Reviews - Cara House


Carahouse, 44 castlegate,, Berwick-upon-tweed, TD15 1JT

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • D Tildesley

  • August 2015


Lovely spacious room, which was great as we had alot off luggage.

Large clean bathroom and great tea and coffee facilities. Owner was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and took time to chat with myself and partner.

  • K Bell

  • May 2015

Lovely B&B

We stayed in the Till Suite for 2 nights, the bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious and clean - lovely.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent, good choice of cereals and a full English breakfast with toast served with a smile from Pam. Cara House is in an ideal location for Berwick town centre and to explore the town within easy walking distance. We will be recommending to family and friends and would happily stay there again.

  • Tracy B

  • April 2015

Cara House

Really enjoyed our stay, made us feel extremely welcome and very giving in sharing knowledge of where to visit, would definitely stay there again if I am in the area.

  • Janet Hall

  • January 2015

The twin room that we had was clean and comfortable.

Pam and David were great hosts and very informative and we had a wonderful breakfast. Thanks for making our stay a home from home experience.

  • A Buckingham

  • October 2014

Handy location with parking.

The couple who run this B&B are very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was good and the fact that we had somewhere to park on site was a big plus. It's located just a few minutes walk from the town centre, which was very handy.

  • john b

  • September 2014

shabby and unwelcoming, definitely not 4 star accommodation

The room faced a bare wall opposite, the furnishings were shabby, not particularly clean, the clock radio was covered in dust, minimal facilities, unwelcoming, no offers of help, no choice for uninspiring breakfast, not even a good morning.

Fixed breakfast time. Not told we needed to pay and cash only. We have had much better 3 star rated accommodation.

  • Jeanette M

  • September 2014

A hidden gem

Our initial impression was that the room appeared dated and very basic.

Yet the bed was comfortable and the en suite well stocked and very clean. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The hosts were helpful and gave lots of local information. Having off road parking was a bonus.

  • c young

  • September 2014

first time

On arrival the landlord was really friendly and informative, giving us directions around the town.

However, she failed to say anything about how payment for the room could be made and because she didn't we assumed payment had already been taken. We were about to check out but fortunately we bumped into her where she explained. This made me feel very uncomfortable. The room appeared a little out dated and the shower was very poor. Also the towels smelled of dampness. Breakfast was at 8.30 and although the landlord offered to make it a little later we felt it was a bother. On a whole Berwick was really good and we would like to return.

  • J McDonagh

  • August 2014

Cara house review

On arrival all were very helpful and welcoming and lots of information was given.

Warm service throughout our stay and would definitely return if in the area.

  • Bob Cowley

  • August 2014

Convenient location, clean and comfortable

Cara House could not be more conveniently located, in the centre of Berwick,close to the railway station, but set back from the main street off a small courtyard.

The welcome was good, the room was clean and comfortable, and the en suite facilities were well arranged, leaving enough space to move around easily (which is not always the case!) The breakfast was well-prepared and prompt, with plenty of options.