No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The City Suites

4Self Classified Apartment Ratings explained
1 Western Harbour Midway, , , Edinburgh, EH6 6LD
The perfect location for both business and pleasure. Western Harbour in Edinburgh has become the most popular address in Edinburgh Our stylishly decorated apartments comes fully equipped for a thoroughly enjoyable self catering experience. The kitchens have integrated appliances such as a fridge/freezer, oven/hob, dishwasher, washer/dryer, microwave, toaster, kettle, full cutlery and plate set. All pots and pans etc. are provided in order for you to be able to prepare your own meals at home. Actually there is so much more... everything is provided so you won’t need to bring a thing - from a hairdryer to a sieve to a grater to olive oil to pepper you'll be amazed! All appliances are electric. There is a tiled splash-back and ceiling spotlights. All apartments have either central heating or underfloor heating. Our 3 bed penthouses have a balcony overlooking the internal courtyard and the royal yacht Britannia. Our other apartments have a sea view with either a balcony and without balcony or a terraced area. Some also have additonal city and west facing views. The open plan dining/kitchen/lounge is super with flat screen TV with full digital access. The apartments have fabulous Grohe power shower and fully tiled. All apartments have ensuite shower rooms and separate bathrooms too. Our service includes: housekeeping, cleaning the apartment. replacing the bedsheets and towels, topping up the coffee, tea, sugar, olive oil, salt and pepper, as well as replacing your luxury toiletries. We also provide a laundry service for our guests if required. WIFI is available (£10) and Car Parking too - off street (£5) underground (£15) Important Note: Social gatherings (parties) are not permitted.
Picture of The City Suites, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tremendous value for money
There were some poor reviews but I only paid £60 and was given a top floor 3 bedroom apartment. Spotlessly clean but yes the soft furnishings need renewing. Plenty of nice soft towels, free tea bags, coffee and sugar. Stunning views. As single female felt very safe and secure here.

Reviewed by
Kate C

From Peterhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shopping trip to Edinburgh
Very spacious accommodation. Everything we needed except could do with full-length mirror in hallway as bathroom lights not great and mirrors hard to get close to when applying makeup (one above toilet). One picture on livingroom wall had nothing in it - perhaps take it down or put something in it would be better. This is not serious criticism just an observation. Bus service no. 10 to town centre very efficient but need to stock up on food for self catering before you arrive at apartment as it was a cold night on arrival for us and a 20 minute walk to Asda.

Reviewed by
D Ross

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very well used rooms, could do with new setee. Showers fine, kitchen fine. Mattresses are not the best but slept fine.

Reviewed by
R Hunter

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay again
Nice and spacious flat,for the money was great,we had friends and family over for meals plenty of space,it's not top end but fine for my needs !

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Apartment was looking lovely and although we booked 1 room we got 3! Signal on tv wasn't great but was nice as well wanted to spend quality time together! Also there was a DVD player for cosy film watching! Also asda was only a 5 min walk away! :)

Reviewed by
Adele D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alright for a night
Nice roomy apartment with a view of the city and all the equipment needed for cooking. Paying cash and not getting a receipt seemed a bit dodgy, and only just managed to scrape all our coins together! Apartment itself was a bit worn and some things seemed like shoddy workmanship when built but was fine for us for one night. Also no wifi. Overall it was OK and was very cheap, but would not be happy if paying any more!

Reviewed by
Jon A

From Bournemouth, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very poor
I arrived to check in I was told my card was declined for payment and I would have to pay in cash, just then another gentleman came into the reception with cash I let him go in front off me it turns out his card was declined to we got chatting it would seem they are on a scam for cash. Both our cards were working fine, I eventually gave him the cash as it was to late in the day to find another room. I went to my room it said self catering and everything was provided, it was not there was nothing there apart from a jar of coffee no milk nothing, I went back to the office it was closed, the place was clean but could have been cleaner, cigarette buts outside the doors holes in walls sink blocked 1towel each, wardrobe door broken and covered up with tape, and the.picture in the add showed a nice baloney with a view, I had no balcony and my view out all windowswas off more flats, there was a table and one chair outside it was rusty and covered in bird droppings. the sofa had large tears in it and the dining table had broken seat.All in all not good. It is definitely not worth the money.

Reviewed by
j lockhart

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Suites Review
My husband, daughter and I stayed for 1 night at the City Suites Apartment complex. The apartment was beautiful with lovely views and the man who first received us was friendly and helpful.
The rooms were a good size and the furniture was very nice and comfortable, although if we had been staying more than 1 night we would probably have needed more than the 1 pillow each and the mattress could have been more comfortable.
The kitchen was well set out and supplied with all the cooking utensils needed.
Altogether, a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
debbie cooper

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Suites-what a bargain!
We had a 2-bed apartment booked from city suites. When you pick keys up your asked to pay the balance in cash. We didn't know this. The apartment itself is basic and clean although one of the bathrooms did smell of damp and on the floor I found the casing os a razor which was not too great. It was clean however the carpet in one of the bedrooms was very badly stained. I would book an apartment here again as the value for money is incredible. 10am check out too!!! Don't think you will be getting a lie in!

Reviewed by
Emma G

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flat review
Stayed for the money I paid absolute bargain but if it had been more I guess I would of been less happy. Looked clean, toilets were good, dishes glasses etc fine but when looking closer likes of under the bed, skirting boards was a little dusty. Leather couches cracked to death they I know have been there for years. Not comfy at all. Bed so low to the floor, quilt is cheap, but it was a bed to crash out on. Staff friendly, cash only a little bit of a pain.
However it was a 3 bed apt with secure intercom and underground parking if you pay extra.
Just don't look under the bed.
Affordable family accommodation in an expensive city so 5 stars for value

Reviewed by
Duncan G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next