No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duncan House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Chalkheugh Terrace, , , Kelso, TD5 7DX
A warm welcome awaits you, there are open fires in the dining room and snug and wooden shutters in the principal rooms. We are dog friendly and welcome well behaved dogs to Duncan House, we just ask that you pick up after them and keep them off the furniture. Our own dog is a labrador named Susie and we ask you to help her keep to the house rules. None of our bedroom or bathroom windows are overlooked so you can enjoy your privacy during your stay. We pride ourselves on serving fresh food. As a consequence we have a limited breakfast menu since little or nothing comes out of the freezer. If you have any special wishes just make them known when booking and we will endeavour to oblige. The river in all it's moods is outside the windows just a few yards away. If you wish you can open the windows and sleep to the sound of the water running over the weir. In the Autumn and to a lesser extent the Spring prodigious numbers of salmon swim up the weir on their spawning journeys. Fish can be seen jumping in the river for most of the year. There is free fishing for brown trout and grayling from 'The Cobby' just outside the house. Over 21,000 salmon were caught in 2010 - a record!
Picture of Duncan House, Kelso at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yarrow room
We arrived, first impression a little disappointed coming from a previous B and B of same price, however, beds very comfortable and breakfast first class, very hospitable host.

Reviewed by
Brenda Rhodes

From Upminster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food, views and location. We were made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
B Murdoch

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too short a stay!
Duncan house is a gracious , historic house beautifully situated above the river Tweed. The interiors are elegant and comfortable, there is original art on the walls and the owners are as welcoming and hospitable as the advance greeting party(Susie the labrador) . Delicious breakfast- the oatmeal for the porridge is ground at the mill further down the street. and the dining room scented with lemon blossom from the growing trees on the window sills. Now what more do you want?

Reviewed by
Fiona Mcfarlane

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Duncan Hous review
Excellent room in a very nice buliding. Great views of the racecourse and river. Excellent breakfast. Very good service from the fiiendly and accomodating staff.
Not easy to find on a dark evening. Tight car park entrance.

Reviewed by
W Riley

From St Ives, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

visit to borders
We had a very enjoyable stay at Duncan house.Beautiful views over the river Tweed and Floors castle.Breakfast in the morning was probably one of the best I have ever had.Staff were friendly and

Reviewed by
kathryn c

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a place...
What a great place friendly owners an rooms superb.breakfast was amazing.We will be back.

Reviewed by
Allan Russell

From Arbroath, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place to stay, lovely people
We both wish we could have stayed longer - four poster bed, sofa to relax on, airy and bright, with cosy and welcoming lounge and dining room. Everything was top notch, and Jeff and Kate (and Susie) couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating.
Breakfast was so good, we both didn't manage a lunch all the time we were there. We wish we could have stayed longer, and will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Claire V

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An old house which is in the process of being slowly updated - didn't affect us. 4 poster room was quite grand with nice bathroom too. Pleasant view of river from windows. Central for Kelso town centre.

Reviewed by
S B

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.