which we were given a reduction in price as a gesture of good will.
Excellent location, city centre walkable.

Reviewed by
Lynn S

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful Staff
My stay at the The Thrums covered 4 nights. It is ideally situated to the South of the city - close enough to access offices, restaurants and shops but far away enough to offer a relaxing environment. There is a small amount of road noise, but not enough to disturb me.
The room I had was huge and the standards of cleanliness were very good. The room was well equipped and the bed comfortable.
I have marked down the standard of the room however, as I was not and am still not convinced of the locking system used. The same key is used for the front door, and your room door. Some would call me paranoid about my safety...however even when the gent on reception assured me that only my key would unlock my hotel room door, I was still not convinced and as a result I slept poorly during my stay. I would have been much happier with a chain or additional lock for my door (or if I'd been brave enough to try my key in another room door to see if it opened!). Due to my being unconvinced about the lock, when my business trip was extended, I chose to book a different hotel.
However, if you are happy with the locks (or understand that it does actually work, which I don't!) then it is a great hotel. The gentleman on reception was more than helpful, delivering breakfast to my room early in the morning as I was up and out each day before breakfast began - excellent service and he catered to my diet needs perfectly (vegetarian, but lactose intolerant also).

Reviewed by
K Furlong

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst place to stay in Edinburgh
As soon as we arrived at Thrums we realised we had made a big mistake and immediately told them we did not wish to stay there. They informed us that they needed 7 days notice. So we bit the bullet and stayed there for the 4 days as arranged through Late Rooms. It is a ghastly place. The paint is peeling off the outside woodwork. The plant urns/pots had either nothing in them or were filled with weeds. The grass needed mowing. In all it looked dreadful.
We were shown our room which very basic with a small double bed and a single bed. There was an old fashioned wardrobe with only hanging space. There was nowhere to put the rest of our clothes.
The loo (toilet) was blocked and the boy who came to clear it said he was fed up doing so and had complained to his boss that something needed to be done about it. We could not charge the razor as the plugs did not work. The hair dryer did not work.(they did lend me another one). It was all too much and the whole thing was very uncomfortable.
The various b & bs that we have stayed in have all been cheaper and far more comfortable with home cooked food unlike the terrible 'dining room' in Thrums with everything packaged and cheap bread for toast. I feel I would like to ask for some if not all of our money back and report the place to the Tourist Board. It is definitely not a hotel to my mind but is what I would call a boarding house.
We did not talk to anyone else staying there.
We could not wait to leave the place. It was the most depressing awful place we have ever stayed in.

Reviewed by
George B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
We needed basic over-night accommodation with off-street car-parking in the vicinity of University of Edinburgh Pollock Halls residences where our daughter is staying. Thrums Hotel was excellent value for money in a very convenient location with good off street parking. (Our critical requirement.) Staff were friendly and helpful. Charming Georgian setting. The room was fairly basic but the beds were firm and the shower/toilets were clean. Although the windows/cills were rather dirty this was not significant to the stay. Breakfast was prompt and £5 supplement for a decent cooked breakfast was very reasonable.

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed with the quality.
Very drab room. Bathroom clean but smelt fusty and damp. Clean towels each day but one day the towels were damp.Very small dinning room, far to cramped for the number of people. Breakfast poor two slices of toast were given to us one white one brown, we were not given any choice as to what preferred.

Reviewed by
L Hawkins

From Poole, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointment
hotel in need of face lift and also a bit grotty especially the smaller room of the two we booked breakfast a disappointment a very basic continental. Acooked breakfast was £5 extra which was not mentioned when booking

Reviewed by
alyson payne

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday heaven
Great place to stay, about 15 min walk to the centre the road go straight into Edinburgh, the welcome was warm and friendly, they when out of their way for my husband, he only eats weetabix and they when out to buy them for him excellent service.. We had a great time, would stay again.

Reviewed by
anne b

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for city break
Very pleasant hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Location was good for visiting the city, just a 20 minute walk to the centre. Car park made this a good choice for us. The room was basic but clean and tidy. Nothing fancy but great for the price we paid.

Reviewed by
R Ford

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for - Slightly more than a youth hostel !
We should have known what was to come when the receptionist had her outdoor clothing on to greet us at reception. Payment was insisted upon, on arrival not on leaving like other hotels and paying by debit card cost an extra 2%. The room was large but needed some TLC. Just getting new bedding would give it a lift. You couldn't lock the bathroom door and the room was freezing. However, there was a luke warm radiator, an electric fire and a fan heater that we were able to use, and did so all night long. Last time for breakfast on a Sunday morning was at 9.30am. Good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and pastries, juices, tea or coffee. We were informed that if you wanted a cooked breakfast it would be an extra £5 per person. My booking for the 3 of us included breakfast and did not specify 'continental breakfast'. Having discussed this with the owner he kindly agreed that a cooked breakfast would be included in the price. There was no bacon, due to religious reasons, we were informed. Sausages were frozen and would therefore take 15 mins to defrost and cook. We chose poached eggs but these came through hard, on cold toast. The old addage that, you do get what you pay for, stands - for The Thrums. If you get a cheap deal, there is always a reason for it. Take your thermals and be aware that it is one step up from the very good youth hostels in Scotland.

Reviewed by
A Lloyd

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Hotel was under re-decoration in places, our room was clean, and because it was at the back, a bit dark. The recycling for the renovation was outside our bedroom window (not a nice sight) but beyond was a lovely back garden (with grey squirrels running around). Breakfast was Continental (I expected Cooked included, but that might have been my fault for not checking the details.) Cooked was available at a supplement of £5.00 per person - but we found the Continental sufficient. Good stay and would book again.

Reviewed by
A Fitzsimmons

From Forres, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next