Reviews - Britannia Edinburgh


69 Belford Road, Edinburgh, EH4 3DG

Price From 114.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (169)

51% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Hugh R

  • November 2015

Exactly what I expected for the price

I have stayed here before when it was a travelodge, disappointed to see no real refurbishment or investment by the new owners.

It's budget, and that's exactly what I expected, but it's also tired and run down. Shower walls were grubby, carpets stained etc. The room was perfectly adequate for our needs, which was somewhere to sleep after a night out, but they charge a premium rate because they are in Edinburgh but it really isn't value for money. In most other cities this room would be worth less than £45. We paid almost double that. I have said I would stay again, but only for same type of night out where I didn't really spend time in the room, and was reluctant to spend more for that reason. That is what most of the hotels trade is I suspect.

  • O Paine

  • November 2015

Don't accept front facing room.

Room was standard as expected for price.

The bathroom was very poor and hadn't been cleaned prior to our arrival (hair in the bath, however it was something I didn't feel was worth complaining about, as I'm. Not typically one to complain. However we then returned from an evening out around 11pm when we attempted to sleep (reasonable time), however we were met with screaming drunken girls and constant traffic right outside our window, after multiple times assuring the window was properly closed which it was it was clear the window did not properly seal. The noise was outrageous. Around 3am after no sleep we decided it was worth trying to swap to a quieter room. Night porters were rude and short. Clearly we were disturbing their tv program. However we managed to swap, upon arrival at the new room we were met with a stale smoke smell, despite the room being no smoking.

So over all, the attempt to save money at a budget hotel was not worth it. Compared with its competitors such as ibis, travel lodge etc, it's is about a decade behind.

  • H Azimpour

  • November 2015

Good Value

The hotel was very modern tidy and clean.

The room was a good size specious and bright. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The only down points were lack of ventilation in the room , and the double bed which was actually made of two single beds stuck together .

  • L Relph

  • November 2015

Value for money

Bearing in mind that we paid £47 for the room for one night, although it was a little shabby the facilities were good.

It showed that it used to be a Travelodge, and although the decor and cleanliness were not up to those standards, there was good storage and had hairdryer and ironing facilities in the room (I dislike having to go and ask for those). The plumbing was a little 'musical' but that was just funny. Comfortable bed, quiet (we overlooked the road but it wasn't busy) reasonable parking (£5 for 24 hours) right by the Water of Leith, and just a stones throw from the Gallery of Modern Art. We didn't use the dining facilities as we don't like a big breakfast. It was tricky trying to get to the hotel without satnav - we could see where to go on the map but kept hitting one way streets. It was a bit of a walk into the city centre, but we didn't mind that at all. Would certainly use it again for a last minute cheap break.

  • Douglas N

  • November 2015

Noisy busy hotel.

Rooms need complete revamp.

  • S Pereira

  • November 2015

Visiting capital on work.

Hotel was as expected from a Britannia , was clean , staff friendly, car park spaces.

The food on offer was terrible !!. It just was not of a decent standard . Would have gone out had I known what was on offer. Needs addressing and maybe a chef who takes pride in cooking.

  • B McClafferty

  • October 2015

Great value for money

On arrival reception staff were pleasant and chatty.

Our room was clean and spacious and what we wanted for our visit. We used the bar which had compatible prices and adequate choice of beverages and choice of snacks including sandwiches. It was a very pleasant walk to Princes St which took approximately 15 mins. We will definitely stay again.

  • Tia H

  • October 2015

OK, but a bit run down

In the first room the shower head was missing, but we easily got a different, but smaller, room.

It used to be a Travelodge, but could do with a makeover. The marble sink surround in the bathroom outclassed everything else. They could also do with better signs showing where the different room numbers are when you leave the lift. Nice location.

  • C Chandler

  • October 2015

additional comment to previous review

Not only was this our worst experience in a hotel ever, it was also one of the most expensive that I have ever taken my wife on in 24 years of marriage.

Quite frankly we have had better nights in a youth hostel!!

  • J Kerins

  • October 2015

Lovely stay

Nice hotel, staff really friendly and accommodating.

Easy access to bus/tram/train routes. Rooms lovely and quaint. Great value for money