No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Western Manor House Hotel

3Self Classified Apartment Ratings explained
92 Corstorphine Road, Murrayfield, Lothian, Edinburgh, EH12 6JG
The Western Manor House Hotel is the ideal place to base your stay in Edinburgh. From the warm welcome you receive on arrival, to the comfortable and cosy bedrooms and continental breakfasts, we ensure your stay in Edinburgh will be a truly unforgettable experience. We are sure your stay with us will be a first class experience. Together with the comfortable and cosy bedrooms and continental breakfast on offer, you will not fail to have a wonderful break. Situated at Edinburgh's Western Corner, Murrayfield, at the foot of Corstorphine Hill, the hotel affords wonderful views of the castle, city and beyond to the Pentland Hills. The Western benefits from easy access to the city centre, motorway network and Edinburgh Airport, whilst Murrayfield Stadium is only a mile away, and Edinburgh Zoo is only half a mile away. You could not find a better all round location.
Picture of Western Manor House Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
12% recommended this accommodation to a friend 12% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More B&B than hotel
My main issue is that it wasn't what I expected for a hotel... I felt .like I was staying at my nan's or in a B&B.
Decor looked a bit tired... like it had been decorated 20 years ago and not since.... strange indian and cowboy statues everywhere for the "theme" of "Western" in the name.
It is a converted house and we drove past it as the sign was hiding behind a metal railing fence which you couldn't see from one direction.
Only ever saw one person - the man who checked us in who was pleasant and friendly. But his card machine wouldn't work so I had to go out to the bank to get cash which isn't what I really wanted to do... So that was a frustration.
Wifi was useless - kept dropping out - was told it was probably due to other people staying.

Good points - shower was hot and powerful. Bed soft, bed linens on our bed were crisp and clean and nice.
Not so Points. TV small but worked. Unsightly with the wires along the ceiling from the TV going to the power point 6 feet away above the wardrobe. Looked a real mess and unprofessional.
Would have liked..... breakfast included in the price!! Proper working wifi.
So... it was pleasant enough, and basic but definitely not a hotel and not what I was expecting.
Would I stay there again..... no. I felt it was misrepresented as a hotel and was only B&B - and I didn't even get breakfast for the price of 80 quid for a twin room.

Reviewed by
Jenna S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice wee hotel, room was a bit small but comfortable
last minute booking but good little hotel for the money
Only issue was the toilet was noisy throughout the night

Reviewed by
David F

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointment
When we arrived to check in we were told we had to pay by cash even though signs for Mastercard and Visa were clearly visible, and the nearest cash point was down the road 1/2 a mile, this turned out to be limited to £30 max at a time so we ended walking a further 1/2 mile down hill to withdraw enough to cover our 2 night stay. The room was reasonably clean and tidy but could do with a bit of redecorating as there was a heat stain on the wall above the radiator. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have slept in I felt like I was sleeping on nothing but springs. Hot water was actually just noticeably warmer than the cold water.

ManagementResponse

You were informed card machine not operating and requested if payment can be made with cash. Given option to pay later, but you were happy to get cash. Decoration carried out 6 months ago and presentable. (Minor stain being seen to) Recently replaced mattress. Comfortable and no complaints before. Hot/ cold water working fine, again customers happy with service. Sorry to note customers comments. Management.

Reviewed by
David R

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reveiw
Our stay was for one night. Could do with better shower

ManagementResponse

The customer states “could do with better shower”. I would ask what was wrong with it? and why not report to reception. As it is the shower works great other customers have stayed since, no complaint.

Reviewed by
Blair M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely shocking!!!
No towels in room, the TV didn't work and the hotel manager was the rudest person I have ever met.
Would not recommend at all!!!

ManagementResponse

This customer came at back to hotel 3am drunk, tried to enter through wrong door & rang bell repeated. He was directed to the correct entrance politely by night porter, who was rudely sworn at. Failed to check out on time, had to be woken up. Adequate towels in room. TV works fine. Left room in a shocking state. The comments made by customer are totally unjustified.

Reviewed by
carl harris

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beware of possible scam
This hotel tried to make me pay by cash
This hotel is not VAT registard
This hotel will try to make you sign a damage protection form

Reviewed by
James H

From Market Drayton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not go again
I would not recommend this place, staff are rude, rooms are small and freezing and the shared bathroom was dirty! Would not stay again!

Reviewed by
kristian h

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.