No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Malmaison Edinburgh

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1 Tower Place , Edinburgh, EH6 7DB
If you’re looking for a stylish hotel in Scotland’s capital city, there’s only one place to go. The Mal is a gorgeous boutique hotel in Edinburgh, perched on the banks of the Forth in Leith, and only minutes from the hubbub of the city centre.

Whether you’re a serious shopper, theatre-goer or 24hr socialite, the Edinburgh Mal has something to offer you. There is a fantastic brasserie, a well-stocked wine cellar and a bar which serves the perfect cocktail for starting or ending your evening on a high note and if the weather suits, you can even enjoy some alfresco dining or drinking on the lively terrace. The brasserie serves great-tasting cuisine, prepared with incredible local ingredients, served up with a genuine excitement. Whether it’s business lunches, quick light healthy bites or a romantic dinner for two, you simply have to sample Scotland’s finest. As for the Mal Bar, it is the favourite retreat of Edinburgh’s movers and shakers, and serves up a glorious mix of vino, cocktails, bubbly, frothy coffees and ultra tasty anytime snacks.

The hotel gym, Gymtonic, is the perfect place for those of you who just can’t survive without some exercise. Try out the resistance and running machines or free weights. There’s everything you need. If you feel the need for speed out in the city, check out Mal’s jogging maps in your room, small but perfectly formed routes for runners of all shapes, sizes and flavours.

Perfectly suited for a business trip or luxury weekend break, this is a truly stunning hotel which offers all the luxury you’d expect from Malmaison boutique hotel.

That’s Mal life.
Picture of Malmaison Edinburgh, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good rooms but a little tired.
The breakfast was probably the worst I have ever had at any hotel, the scrambled eggs were over cooked as was the bacon which was totally black on one side. The omelette my wife had was brown one one side and looked as the other side was ripped from the pan.

Reviewed by
W Barrie

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I went for a short break to meet my friend who lives in Crail. Our first impressions of the reception area bar and restautant were tired and not very relaxing or welcoming. Our superior twin room was also dated very poor lighting limited furniture and a very small wardrobe not superior! we did request another room but informed all booked and we were in the part of the hotel yet to be updated! Also having to pay for taxi and bus made the package not such a good deal!

Reviewed by
m haddow

From chichester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Has Malmaison lost its wow?
Is the Malmaison experience dated with its drab colour tones and furniture? We are regular visitors to Edinburgh and try different accommodation and types on each occasion. Our one night stay B&B was fine with very good service from reception and breakfast staff with a good choice of buffet and cooked items. Some fine dining establishments are located near the hotel. The bedroom was well lit with natural light, spacious and equipped with what you needed and free wifi is always welcomed. Poor lighting for reading in bed. The shower door didn't close properly and a shaving mirror would be handy however you do get excellent toiletries. Personally l would stay near to the city centre next time but it is only fifteen minutes by bus from the hotel. We would stay again but only on a deal as rack rates do not provide value.

Reviewed by
Graham B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Malmaison offers beautiful rooms, which are clean, well decorated and well equipped. The hotel is decorated and maintained to a very high standard, including public areas and has a warm and welcoming feel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Bistro style restaurant offers very good meals and the breakfast choice is interesting, well presented and well cooked. Good location for accessing other great restaurants including two with 2 star Michelin Chefs, and for accessing the City of Edinburgh. Would recommend this hotel for tourists and for those looking for a stay at home break with a bit of luxury.

Reviewed by
S MULLAN

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little disappointing
We stayed for two nights last week. We took advantage of the offer of an upgrade paying an additional £18 a night but didn't think it was worth it. Dinner was good on the first night with lovely service. Dinner on the second night was very busy as there was a tour group in the restaurant . The wine we ordered was not available and nor was our second choice and we were offered another choice at the price of the original which was fair enough. Arriving for breakfast at 8.30 on Wednesday morning, we were asked to sit in the lobby as tables were not ready- not what you would expect in a 4 star hotel.

Reviewed by
J Aldridge

From Wolverhampton, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Stayed for a weekend treat, lovely hotel great location

Reviewed by
Raymond B

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Really impressed by the quality of room, even for a standard double. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
R Challis-Mercer

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed .... not to the usual Mal standard
Fabulous food in Restaurant. The room was very tired , looked out on to a wall. The walls were grubby and marked and the furniture was of low quality. not what I expected.Staff friendly.

Reviewed by
L Murray

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was great size, clean and modern, perfect for both relaxing and doing some work.

Reviewed by
Gary R

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just Visiting
Absoluely tremendous hotel, fantastic room, to die for in fact and first class services. Would definitely recommend the suite for that little bit of extra luxury.

Reviewed by
R Gatehouse

From Hornchurch, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next