No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Malmaison Edinburgh

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1 Tower Place , Edinburgh, EH6 7DB
If you’re looking for a stylish hotel in Scotland’s capital city, there’s only one place to go. The Mal is a gorgeous boutique hotel in Edinburgh, perched on the banks of the Forth in Leith, and only minutes from the hubbub of the city centre.

Whether you’re a serious shopper, theatre-goer or 24hr socialite, the Edinburgh Mal has something to offer you. There is a fantastic brasserie, a well-stocked wine cellar and a bar which serves the perfect cocktail for starting or ending your evening on a high note and if the weather suits, you can even enjoy some alfresco dining or drinking on the lively terrace. The brasserie serves great-tasting cuisine, prepared with incredible local ingredients, served up with a genuine excitement. Whether it’s business lunches, quick light healthy bites or a romantic dinner for two, you simply have to sample Scotland’s finest. As for the Mal Bar, it is the favourite retreat of Edinburgh’s movers and shakers, and serves up a glorious mix of vino, cocktails, bubbly, frothy coffees and ultra tasty anytime snacks.

The hotel gym, Gymtonic, is the perfect place for those of you who just can’t survive without some exercise. Try out the resistance and running machines or free weights. There’s everything you need. If you feel the need for speed out in the city, check out Mal’s jogging maps in your room, small but perfectly formed routes for runners of all shapes, sizes and flavours.

Perfectly suited for a business trip or luxury weekend break, this is a truly stunning hotel which offers all the luxury you’d expect from Malmaison boutique hotel.

That’s Mal life.
Picture of Malmaison Edinburgh, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A couples hotel
Parking available here, nice room but definitely a couPles hotel - everything (even the soap!) had some sort of little poem/joke about dirty weekends etc lol

Reviewed by
laura f

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent as ever
Quality experience from start to finish

Reviewed by
G Dunn

From Matlock, England
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is very tired and would benefit from a refurbishment
The first room we were allocated was not of the standard I expected . Frayed carpet, burn mark on the seat, furniture chipped and generally very scruffy. However I complained and was moved to a recently refurbished room. I feel the hotel charging 4 star prices but not 4 star standard . Bar staff provide excellent service

Reviewed by
Carol Mundie

From Dumbarton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

87th birthday trip to edinburgh
we requested help for our partially sighted mother, who, also uses a walker. We were delighted to arrive & find that they allocated her a room with so much room that she could move around very easily. Thank you.
We had a very comfortable stay, again, we have stayed before & will most definitely return in the furture.

Reviewed by
John Thorpe

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Very clean comfortable room with a great power shower for the morning.
I can not fault my stay!

Reviewed by
James Robinson

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff excellent and room was amazing, breakfast was lovely.

Reviewed by
Gary R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Booked to stay for wives birthday , forgetting that this was the last working Friday before Christmas and loads of works parties in !. However this was dealt with excellently by staff and did not in any way spoil our stay.

Reviewed by
Alan Corcoran

From St Bees, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Malmaison visit

Reviewed by
D Thompson

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great stay at a quality hotel in Edinburgh
Very clean, modern feel to the hotel. Very comfy bed and lovely big room. We enjoyed the contintental breakfast as well. It was our first anniversary and we would come here again.

Reviewed by
K Hall

From Rosewell, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
The staff couldn't have done any more for us! The food was fantastic and the room we were upgraded to to for a very good price was the best room we've stayed in. When I asked if it was a 4 star or a 5 when checking out I was extremely surprised to be told it was only a 3 star!

Reviewed by
Samantha Errington

From Stonehaven, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next