No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The City Suites

4Self Classified Apartment Ratings explained
Western Harbour Midway, , , Edinburgh, EH6 6LD
The perfect location for both business and pleasure. Western Harbour in Edinburgh is the most popular address in Edinburgh. Our stylishly decorated apartments come fully equipped for a thoroughly enjoyable self catering experience. The kitchens have integrated appliances such as a fridge/freezer, oven/hob, dishwasher, washer/dryer, microwave, toaster, kettle, full cutlery and plate set. All pots and pans etc. are provided in order for you to be able to prepare your own meals at home. Actually everything is provided so you won’t need to bring a thing - from a hairdryer to a sieve to a grater to olive oil to salt and pepper you'll be amazed! All appliances are electric. All apartments have heating. We have a range of 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. Some have views of the Royal Britannia. Other apartments have a sea or castle view. Some have a balcony and some have a terraced area. The open plan dining/kitchen/lounge is superb with flat screen inc full digital access. The apartments have fabulous power showers. All apartments have ensuite shower rooms and separate bathrooms too. Service is an important factor for us and we strive on customer care. PLEASE NOTE Social Gatherings of any nature are not permitted. Eviction will occur without refund if any attempt is carried out. We operate security guards and CCTV 24/7. We do not accept guests under the age of 25 unless accompanied by a family member over the age of 25. Photographic ID is essential for check in (Passport or driving license) - It will be copied. Check in starts at 16:00 and ends at 19:00. If arriving late then notification is crucial. Please provide a valid SMS cell number that can receive a text message on the morning of your check in to arrange a check in time. You may be asked to provide a £250 cash security deposit on arrival - This will be non negotiable and refund will not be offered in the case of refusal. Cash is our only accepted method of payment on arrival. Cash machine nearby.
Picture of The City Suites, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay
I was pleasantly surprised with our apartment at City Suites, after reading some reviews I was prepared to be disappointed. The check in is at 4pm, we arrived in the morning and as parking in Edinburgh expensive we parked the car at the apartment, the bus terminus is right outside, we took the bus into the city centre. It's a no.10 bus (Lothian) if you buy an all day ticket at £3.50 you can go on and off their buses all day. We went back to check in at 4pm you have to pay in cash which is a bit inconvenient the man counted the money 3 or 4 times, it was as if he was uncertain and then took keys out a box and then changed keys 3 or 4 times, he then gave me a receipt plus the password for wifi. Our apartment was block 5 no 12, very spacious with one bedroom having ensuite and it was all very clean and tidy. There was tea,coffee small cartons of milk in fridge and there were towels folded on beds with a chocolate and bedding was clean and fresh. It did have quite an empty feel about it as all wooden floors and no rugs, easy kept I suppose. We could see the sea and port from the window. I suppose my only gripe is and why I didn't give it value for money is because I paid £210 for 1 night for 4 of us which I thought was too expensive. In the end we wanted to see Xmas market and we had a great time, I would use apartments again but only if I got a better deal as it is out of the city centre you would expect to pay less.

Reviewed by
P Lamb

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would recommend
nice comfortable stay close to city life

Reviewed by
G Wardlaw

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 day break to visit daughter at University
Good base for our stay. Although outside city there was a good bus service into Princes Street.
I was contacted before stay to tell me I'd have to pay in cash.
Apartment was great, only problem was 2 double beds (my teenage sons didn't want to share but we were able to get bedding and use the spare mattress that was in apartment.
Staff in office helpful and polite.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your honest review. Customer service is very important for us. We're very happy that you felt welcomed and that you have enjoyed your stay. Next time you can request to have two single beds rather than one double bed. The staff will be more than happy to help you. We look forward to welcome you and your family in the future. Kind Regards, The City Suites

Reviewed by
N Nokes

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tremendous value for money
There were some poor reviews but I only paid £60 and was given a top floor 3 bedroom apartment. Spotlessly clean but yes the soft furnishings need renewing. Plenty of nice soft towels, free tea bags, coffee and sugar. Stunning views. As single female felt very safe and secure here.

Reviewed by
Kate C

From Peterhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shopping trip to Edinburgh
Very spacious accommodation. Everything we needed except could do with full-length mirror in hallway as bathroom lights not great and mirrors hard to get close to when applying makeup (one above toilet). One picture on livingroom wall had nothing in it - perhaps take it down or put something in it would be better. This is not serious criticism just an observation. Bus service no. 10 to town centre very efficient but need to stock up on food for self catering before you arrive at apartment as it was a cold night on arrival for us and a 20 minute walk to Asda.

Reviewed by
D Ross

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very well used rooms, could do with new setee. Showers fine, kitchen fine. Mattresses are not the best but slept fine.

Reviewed by
R Hunter

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay again
Nice and spacious flat,for the money was great,we had friends and family over for meals plenty of space,it's not top end but fine for my needs !

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Apartment was looking lovely and although we booked 1 room we got 3! Signal on tv wasn't great but was nice as well wanted to spend quality time together! Also there was a DVD player for cosy film watching! Also asda was only a 5 min walk away! :)

Reviewed by
Adele D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alright for a night
Nice roomy apartment with a view of the city and all the equipment needed for cooking. Paying cash and not getting a receipt seemed a bit dodgy, and only just managed to scrape all our coins together! Apartment itself was a bit worn and some things seemed like shoddy workmanship when built but was fine for us for one night. Also no wifi. Overall it was OK and was very cheap, but would not be happy if paying any more!

Reviewed by
Jon A

From Bournemouth, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Suites Review
My husband, daughter and I stayed for 1 night at the City Suites Apartment complex. The apartment was beautiful with lovely views and the man who first received us was friendly and helpful.
The rooms were a good size and the furniture was very nice and comfortable, although if we had been staying more than 1 night we would probably have needed more than the 1 pillow each and the mattress could have been more comfortable.
The kitchen was well set out and supplied with all the cooking utensils needed.
Altogether, a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
debbie cooper

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next