No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The City Suites

4Self Classified Apartment Ratings explained
1 Western Harbour Midway, , , Edinburgh, EH6 6LD
The perfect location for both business and pleasure. Western Harbour in Edinburgh has become the most popular address in Edinburgh Our stylishly decorated apartments comes fully equipped for a thoroughly enjoyable self catering experience. The kitchens have integrated appliances such as a fridge/freezer, oven/hob, dishwasher, washer/dryer, microwave, toaster, kettle, full cutlery and plate set. All pots and pans etc. are provided in order for you to be able to prepare your own meals at home. Actually there is so much more... everything is provided so you won’t need to bring a thing - from a hairdryer to a sieve to a grater to olive oil to pepper you'll be amazed! All appliances are electric. There is a tiled splash-back and ceiling spotlights. All apartments have either central heating or underfloor heating. Our 3 bed penthouses have a balcony overlooking the internal courtyard and the royal yacht Britannia Our other apartments have a sea view with either a balcony or a terraced area. Some also have additonal city and west facing views. The open plan dining/kitchen/lounge is super with flat screen TV with full digital access. The apartments have fabulous Grohe power shower and fully tiled. All apartments have ensuite shower rooms and separate bathrooms too. Our service includes: housekeeping, cleaning the apartment. replacing the bedsheets and towels, topping up the coffee, tea, sugar, olive oil, salt and pepper, as well as replacing your luxury toiletries. We also provide a laundry service for our guests if required. WIFI is available (£10) and Car Parking too - off street (£5) underground (£10) Important Note: Social gatherings (parties) are not permitted.
Picture of The City Suites, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very poor
I arrived to check in I was told my card was declined for payment and I would have to pay in cash, just then another gentleman came into the reception with cash I let him go in front off me it turns out his card was declined to we got chatting it would seem they are on a scam for cash. Both our cards were working fine, I eventually gave him the cash as it was to late in the day to find another room. I went to my room it said self catering and everything was provided, it was not there was nothing there apart from a jar of coffee no milk nothing, I went back to the office it was closed, the place was clean but could have been cleaner, cigarette buts outside the doors holes in walls sink blocked 1towel each, wardrobe door broken and covered up with tape, and the.picture in the add showed a nice baloney with a view, I had no balcony and my view out all windowswas off more flats, there was a table and one chair outside it was rusty and covered in bird droppings. the sofa had large tears in it and the dining table had broken seat.All in all not good. It is definitely not worth the money.

Reviewed by
j lockhart

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Suites Review
My husband, daughter and I stayed for 1 night at the City Suites Apartment complex. The apartment was beautiful with lovely views and the man who first received us was friendly and helpful.
The rooms were a good size and the furniture was very nice and comfortable, although if we had been staying more than 1 night we would probably have needed more than the 1 pillow each and the mattress could have been more comfortable.
The kitchen was well set out and supplied with all the cooking utensils needed.
Altogether, a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
debbie cooper

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Suites-what a bargain!
We had a 2-bed apartment booked from city suites. When you pick keys up your asked to pay the balance in cash. We didn't know this. The apartment itself is basic and clean although one of the bathrooms did smell of damp and on the floor I found the casing os a razor which was not too great. It was clean however the carpet in one of the bedrooms was very badly stained. I would book an apartment here again as the value for money is incredible. 10am check out too!!! Don't think you will be getting a lie in!

Reviewed by
Emma G

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flat review
Stayed for the money I paid absolute bargain but if it had been more I guess I would of been less happy. Looked clean, toilets were good, dishes glasses etc fine but when looking closer likes of under the bed, skirting boards was a little dusty. Leather couches cracked to death they I know have been there for years. Not comfy at all. Bed so low to the floor, quilt is cheap, but it was a bed to crash out on. Staff friendly, cash only a little bit of a pain.
However it was a 3 bed apt with secure intercom and underground parking if you pay extra.
Just don't look under the bed.
Affordable family accommodation in an expensive city so 5 stars for value

Reviewed by
Duncan G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It would have been nice if the management had shown us to our rooms as opposed to giving us basic directions which were difficult to understand. Having tea and coffee available was great - the downside was no milk and it was a 10minute walk to the nearest convenience. Having this information prior to stay would have been helpful. A 'cash only' payment option was not ideal.

Reviewed by
R Macdonald

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Is the company Bankrupt?
I was very surprised to find that I was required to pay £395 pounds in Cash i.e. the full £380 hire plus £15 for a few minutes early check in. Since my account has a daily limit of £300 I had to borrow money from my daughter plus drive to the local Supermarket to withdraw £300.
The carpets were old and dirty or badly stained and the boiler needed a service.

Reviewed by
Charles Iain D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the place is great, but need to explain that is not a hotel, is very difficult to stay.

Reviewed by
sandra ZEIDLER

From VILA VELHA, Brazil
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

How two senior citizens see it!
Upon arrival by public transport, two senior citizens, somewhat tired after long journey we found office closed, unable to contact number on door (no reception open) only seat, the steps. Eventually duty manager arrived to be greeted with cash payment only, contrary to notice on wall stating 3.5% charge for credit card payments. Told there was a cash machine in Asda, a 10minute walk away , who carries large amounts of cash with them in this day and age? No printed VAT receipt given. Apartment described as superior suite - does one expect to find, chipped china, stained carpets, old towels, no sink plug, extract fan and towel rail not working. Blocked shower waste, malfunctioning tap in ensuite and more. Lovely views from apartment!! We came for the festival and tattoo which we thoroughly enjoyed and aim to be back again but with defintely not at the City Suites.

Reviewed by
m baughan

From Great Missenden, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money accommadation but shock at receiving phone call 30 mins before I had said I would check in informing I had to pay in cash after booking with card on Laterooms.com. Realised that no reason was accually given for the switch. Mattress not the best quality on the double bed but an excellent place to stay as comfortable for 4 people with an excellemnt bus service into the cenyre of Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
D Serafini

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apartment not what was booked - had phone call on the morning while I was getting onmy plane demanding that I bring cash for payment! Totally unexceptable - this could have been done well in advance and not on my arrival morning - asked for another apartment as was not what booked - we got shown round one which stunk of smoke which was awful - so we ended up with the 1 st one - this one had stains on the carpet all 4 mugs were cracked and stained there was a whole in the bathroom - certainly not worth the money we paid for it

Reviewed by
Gill H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next