No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Merith House Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
2-3 Hermitage Place , Edinburgh, EH6 8AF
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25.The Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions ( Edinburgh Castle, Royal Yacht Britannia, Princess Street, Holyrood Palace, Museums) and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). All rooms are en-suite with private shower, LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/ coffee making facilties, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking, A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge.

Without the need to maintain a restaurant or bar, the Merith's rates can be kept low and standards higher, there are many trendy and traditional bars and restaurants to choose from close by. Come join us and see our historic city, walk the Royal Mile, visit the Palace of Holyrood, Edinburgh Castle, the Malt Whisky Heritage Centre, the Royal Yacht Britannia or perhaps enjoy a spot of shopping on Princes Street or Ocean Terminal.

If you would like to see more of beautiful Scotland please contact us prior to or on arrival for advice and information on bus tours. Subject to availability we can arrange and book you tours that collects and drops you off at our door.

Cancellations made within 21 days of arrival or no shows will be charged full and total price of accommodation. Cancellations made before 21 Days of Arrival an Admin Charge of 10% of Booking will be Charged. Card details are held for security, full payment must be made on arrival. No charge when payment made by cash. 5% charge when paying by debit/credit card. For late check-in after 21:00, an additional Late Check In charge will apply Please contact Hotel. Payment is due on arrival. We reserve the right to Pre Authorise all Bookings.

Picture of Merith House Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
Did exactly what it should clean comfortable and friendly great value. For money

Reviewed by
Margaret Notman

From Peterhead, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stop over, very clean and friendly and great value
Great value, very clean and we'll run with free Wifi. I took a walk out from the city centre rather than bus or taxi, off a main shopping street and overlooking a park. Have to return in a few weeks and will stay here. Very attentive staff with good continental breakfast, room was quiet and a good nights sleep too.

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for 1 night
All was fine bar the very hard bed

Reviewed by
N Bekker

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
I was delighted to find that there was plenty of parking in front of the hotel.
When booking in at reception, I was given a warm welcome, providing me with useful information in a friendly manner.
My room was very clean, warm and comfortable, with an en-suite shower room. I certainly got an excellent night's sleep.
My continental breakfast was filling and tasty, and my table was attended by another pleasant member of staff.
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, and I will definitely go there again.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value, fantastic stay
I have stayed in accommodation in Edinburgh for the last 9 years.
I would prefer to stay in Glasgow and travel in because they usually charge quite a lot, in my opinion, for very inferior accommodation.
But my stay here has changed my mind. I paid a price that was great value and got accommodation that DID WHAT IT SAID ON THE TIN. Home from home - almost.
Great value and lovely clean accommodation. I am not looking for the Ritz ( you have to pay through the nose for that), but was I comfortable, was I relaxed? was the room clean? did the telly work?, were there quality restaurants nearby? did I get a good nights sleep with no hassle? YES!!!!!

Reviewed by
steve naldrett

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, Warm and very friendly staff
Clean, Warm and very friendly staff, no nonsense hotel close to the centre of Edinburgh, does what it says on the box, will use again if working in the area

Reviewed by
j moss

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, excellent price
Lovely welcome from staff, room clean and comfortable, excellent value for the price paid.
Bed not the most comfortable but all in all a really good stay.

Reviewed by
Carol V

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic facilities
The hotel was cert basic compared to what we were expecting. We had to pay an additional 5% for paying with a debit card which wasn't a great start. The room and bathroom could have done with some TLC and the continental breakfast was some cereal and a rack of toast. It would take much to improve the visitor experience. If you're happy with basic I would recommend Rock Salt on the docks for an amazing breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Clark

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly house hotel, excellent value for money
Beds were hard, the staff very friendly, breakfast basic continental but plentiful. Clean kitchen, and efficient staff.

Reviewed by
Roger Ewen

From Beauly, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Every important things was very good.

Reviewed by
Zita Z

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next