No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Aaron Lodge

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
128 Old Dalkeith Road, , , Edinburgh, EH16 4SD
Aaron Lodge Guest House in Edinburgh also caters for people with disabilities - there is full wheelchair access throughout the guest house. Our rooms at the guest house comprise of 10 en suite rooms that have been equipped to the highest standards matching any 5 star hotel, including luxury walk in showers, 37" LCD televisions with Freeview offering 102 channels including Sky Movies TV, Sky Sports 1, 2 & 3 and Setanta Sports TV. There is a telephone and a safe provided in each room as well. A complementary buffet breakfast is served every morning in our tastefully decorated conservatory There is ample free car parking for residents only. There is no need to take the car to Edinburgh city centre as there is an excellent local transport system. Buses into Edinburgh city centre stop directly outside the guest house. There is also a resident’s bar which offers a wide selection of beverages to be enjoyed. Your hosts Ted and Dot Baigan have vast experience in the accommodation industry, having owned and built the Abbotsford Guest House, the Abbey Lodge Hotel, the Arden Guest House and the Alpha Guest House, our sister guest house. The guest house is ideally situated within minutes of Edinburgh’s most popular tourist attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, the Palace of Holyroodhouse, The Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores.
Picture of Aaron Lodge, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very warm welcome from Ted & Dot who offered a very personal service. Frequent buses from outside hotel into the city so a car ISP not essential.

Reviewed by
David S

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyable
Had a very enjoyable stay here. The owners were very attentive and the room was spotless. The food was very reasonably priced and best of all I ordered a blue steak and actually got a blue steak - a rare thing (excuse the pun) even in some very expensive places! We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
A Love

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Edinburgh stay
Beautiful guest house, friendly staff, Rooms excellent, comfortable beds,great shower...even bath robes and slippers! Breakfast was everything you could want and more with the tea/coffee and toast brought to your table. Would definitely return and not hesitate to reccomend

Reviewed by
K Dolan

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
could not fault this hotel in anyway service, food and accomodation excellent..

Reviewed by
gerald h

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh festival
This was my 3rd year of attending the festival and I was very pleased with the accomodation --last minuter booking and the friendliest of hosts .There was a problem on arrival, as a guest had to stay on for an extra day due to illness therefore we were accomodated and looked after at a guest house down the road . For this inconvenience we were offered dinner on the house that night a first class meal and drinks were provided . I would stay here again convenient for the city.

Reviewed by
Diana S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed at Aaron lodge for 3 nights. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel and room was realy clean and tidy best bit about the room was the power shower and the big bed ust didn't want to get up out the bed in the mornning but didn't want to miss the nice breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone not that far from shops and the city centre. Food in the hotel was realy nice but if you don't want to eat in the hotel there is places near that does nice food If you like Indian i would recommend a place called Delhi diner that is just up the road that is the best Indians in edinburgh. All in all had a fab time and looking forward to booking up again thank.

Reviewed by
chris gregson

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh has better to offer
We stayed during Hogmanay, and while the hotel is in a great location - easy to get to everywhere, we felt as if we were an inconvenience to the hoteliers. Having made a booking 8 weeks prior to our arrival and several email correspondence with them, we were then contacted 4 days (on Boxing Day) prior to our arrival to say that they didn't have a room available for us, but we could stay at their sister lodge down the road - if I wanted to stay at the other lodge I would have booked the other lodge?! After discussions with the hotelier this "confusion" was sorted and our booking was confirmed. Upon arrival at the hotel we were given a list of rules and instructions on turning off the lights when we left the room in order to save them some money, locking the doors, not to open up the window a certain way. It should also be mentioned that the room was extremely warm, even with the window open. We arrived at 5:00 pm on New Years Eve and while there is a restaurant on site, we were not informed that it wasn't serving dinner that evening - or in fact any other evening during our stay. Breakfast is served in the restaurant from 7:30 - 8:00 am!?!? We were lucky that for the week of our stay breakfast was served between 8:30 - 9:00, although we were also instructed that if you show up even 1 minute late that you would be out of luck. While Aaron Lodge has the potential to be a great place to stay, having guests feel like they are an inconvenience and merely a source of income for the hoteliers, it will never reach it's potential.

Reviewed by
N Cook

From Bromley, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely comfortable bed and lovely room

Reviewed by
c feingold

From ripon, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.