No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Counan Guest House

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
47 Minto Street, , , Edinburgh, EH9 2BR
Counan Guest House is a family friendly establishment which strives to make their guests stay comfortable and relaxing. Situated in the South of Edinburgh, we are within walking distance to all major tourist attractions such as Arthurs Seat, Holyrood Park and Edinburgh Castle. Many pubs and restaurants are also close by. There is also easy access to buses so guests can take all major buses to the city centre. We offer free car parking to our guests at the front of the property and simple, good value rooms. Edinburgh is one of the world's most distinguished and spectacular cities. Its atmospheric medieval Old Town and majestic Georgian New Town have both been designated World Heritage Sites. Its Festival attracts visitors in their thousands. In or near its centre it boasts world-class art galleries and museums, the renowned Botanic Gardens and an extensive Zoological Park. It is a treasure trove for shoppers in search of anything from rare books and malt whiskies to bagpipes and full Highland dress.
Picture of Counan Guest House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
20% recommended this accommodation to a friend 35% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap
In a good position, car park provided, and cheap. However room was small and in the basement with no natural light, with no provide toilet, and breakfast was not good. They don't even provide tissues if you want to wipe your mouth!

Reviewed by
Raffaella P

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good base for visiting city
This is a very good base for visiting the city; walkable into town, good parking, etc.

Reviewed by
Mark Newbrook

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay here
Counan guest house markets itself locally as the "Four Seasons", as is evidenced by literarature and notices in the property. Why the name change as through LateRooms.com?
Our room had a very loose Chubb lock - not family friendly.
Of the two bathrooms in the property, only one worked.
Breakfast was cereal, yoghurt and toast. Tea and coffee were deposited on our table without asking what we wanted, but unfortunately both were lukewarm.
Electric plugs in our room were not entirely safe looking.
Very dingy throughout. Not a good experience - one to forget.

Reviewed by
John L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

b.n.b
cheap clean apart from the rats under the bed that may put some people of

Reviewed by
D Gordon

From Carluke, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Girls weekend
Ok for one night stay
Close to city centre

Reviewed by
M Fisher

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would never go back
Room was very small and dated. Shared shower was either scalding hot or freezing cold. Found ourselves locked out of the building on return from our night out. Owners couldn't get in to building either with there keys so resorted to knocking on another guests window to gain access. Bell rang a few times during the night with other guests having the same problem.

Reviewed by
M Duncan

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really poor
By far the worst b&b ever stayed In after moving to 3 different rooms decided to
just go sleep and leave in morning will never go near again

Reviewed by
Mathew Hardy

From Stoke on trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why is name of Accommodation different
When we reached 47, Mint street, the door was closed, and although the apartment number was 47, the name Counan Guesthouse was not written on it. We were not sure that we have reached the correct place. However luckily the owner approached, and upon our asking about Counan Guest house, she said, ÿes, this is Counan guest house.
Surprising. why this duplicity?

Reviewed by
R Vaid

From Hisar, Haryana, India, India
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for 1 night
It was fine for 1 night, during the festival, where everything else was booked up or out of price range. Location is good. 15 min walk to centre. Wouldn't book it for a nice weekend away, but it was not as bad as some of the reviews made out & the room & bedding was clean.

Reviewed by
Kathryn M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just because it's the Fringe shouldn't mean you can rob people
Horrible room. It was dirty, the bed linen was still damp, there was a window above the door (without a curtain), which meant the room was brightly lit all night because the light in the hallway was switch on at all times. The mattress had a broken spring and was very uncomfortable. I will certainly never go to this place again, especially since the price was also ridiculously high for that kind of room.

Reviewed by
Tim M

From Germany
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next