No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cara House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Carahouse, 44 castlegate, , Berwick-upon-tweed, TD15 1JT
After a cosy nights sleep at our bed and breakfast, you can enjoy a full Berwick breakfast using the finest local ingredients, with freshly brewed tea and real coffee. If you have any special dietary requirement please let us know and we will do our best to cater for you Vegatarian, Gluten Free etc. We cater for walkers, cyclists and motorbikers. We are the only BnB in town with OFF ROAD Private Parking. Cara House bed and breakfast is the ideal place to base yourself if you want to explore and discover the beautiful area in and around Berwick-upon-Tweed. Scottish Borders and Northumberland coast. Within 5 minutes walk: The centre of Berwick-upon-Tweed The Elizabethan Walls/Ramparts surrounding Berwick-upon-Tweed Berwick-upon-Tweed train station Main East coast Rail line •The river Tweed (famous for its salmon fishing) The beach Many fine dining restaurants
Picture of Cara House, Berwick-upon-tweed at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem
Our initial impression was that the room appeared dated and very basic. Yet the bed was comfortable and the en suite well stocked and very clean. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The hosts were helpful and gave lots of local information. Having off road parking was a bonus.

Reviewed by
Jeanette M

From Knaresborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shabby and unwelcoming, definitely not 4 star accommodation
The room faced a bare wall opposite, the furnishings were shabby, not particularly clean, the clock radio was covered in dust, minimal facilities, unwelcoming, no offers of help, no choice for uninspiring breakfast, not even a good morning. Fixed breakfast time. Not told we needed to pay and cash only. We have had much better 3 star rated accommodation.

Reviewed by
john b

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first time
On arrival the landlord was really friendly and informative, giving us directions around the town. However, she failed to say anything about how payment for the room could be made and because she didn't we assumed payment had already been taken. We were about to check out but fortunately we bumped into her where she explained. This made me feel very uncomfortable. The room appeared a little out dated and the shower was very poor. Also the towels smelled of dampness. Breakfast was at 8.30 and although the landlord offered to make it a little later we felt it was a bother. On a whole Berwick was really good and we would like to return.

Reviewed by
c young

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location, clean and comfortable
Cara House could not be more conveniently located, in the centre of Berwick,close to the railway station, but set back from the main street off a small courtyard.
The welcome was good, the room was clean and comfortable, and the en suite facilities were well arranged, leaving enough space to move around easily (which is not always the case!) The breakfast was well-prepared and prompt, with plenty of options.

Reviewed by
Bob Cowley

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved it
i really loved it was a lovely room breakfast was yummy and owners were lovely and very helpfully i would go back in a minute and will hopefully be back soon x

Reviewed by
Maureen tracey Binnie

From Alloa, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central accommodation
Good location, very welcoming and friendly guest house,good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Judith G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cara house review
On arrival all were very helpful and welcoming and lots of information was given. Warm service throughout our stay and would definitely return if in the area.

Reviewed by
J McDonagh

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business stay
Stayed for location to a business meeting, early start and was not even offered a coffee before leaving staff stated to early a start

Reviewed by
S Graham

From Cumnock, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good b&b ideally located.

Reviewed by
p williamson

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasant overnight stay
The Cara is a comfortable and welcoing place to stay. I'd recommend it and would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Richard Thomas

From Kirkwall, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next