No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cedar Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
20 Shore Road, Aberdour, KY3 0TR
The Cedar Inn is a warm friendly, family run Hotel set in the beautiful Fife coastal village of Aberdour.

We offer comfortable accommodation, a restaurant serving traditional dishes freshly cooked, traditional lunches and an inviting bar with a selection of real ales, beers and lagers. We also have our own whisky bar with over 100 fine malts. Take a look around our site and discover why The Cedar is the “Inn” place for everything in Aberdour!

Ideal for golfers, walkers, tourists and business guests within yards of the Beach, Golf course and main line railway station to Edinburgh (35 mins train journey).
Picture of The Cedar Inn, Aberdour at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall, good experience
Nice local pub, excellent food and well kept beer. Room ok, but the kitchen staff were very loud and at one point at approx 21:30, I had to ask landlord to ask them to turn music down as I was trying to watch tv. It was turned down immediately, but they did not seem to have the understanding that guest bedrooms were directly above kitchens. Despite this one incident, I had a really good stay.

Reviewed by
Andy P

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty Towers - but not funny !!
On arrival we were shown to our room which was basic but functional. The bed was comfy and the shower was powerful. The bedroom had obviously been hoovered with the door open as there was quite a bit of dust behind it on the carpet and skirting board. Now for the breakfast - we were asked if we wanted a cooked breakfast to which we replied yes. We sat and waited for approx. 25 minutes before asking if we had been forgotten. The waitress said she had brought it already to which we replied "where is it then?". She went into the kitchen and returned with 2 plates of food which consisted of 1 rasher of cold burnt bacon, one lukewarm sausage, 1 lukewarm fried egg, 1 burnt tomato and a spoonful of cold beans. We had to eat this as we were already running late for an appointment we had. The waitress did ask if it was ok to which we replied NO but was offered only more toast or tea which we declined. We paid the bill (in full) and made a hasty exit and we definitely won't be back.

Reviewed by
M Milburn

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, lovely polite and friendly staff, homely atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Daniel K

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Staff, food, room, beer, everything excellent. Will definately be back again

Reviewed by
S Hirst

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somewhere to return to
A very friendly establishment with good food and friendly bar, and Dave the pub dog who is adorable. Location is ideal with a 5 min walk to the little quiet beach.
Room was a little dated, but clean and a good size which is the main thing. Only a shower, but a good hot powerful one though.
Would go back again....such a friendly place.

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Wantage, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was here as festival on in Edinburgh so couldn't find somewhere by airport as intended. Taxi to airport was reasonable. Hotel can suggest driver. Arrived a little before 9pm. By time dropped stuff in room and come back to bar/restaurant found kitchen closed. Had to suggest that maybe there's something not need much cooking such as desserts. Would've been better had they let me order something as checked in. Also, they have live music here, so check website before booking in case this impacts on your stay.

Reviewed by
Bruce S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly inn in lovely village
The title says it all - this is a popular inn in an attractive village. Excellent centre for exploring Fife. Good quality budget accommodation; very friendly welcoming atmosphere. Would very happily stay there again.

Reviewed by
Ruth P

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Guest Accommodation
We stayed one night for a wedding at a nearby venue. The hotel was easy to find and had a small car park where we were fortunate to find a space. There was no dedicated reception area but the owner took us to our room which was quite comfortable and clean but overlooked car park. Had a good shower and space for toiletries which is often lacking. Breakfast was nicely presented and staff were very friendly. Price was reasonable for standard of accommodation. Enjoyed our brief stay

Reviewed by
Robert Gunning

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

delivered everything as expected

Reviewed by
Rosemary T

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and good value for money
Room above pub - with loud music playing at weekends below -but stops at 12 so not too bad. Nice room - small but everything clean and comfortable. Food at pub below is nice but took a long time to come. The location made it for us as just a hop,step and jump away from beach. Friendly staff but no veggie breakfast offered. Nice wee place really.

Reviewed by
John C

From Scotland
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.