No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Merith House Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
2-3 Hermitage Place , Edinburgh, EH6 8AF
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25.The Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions ( Edinburgh Castle, Royal Yacht Britannia, Princess Street, Holyrood Palace, Museums) and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). All rooms are en-suite with private shower, LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/ coffee making facilties, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking, A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge.

Without the need to maintain a restaurant or bar, the Merith's rates can be kept low and standards higher, there are many trendy and traditional bars and restaurants to choose from close by. Come join us and see our historic city, walk the Royal Mile, visit the Palace of Holyrood, Edinburgh Castle, the Malt Whisky Heritage Centre, the Royal Yacht Britannia or perhaps enjoy a spot of shopping on Princes Street or Ocean Terminal.

If you would like to see more of beautiful Scotland please contact us prior to or on arrival for advice and information on bus tours. Subject to availability we can arrange and book you tours that collects and drops you off at our door.

Cancellations made within 21 days of arrival or no shows will be charged full and total price of accommodation. Cancellations made before 21 Days of Arrival an Admin Charge of 10% of Booking will be Charged. Card details are held for security, full payment must be made on arrival. No charge when payment made by cash. 5% charge when paying by debit/credit card. For late check-in after 21:00, an additional Late Check In charge will apply Please contact Hotel. Payment is due on arrival. We reserve the right to Pre Authorise all Bookings.

Picture of Merith House Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, excellent price
Lovely welcome from staff, room clean and comfortable, excellent value for the price paid.
Bed not the most comfortable but all in all a really good stay.

Reviewed by
Carol V

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly house hotel, excellent value for money
Beds were hard, the staff very friendly, breakfast basic continental but plentiful. Clean kitchen, and efficient staff.

Reviewed by
Roger Ewen

From Beauly, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic facilities
The hotel was cert basic compared to what we were expecting. We had to pay an additional 5% for paying with a debit card which wasn't a great start. The room and bathroom could have done with some TLC and the continental breakfast was some cereal and a rack of toast. It would take much to improve the visitor experience. If you're happy with basic I would recommend Rock Salt on the docks for an amazing breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Clark

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Every important things was very good.

Reviewed by
Zita Z

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Good value for money.

Reviewed by
M Kesik

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welll Located for Bus/Walking into Town Center
I had a late choice to pop to Edinburgh and for under £30 a night I was very happy with my room. It was clean with tea and coffee provided. I had a good night sleep in a safe and quiet room and left my bags without issues whilst I explored Edinburgh. I would use this private run hotel in the future as they do go the extra bit further than large hotels with people employed to keep it running. Definitely a 10 in what I needed and expected.

Reviewed by
k stephen

From Fraserburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Merits house hotel
I am planning to go back again with my friends

Reviewed by
f dlamini

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

"Merits" of Merith Hotel Leigh Edinburgh
Lived in Edinburgh 30 years ago then moved to Midlands. Returned for 3 nights to revisit some happy memories! Owners were on holiday during my stay. Nevertheless, staff were welcoming and friendly- nothing was too much trouble day or night. Room was very small but adequate for my needs, with a lovely outlook over Leigth Links. Bus stop just outside door with regular service to Princess St- just over 5 minutes away. Easy access to all main attractions. Breakfast continental : tea/coffee, choice of fruit juice, selection of fresh fruit, scones, toast, choice of cereals and preserves. I really enjoyed my stay here and if I return to Edinburgh would have no hesitation in revisiting this hotel. Thanks to everyone at Merith Hotel.

Reviewed by
norma G

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is very basic, however when you evaluate how much it costs it is very good value. It was far cleaner than other more expensive hotels I have stayed in. The shower was really hot and the bed reasonably comfortable. The breakfast was great as it had fresh fruit and yogurt and plenty of carbs. I would recommend this place as a cheap and friendly place to stay with a bus straight into Edinburgh, if you want somewhere swish you will need to pay more but I don't think you can complain given the reasonable rates.

Reviewed by
J Scott

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good on a budget
Can't complain. Tired but fairly spacious rooms. Great breakfast, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next