No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Edinburgh

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
69 Belford Road , Edinburgh, EH4 3DG
The Britannia Edinburgh Hotel is situated on the banks of the Water of Leith in area of the city. Just a 10 minute walk to the Dean Gallery and Princes Street. Only a short drive from Edinburgh Haymarket Train Station and many of the city’s local attractions. The hotel offers guest rooms with a light and airy feel and all modern facilities.
Picture of Britannia Edinburgh, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 124 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
43% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Water
The cold water in the room did not have enough presure to use the shower or bath and nothing was done about it after reporting it three times I will not be useing Brittania again
Also the staff gave me a dud email adders to complain to the company

Reviewed by
D Brown

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the fringe of the fringe!
Good points: car parking safe and reasonably priced. Good sized room. Polite, helpful reception staff and quick check in
Bad points: understaffed at breakfast. Dining room like works' canteen. Self clearing of table necessary .Food area for self service ; requests needed to fill up cooked food, cups, juice and cutlery needed to be asked for. Quality of food very poor. Arguments could be heard from the kitchen and the door was kicked open. Allowed workmen having breakfast into the kitchen in grubby clothing..

Reviewed by
Norman H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
Very close to the city centre, the hotel surrounded with beautiful view, I liked it, only the room service was little bit disappointing.

Reviewed by
Jasem Aljuraid

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just about average room for a very high price. Location not that great either, you have to walk atleast 15 to 20 mins to get there from the station and princess street.

Reviewed by
S Dhingra

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Are disabled rooms now an upgrade for non disabled people ?????
On arrival at hotel were given a standard room . Told the receptionist I had upgraded to an executive room for which it didn't seem a problem for him to change then on entering the room found it was for disabled guests . As it was during the festival just decided to live with it .the next day as showering found the floor in the bathroom to flood as the wet room floor seal didn't seem to do its job or drain was partially choked which I would consider dangerous and especially if you were disabled . Also found clump of hair behind shower curtain ( not nice ) not a place I would recommend

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pricey but well located
An easy walk from Haymarket Station, just a pity the entrance is way down a further hill and round a corner, better suited to drivers rather than pedestrians trying to find the place.

Reviewed by
J Gibson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed during Fringe
Stayed in a twin room with my brother. Ok room for the price considering it was the first weekend of the fringe. Assume it'd be cheaper normally. Rooms were basic but ample for me and my brother considering we were out all day and most of the night so really just used it for catching some shut eye! Bar prices were decent as were food although food was very basic.

Reviewed by
W Tulloch

From Shetland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reasonable rates for Edinburgh festival time.
It's made clear on arrival about the refurbishment going on but it's very noisy early morning and no use for sleeping past 8am. No shower bath only.

Reviewed by
diane mcphee

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

npc
its what you would expect from an ex travelodge

Reviewed by
nigel c

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Work in Progress
This was not a good experience for us. Reception was awful. The hotel is undergoing a refurb but until it all gets sorted would not recommend this to anyone.

Reviewed by
M Rochester

From Castle Douglas, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next