No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bonnington Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
202 Ferry Rd, , , Edinburgh, EH6 4NW
Welcome to the Bonnington Guest House, a gracious, beautiful, listed, 3-storey Townhouse built in 1840 for a Leith sugar merchant. The Bonnington is an AA 4 yellow star [top 10% of 4 stars] family run Guest House offering quality bed and breakfast accommodation. We provide our customers with 7 rooms sleeping from 2 adults in our doubles/twins up to a maximum of 3 in our large triple rooms. Our easy to find location set back from Ferry road [A902] north of the city centre is a short walk from Leith, the Royal Yacht Britannia, Playhouse Theatre and Botanical Gardens. The excellent transport network on our doorstep means you can leave your car in our private off-road car-park and take a short bus or taxi ride to the city centre with ease. Offering you loads of places to go shop and visit, before calling it a day, and returning to our lovely accommodation, to relax. Please Note: Non-smoking. No pets permitted on the premises. No Takeaway Food allowed on the premises. No stag or hen parties allowed. Off street parking and private parking facilities . Check-in time: 12:00 Check-out time: 11:00. Latest check in 20:00 unless by prior arrangement.
Picture of Bonnington Guest House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great stay
Bonnington Guest House was well situated next to a park, near a bus stop and we were able to wal into Leith through the leafy Water of Leith pathway.
The proprietors were friendly and helpful, the room comfortable and well stocked with refreshments, and the breakfasts wide ranging and delicious - on offer was fruit, cereal, porridge, kippers, full cooked breakfast and more and the service excellent and friendly.

Reviewed by
Pippa MacKeith

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tattoo stay 2014
We didn't spend much time in the guest house as were out and about do much, we took the walkway into the town centre which was a lovely 50 min walk, the accommodation was very clean and I couldn't believe how quiet the house was! Breakfast was very nice although neither of us had a cooked breakfast the choice was great, the staff were friendly and very accommodating, would stay here again

Reviewed by
W Thomson

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant friendly atmosphere and good accommodation

Reviewed by
S Sutcliffe

From Shepton Mallet, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous friendly B & B
Spent 3 lovely days at The Bonnington Guest House. Not too far out of the city centre - just a bus ride from the end if the road. Good loaction for The Britannia Yacht and the Botanical Gardens, a really lovely seefood restaurant within walking distance too. The breakfasts at The Bonnignton are 1st class, would highy recommend the kippers - delicious

Reviewed by
Ann D

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B & B!
A friendly, family run B & B within easy reach of all the sights.
We had a lovely 2 night stay in this accommodation, the room ( number 3), had everything we needed, including complimentary bottled water and sherry! Our hosts were very welcoming and the breakfast, ( including kippers), very tasty.
From the Bonnington, it was easy to catch the number 11 bus into town, or take a leisurely stroll along the old railway line ( approx 30 mins).
We would highly recommend the Bonnington to anyone contemplating visiting Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
D S

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
A great base for exploring Edinburgh and Leith. Very helpful advice given from the owners about places to visit. Our room was spacious and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Adam C

From Beccles, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at Bonnington Guest House
We had the pleasure of spending three nights at the Bonnington Guest House. Although a bit far from the center of Edinburgh (a 30 minutes’ walk, we found out, as the busses only accept direct charge). But busses arrive and depart close from Bonnington Guest House, so it is really easy to get around.
We were out most of the time but when we were home – at our room at night or having delicious breakfast in the morning, we really enjoyed the stay. Good and very friendly service, wonderful room which all in all helped us having a great time in Edinburgh. We can really recommend the Bonnington Guest House.
Best regards
Trine & Andreas from Denmark

Reviewed by
Andreas Bech

From Køge, Denmark
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best of both Worlds
Situated mid way between Edinburgh city centre & the coast, this is an ideal location. Hop on the well run bus service to the port or city in minutes. The rooms offer old world charm with modern facilities inbuilt. The excellent breakfast has something to suit everyone. The kippers are a must try! Gill's personal touches & high standard presentation makes for a great stay in every way - much appreciated.

Reviewed by
Mark D

From Huntingdon, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little guesthouse
We stayed at the bonnington for four nights whilst we did the Edinburgh marathon. Gill was extremely welcoming and helpful. The room was adequate and fulfilled our needs. The stay was made special by the extra little touches including the sherry in the room, the amazing breakfast and the effort they went to with a birthday breakfast! Thank you for making our stay so special and being so welcoming, excellent customer service goes a long way!

Reviewed by
M Boyle

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely fantastic guesthouse!
Absolutely fantastic guesthouse!

Reviewed by
A Gorge

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next