No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Restup London

3Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
172 New Kent Road , London , SE1 4YT
Following a year of extensive refurbishment, we are proud to welcome you to RestUp London

RestUp London youth hostel is a great new stylish, purpose built hostel in the heart of London, created with today’s traveller in mind; offering accommodation in shared dorms or private rooms both ensuite or share facilities.

The hostel is set in a large building steeped with history and tradition, combined with all the state of the art convenience perfect for today’s travellers, the hostel provides excellent value for money accommodation, together with cutting edge technology to ensure you have a home from home experience at the hostel.

Picture of Restup London , London  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No soap or towels provided in the bathroom. Room was tiny. No covers on duvets or pillows.

Reviewed by
Harry B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location and good customer service
I stayed at the Rest up as part of a group of 10 people going for a night out in London. The hostel was easy to find and the staff were friendly and flexible with allowing other members of our group to turn up later etc. There was a reasonable TV and games room and plenty of vending machines around. The cleaner was a little too enthusiastic at 7am which woke us up briefly but other than that I couldn't fault the stay. Better than some cheap hotels I've stayed in.

Reviewed by
P O'Connor

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but not great
Comfortable bed but given the cost I would expect a little more. Breakfast was pretty shocking.

Reviewed by
S Hall

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hostel not a hotel
The Restup London is simply a hostel. It is not a hotel. The offering of a room for the night is exactly that. There was a bunk bed, admittedly with clean sheets, duvet and pillows but very little else. The en suite has a shower, WC and a tiny wash basin. Hooks for hanging clothes were inaccessible behind one end of the bunk beds. A £10 depoait for your room kay and towels hired from the reception desk. Over £50 a night for this room was excessive, especially in light of the fact LateRooms quoted the original price at over £120 a night.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's a hostel
It was very basic and not particularly homely or comfortable, but it did the job for us. Good of travelling on a budget or you just need a place to rest your head.
Layout of the building is very peculiar

Reviewed by
T Dewhurst

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will come again !
It was really nice ! Closed to some pubs and clubs, restaurant, and shopping center !
The Restup team are really helpful and friendly !
I will come again ! :) I recommend it !

Reviewed by
Amélie M

From France
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Showers
I would really appreciate somewhere to put my stuff while having shower.

Reviewed by
Anežka K

From Czech Republic
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were exceptionally abrupt on every occasion that I saw them dealing with customers.
Accommodation as expected for a hostel...basic, reasonably clean, cheap and ok for a flying visit

Reviewed by
Leanne V

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We weren't told that it was bunk beds. It was too painful in bare feet to climb up or down the ladder with its thin metal rungs, so I had to place my shoes on the window sill so I could put them on climbing down.
It would have been helpful to have been told that one had to supply one's own soap. A simple shelf to put one's toothbrush on would have been useful, and a rail to put the towel on.
The food was poor quality. But the staff were very friendly!

Reviewed by
robert chamberlain

From SHEFFIELD, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All-in-all = good
The hostel was quite a nice place, nicely laid out, friendly and more than helpful staff, close to all forms of public transport - only a couple of minutes from Elephant and Castle, and buses quite literally at the front door, there were shops closeby, and given that it was quite cheap - it was definitely value for money; the only drawback being the kerfuffle with the lockers, it's good that they've got lockers in the vicinity, but there wasn't really enough for everyone, and it was a fight in order to get one. It would've been nice if the lockers also came with the price of the room, but £2 and £3 a locker for each use isn't too bad. All in all, a good experience and lovely place to go.

Reviewed by
K Logan

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next