Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
67% would recommend it to a friend
Could do with some refurbishment
Would be better as air B and B
A brilliant place
Falcon Crest Guest House
Bedrooms were outdated and in appealing, interior needs updated, it doesn't match how lovely the exterior is.
Our television didn't work properly and disappointed there wasn't any wifi, the room was too hot at night even with the window open. I grudged paying £70 for one night for a room and that's it.
Response from hotel
Thank you for staying with us recently. I am sorry that you do not appreciate the Victorian period detail of the interior of the property as much as that on the exterior, but maybe I misunderstand you and you mean that there were perhaps a couple of chips on the paintwork. We do have BT WiFi (free to subscribers) in the property and were unaware that you found problems with the TV in the room as you did not mention it. I am not sure if you found the room too hot because the radiator had been left on or whether it was one of the few nights in Scotland that would justify the installation of air conditioning. We held the room till the late afternoon despite you being unable to give us card details which could be authorised and I believe you paid £68 cash for an en-suite double room on a Saturday night and did not ask for breakfast to be included.
Falcon Crest Guest House
Hosts were very pleasant .
Cleanliness was good. Room was warm but "tired", also quite noisy as it backed onto shared bathroom and the saniflow system which I think was used for toilet made a lot of noise. Not a problem during day but during night is a disturbance.
Small twin room with sloping ceiling, very hard beds, OK for 1 night but wouldn't have wanted to stay longer.
Poor value for money
We have stayed in many hotels/ guest house in Edinburgh, London, Glasgow.
This was the only Stay we regret. Very expensive for the facilities provided, size of the room, quality of the guest house. I should say the owner/staff are friendly and the room was clean but book it only if it is available for 30 quids.
A friendly Scottish hideaway close to the city centre
The family that run Falcon Crest are warm and welcoming, making sure you have everything you need.
The room was warm and pleasant, and the location made it simple to hop on one of the regular buses to Edinburgh city centre (buses run til late, alternatively a taxi costs about £6). Full marks and thank you for a great stay!
a great location and a good bus service into city centre staff were really friendly
very nice customer service.
it just takes ten minutes to the beach. quiet neighbourhood