No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Beverley

4Self Classified Apartment Ratings explained
40 Murrayfield Avenue, , , Edinburgh, EH12 6AY
Judy and Hutch welcome you to The Beverley guest house in Edinburgh! Since taking over The Beverley in 1998, Judy and Hutch have refurbished all the rooms to get everything just right. No two rooms are the same. Situated in a quiet tree-lined avenue only minutes from Edinburgh's historic city centre, their Victorian terraced house offers the epitome of family run bed and breakfast accommodation in Scotland. The Beverley has eight rooms all tastefully decorated with their own private bathrooms, flat screen TV/DVD player with freeview, radio/alarm clock.,hair dryers and tea/coffee making facilities. Whether you are visiting Edinburgh on business or on holiday, we think you'll find the Beverley ideal, not only for its excellent location near Murrayfield Stadium and the International Conference Centre, but also for its unrivalled level of personal service. Edinburgh and Scotland offer a variety of attractions to suit all interests. Scotland's capital, Edinburgh, is one of the most beautiful cities in Europe and it's ancient castle, historic old town, pubs, restaurants, theatres and many festivals are only a stones throw away from the Beverley Guest House. Murrayfield stadium, the home of Scottish rugby, is literally at the bottom of the avenue and business guests will find Edinburgh's International Conference Centre close on hand as well. The Scottish Highlands are within a few hours drive from the city and the east coast offers an abundance of great Scottish golf courses.
Picture of The Beverley, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Excellent customer service. Lovely food. Great location ideal for exploring the city centre.

Reviewed by
j johnson

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay
Could not fault this hotel in any way, everything was of a very high standard. Friendly atmosphere and very convenient for the city centre.

Reviewed by
P Penny

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious
Large room and very comfortable

Reviewed by
David L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Place to Stay
Lovely little guest house in a quiet, tree lined avenue. Short bus journey (stop at end of street - £1.50 single) into Edinburgh. Close to Haymarket station. Perfect for visiting Edinburgh. Would definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Denise Innes

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the beverley guest house Edinburgh
the Beverley is one of the best bed and breakfast accommodations I have stayed in
the room was lovely the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was just enough to see you through till the afternoon, there's a bus stop at the bottom of the road a few minutes walk, the busses run regular, the 12, 26, go right along princess street, the 31, does the same but turns up North bridge, for the Royal mile, would I stay there again, without a doubt.

Reviewed by
nigel thornton

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic customer service in very clean accommodation, what more could you want!
About a week prior to arrival I was asked to confirm my approximate time of arrival. As the owners were due to be out the evening I arrived I was given clear instructions as to how to access the property and also how to get there from the train station, perfect. The breakfast in the morning was lovely and a taxi was called for me when I enquired.
I couldn't have expected anything more, service was excellent!

Reviewed by
Y Skinner

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet stay
Friendly hosts, good location and room very quiet. Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
barrie m

From New Zealand
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very warm welcome which made us feel right at home with lots of information. Hotel lovely and one of the most comfiest beds I have slept in.

Reviewed by
Marion M

From Erskine, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm, friendly welcome
My stay at The Beverley was practically perfect. Upon arrival, the owner greeted me and provided answers to every question I had (where can I eat, where can I go to see a movie, what are the transport options etc), and provided a great set of paper-slip instructions for both finding my way into Edinburgh, but most crucially finding my way back to bed too!
The room was clean, the bed comfy and (although I didn't use it) was equipped with a TV/DVD combo. The owner offered me a selection of DVDs to watch, which was a nice touch.
In the morning, breakfast was delicious, and there was plenty of food available - if you've got a big appetite you won't be disappointed at all. I stuck with a small cooked breakfast and toast, but there was fruit, cereal, yoghurt, continental breads and cheeses, and the offer of more toast if desired.
If you're looking for somewhere to stay while in Edinburgh, either on business or for pleasure, you won't go far wrong with The Beverley - I chose on the basis of price if I'm being honest, which only goes to further seal the deal - I highly recommend!

Reviewed by
Sam H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet location in west Edinburgh
I arrived very late due to a train problem. The hotel proprietor had me into my room with a minimum of fuss, so that I was able to enjoy a good night's sleep, helped by the qietness of the hotel's situation. Folloiwng an excellent breakfast, I was ready for business, which was conveniently within easy walking distance in west Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
Brian G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next