No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Snoozebox Edinburgh Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Gilmore Park at the Junction of Dundee Street and Fountainbridge, Edinburgh, EH3 9RU
Overlooking the Union Canal basin, Snoozebox Edinburgh Hotel is located in the historic Gilmore Park site. Convenient for all major Fringe Festival venues, it is at the junction of Gilmore Park, Fountain Bridge, and Dundee Road.

Featuring free WiFi, each compact air-conditioned bedroom within the Snoozebox offers an LCD TV and a personal safe. The en-suite wet rooms include complimentary toiletries. The rooms all include a double bed and a single bunk bed.

Along with a stop for the airport express, Haymarket Station is a 10-minute walk from the Snoozebox Edinburgh Hotel. For guests arriving by car, there is ample free parking on site.
Picture of Snoozebox Edinburgh Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Concentrated Goodness
Yes, they're tiny, but they pack a punch in terms of quality, efficiency and great service! What a neat little spot. Loved it! But more than 2 people would have been impossible.

Reviewed by
Lauren E

From Guelph, Canada
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A squash and a squeeze
We stayed in the Snoozebox at the Edinburgh festival. It seems to be in a different location from last year as it isn't 5 minutes walk from the city centre as last years reviewers said. It now takes around 25/30 minutes unless you are a super fast walker. I guess since Snoozeboxes are portable, they are placed on temporary derelict sites. The site of the Snoozeboxes in Edinburgh this year was a muddy, gravelled building site full of pot holes and big wires poking out the ground, so watch out you don't trip or get caught on them!! Plenty of parking spaces though so don't worry about that. Sleeping in the snoozebox was like sleeping in one of those tiny rooms in IKEA where everything is cleverly fitted in. It was clean and the shower was great, although when the water goes down the plug, the suction noise is very loud and made my 6 year old jump every time. It did feel a bit claustrophobic, although there is a vent under the bed and air con if needed.We knew it would be small, and it certainly was! No more than one adult can stand in the tiny square of space available. Everyone else needs to be on the bed. You really don't want to be spending time in the Snoozebox, it is so tiny. The sheets were lovely and beds comfy. I'd say the biggest drawback for us was the noise of people coming and going from the other rooms. Bang, click, click went the doors, then rattle rattle rumble, the sound of people walking along the pathway with their luggage trolleys (how did they fit those trolleys in?!) This woke us up several times and again at 6am as people left early. For this reason, we wouldn't stay in a Snoozebox again. Too noisey. Also, when people stood outside their Snoozebox to smoke, the smoke smell was immediately sucked into our tiny room and smelled as if they were smoking right next to us. Horrible!! Why don't they make rules whereby guests can only smoke down the stairs and away from the rooms. So two negatives that put us off. Next to the Snoozeboxes there was a huge tent where you check in and where you can help yourself to tea and coffee. (Breakfast is not available). Would I recommend the Snoozebox? Well, if you are a heavy sleeper, don't mind noise, a bit of mud, a very muddy car, the smell of smoke in your room, a long walk to the city, no brekky and can handle the 'squash and the squeeze', then yes! By the way, please don't think I'm a fussy traveller - I have backpacked all over Asia and Africa and can sleep almost anywhere! I just like peace and quiet and no smoke in my room!

Reviewed by
Alison G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel and value for money
Really cool idea for a hotel, the rooms were compact but perfectly comfortable and clean.

Reviewed by
Mathew Ross

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff at Snoozebox Edinburgh
The staff made this stay for us. Very helpful and courtious

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Festival Stay
Great value for money at this time of year.

Reviewed by
John M

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable Beds. The room was tiny but clean and what I expected.
The location was central but horrible and didn't feel safe to come and go at night. Derelict old car park up a dark street past an empty building.

Reviewed by
amanda b

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Snooze, Snug,, Smart, Simple, Spendid.
I am a very well travelled person as is my partner. We were looking for a couple of nights accommodation in Edinburgh for the festival. The rooms that were available were extremely expensive. If you condiser whats happening in Ediburgh at this time you don't want to spend your day in a hotel. It really is about getting out there and enjoying yourself and taking in all Edinburgh has to ofer. Snoozebox gave us this opportunity by provide the superberb accommodation. Ok its small and you couldn't swing a cat in it but it provided everything you needed. The bed was comfortable and we both had a great nights sleep. The shower had pleanty of hot water. We actually found it a little adventure it was almost like Glamping. The hotel was close to town and there were pleanty of places to have breakfast in close proximity, including lots of places to grab a takeawy on the way home from your busy day of activities. Having the TV and air conditioning was also a bonus. The staff couldn't be more helpful, pleasant cheerful and always willing to help. All in all I would recommend it to anyone. It was cost effective and gave us the chance to spend the extra cash on more shows. They say good things come in small packages and this is certainly what you get with Snoozebox compact, complete and comfy.

Reviewed by
Alexander S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain

Reviewed by
J Houston

From Kinross, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay on a budget
Stayed in Snoozebox for 1 night and enjoyed the experience. Its close to the City center and the rooms are very clean. I also found the staff really friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
gordon Thompson

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Snoozebox August 2014
Last minute booking. Excellent price. Proved to be excellent value for money. Was in an excellent location as main streets were within walking distance and relatively easy to find in car. The website does not do justice to the strange sight of a lot of apparent shipping containers which await you on arrival. There is ample free car parking which in Edinburgh is a definite bonus although the terrain is not the best.
Booking in is easy enough and the reception staff are very friendly and helpful. They offer a welcome drink and the tea and coffee are always stocked up and available. They also help out with directions as well (pointing us towards the town centre and giving us guidance to the zoo (for which we were very well positioned).
The pods themselves are amazing. The use of space in the pods is amazing. A double bed with a single bunk above. Closet space is well designed and the wet room with sink and toilet are clean and efficient. The standing room is limited to say the least but you learn to adapt.
My wife, teenage son, and myself are all tall but we managed and the atmosphere on a night time when tucked up in bed watching the tv after a long day out exploring was one of the highlights of an brilliant short holiday away.
We stayed the two nights and were more than happy with things. I wouldn't recommend them for a longer stay due to space considerations but as a short time blast it was brilliant!

Reviewed by
paul h

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next