No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Merith House Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
2-3 Hermitage Place , Edinburgh, EH6 8AF
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25.The Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions ( Edinburgh Castle, Royal Yacht Britannia, Princess Street, Holyrood Palace, Museums) and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). All rooms are en-suite with private shower, LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/ coffee making facilties, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking, A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge.

Without the need to maintain a restaurant or bar, the Merith's rates can be kept low and standards higher, there are many trendy and traditional bars and restaurants to choose from close by. Come join us and see our historic city, walk the Royal Mile, visit the Palace of Holyrood, Edinburgh Castle, the Malt Whisky Heritage Centre, the Royal Yacht Britannia or perhaps enjoy a spot of shopping on Princes Street or Ocean Terminal.

If you would like to see more of beautiful Scotland please contact us prior to or on arrival for advice and information on bus tours. Subject to availability we can arrange and book you tours that collects and drops you off at our door.

Cancellations made within 21 days of arrival or no shows will be charged full and total price of accommodation. Cancellations made before 21 Days of Arrival an Admin Charge of 10% of Booking will be Charged. Card details are held for security, full payment must be made on arrival. No charge when payment made by cash. 5% charge when paying by debit/credit card. For late check-in after 21:00, an additional Late Check In charge will apply Please contact Hotel. Payment is due on arrival.

Picture of Merith House Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't Complain
The hotel is okay.
If you are simply looking for a place to sleep for a night or two then this is an ideal hotel, it's cheap, clean, has a nice hot shower and a good wifi conection.
However, if you are planning a few days city break or a cheap week long family holiday; I would steer clear. The staff are a bit ditant and it makes one feel a bit uncomfortable. The rooms are also pretty cold.
I never ate there so I cannot comment on the food.

Reviewed by
Daniel B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay OK
The basement room was very clean but plain and the bed was a little uncomfortable, given that we could feel the springs in the matress. The breakfast was, again, plain: there ws plenty to eat and it was served quickly but the food was nothing special. It was reasonable value at the LateRooms price - we paid about the same as it would have cost in a hostel - but it's the sort of hotel that you just use as a base. You wouldn't want to spend too long there.

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
Very pleasant room in a nice hotel. The staff were friendly and helped me out in terms of ironing boards etc., which I appreciated. A nice continental breakfast was served, with good coffee, and I also really liked the juice they served. Hot, powerful shower. Clean and tidy. Impressed with overall quality, particularly for price.

Reviewed by
F Fratelli

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very basic accommodation ,small rooms poor beds and thin walls and uninterested staff and poor breakfast.

Reviewed by
d smith

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Smallest room/bathroom that we have ever stayed in.
Good location
Parking free on street by hotel.
Breakfast cereal and toast
Mattress was dreadful and flat on one side

Reviewed by
Ronald J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Read Tripadvisor and other sources for a more balanced view
Severely overpriced for what it was and seeing the prices they're charging during the festival is laughable but good on them if they can.
The thing that soured our stay was the customer service or utter lack thereof. It felt like the staff member we spoke to was being inconvenienced by our very presence and it really wasn't called for. Basic manners were completely absent and we found it really quite odd as almost every exchange between us was punctuated by a new example of this which meant that we didn't think they were approachable at all when any problems arose.
This demeanor is carried on into the mentality of 'extras' - the main one of which is the 5% charge for paying on any card (no, not just a credit card - debit ones as well). If you have chosen to stay in the Family room during the festival (£249 a night) that'll come to a nice round £49 + £996 paid upfront. Also beware a charge if you want them to look after your bags for a couple of hours on the day of checkout or if you get in after 9PM as more charges apply.
We didn't have a huge problem with our room in fairness and after reading other reviews felt lucky. Still we were really glad it was just the one night here - I would be gutted to have booked more than that. Cleanliness was poor - common areas had a very strange pong about them and I would argue that keeping your tea & coffee supplies in a shared bathroom cupboard doesn't give off the right impression either (evidenced by the fact that the teabag I picked up in our room was soiled). Approach with caution - I'd rather stick a tent on the park opposite!

Reviewed by
Richard B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Understanding
I had a few mix ups prior to my stay and a small one on arrival. I found the staff very understanding and they let me leave my bag with them before booking in time which was an amazing help.

Reviewed by
Alisone P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

non-value
we were given room 8, a small room at the top of the building. The room was so small we had to walk sideways around the double bed. No wardrobe in the room as room not big enough for one. Toilet and shower cubicle was small that if we went to the toilet in the middle of the night it felt like our knees were touching our partner asleep in the bed. Also, the door to the cubicle was a folding type door that didn't shut properly and anyone the other side could see you on the toilet. No net curtains at the windows which were overlooked by council estate flats. We were also of the understanding that we would receive a cooked breakfast and this was not the case. Apart from this and the whole building smelling slightly musty, the towels and bed linin were clean. We felt we were vastly overcharged for the experience. In our opinion, the room should have been a single or not let as a bedroom at all. The staff were friendly which was nice.

Reviewed by
Tommy M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not too shabby!
Good value for money, so long as you aren't hit with £5 late check in fee and then the 5% charge for using a credit/debit card. This may have been stated when booking but I am not sure.
Polite staff.
Room small but clean, fine for a couple so long as you aren't terribly tall, otherwise your knees might poke out of the bathroom when using the loo!
I don't believe cereal, toast, fruit and yoghurt quite warrants the title of "continental breakfast" but this was acceptable for us.
Probably wouldn't stay here again.

Reviewed by
K Neal

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation was okay, but you get what you pay for and it was value for money. Rooms are very small and the breakfast was just basic. The location is good for seeing Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
joyce s

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next