No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Restup London

3Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
172 New Kent Road , London , SE1 4YT
Following a year of extensive refurbishment, we are proud to welcome you to RestUp London

RestUp London youth hostel is a great new stylish, purpose built hostel in the heart of London, created with today’s traveller in mind; offering accommodation in shared dorms or private rooms both ensuite or share facilities.

The hostel is set in a large building steeped with history and tradition, combined with all the state of the art convenience perfect for today’s travellers, the hostel provides excellent value for money accommodation, together with cutting edge technology to ensure you have a home from home experience at the hostel.

Picture of Restup London , London  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 95 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic, clean and convenient.
A bed on a budget. That's what I paid for and that's what I got. Cheap and cheerful with absolutely no frills - but don't forget to take a towel because they are not included. No double glazing - and many of the rooms face the busy main road where traffic doesn't stop at night. The bus stop right outside is handy for a ten minute ride to Waterloo Bridge and the Southbank Centre. Continental breakfast is OK but no brown bread when I stayed.

Reviewed by
L Lamon

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
The hostel was basically as expected - very large and full of groups of teenagers and children on school trips. The reception was busy at 9pm when I checked in wanted to check in, as both members of staff behind the desk were cashing up their tills. The staff finished their work relatively quickly, and got on with checking everyone in as fast as they could, and were acceptably polite. The problem was not them, but the fact they were cashing up both tills at the same time - a very silly idea!
As for the room- I had a twin room to myself on the second floor. The bed was fine, the bathroom was fine, and everything was clean enough. There were plug sockets to charge your phone and an individual reading light next to each bunk bed (much appreciated as they are not always provided in hostels). However, the "extensive refurbishment" that the description promises evidently did not include renovating the windows, which in my room were old single glazed windows, and they didn't close properly. In central London, in winter, that meant the small room was full of street noise and cold from the draft. There was also a large gap under the door (about 1/2 inch) which allowed all the noise from the corridor to disturb me (... remember those groups of teenagers I mentioned?). Overall, RestUp was not as good as I was hoping for, but I have definitely stayed at worse hostels in London. Adult travellers who can afford it should fork out an extra £20 and book a cheap hotel room instead.

Reviewed by
Eleanor H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

joke...
Arrived at this establishment late night, turns out the hot water from the shower sets of the fire alarm so half way thru shower had to open to security who advised me to open the window. It's freezing in the room anyhow with window open its a horror.staying in a double room which is just about bigger then 's shoebox. It wasn't expensive that's true but next time would rather pay 19 times as much then to step again to this hotel

Reviewed by
Ferenc K

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restup London
Interesting.

Reviewed by
MICHAEL JULIANA

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Well I enjoyed my stay at here. RestUp is suitable for backpacker and close to Bus Stop and Tube Station. Also it is close to cheap food Kebab and Lebanese restaurant as well as Fried Chicken restaurant. The room is small but it is fine to me because I like it. Clean and comfort. The staffs are helpful and cheers me.

Reviewed by
Hari P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't really be faulted at this price. Clean convenient and cheap.
The only fault was that I didn't have a pillow in my bed. Maybe they aren't provided. Not a big deal though.
I will certainly be using this place again, very convenient location for central London.

Reviewed by
craig h

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5 hours rest.
Couple of months ago I have been visiting London friends who played the gig close to Westminster. This place was absolutely cheapest and at the same time nice and (clean). If you need just rest couple of hours before your journey this place is definitely right decision!

Reviewed by
Lukas B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff
The stuff is really nice but you to count with all extras, Loker 24 hours 3 pounds, breakfast low qualify 3 pounds and só on. Internet always failing every minute.

Reviewed by
Nuno Eusebio

From Malta
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place when you just need a bed!
Cheap and easy to get to, clean and the staff were friendly.
Only issue I found were there were not enough lockers to put stuff safely.

Reviewed by
Louise B

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
Very, very friendly, understanding and helpfull staff.
Room, Bathroom were absolutely fine.
I'm looking forward to a working elevator next time, cause it would have been nice in order to go to the top of the building.

Reviewed by
Frederik B

From Copenhagen, Denmark
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next