Reviews - Bonnington Guest House


202 Ferry Rd, ,, Edinburgh, EH6 4NW

Price From 179.87 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • D Ogden

  • April 2015

Very good room, very big room, the food was very nice and the staff helpful and friendly.

Easy to get too the centre of edinburgh.

  • Pippa MacKeith

  • September 2014

A great stay

Bonnington Guest House was well situated next to a park, near a bus stop and we were able to wal into Leith through the leafy Water of Leith pathway.

The proprietors were friendly and helpful, the room comfortable and well stocked with refreshments, and the breakfasts wide ranging and delicious - on offer was fruit, cereal, porridge, kippers, full cooked breakfast and more and the service excellent and friendly.

  • S Sutcliffe

  • August 2014

Very pleasant friendly atmosphere and good accommodation

  • Ann D

  • August 2014

Fabulous friendly B & B

Spent 3 lovely days at The Bonnington Guest House.

Not too far out of the city centre - just a bus ride from the end if the road. Good loaction for The Britannia Yacht and the Botanical Gardens, a really lovely seefood restaurant within walking distance too. The breakfasts at The Bonnignton are 1st class, would highy recommend the kippers - delicious

  • W Thomson

  • August 2014

Tattoo stay 2014

We didn't spend much time in the guest house as were out and about do much, we took the walkway into the town centre which was a lovely 50 min walk, the accommodation was very clean and I couldn't believe how quiet the house was.

Breakfast was very nice although neither of us had a cooked breakfast the choice was great, the staff were friendly and very accommodating, would stay here again

  • Andreas Bech

  • August 2014

Great stay at Bonnington Guest House

We had the pleasure of spending three nights at the Bonnington Guest House.

Although a bit far from the center of Edinburgh (a 30 minutes’ walk, we found out, as the busses only accept direct charge). But busses arrive and depart close from Bonnington Guest House, so it is really easy to get around.

We were out most of the time but when we were home – at our room at night or having delicious breakfast in the morning, we really enjoyed the stay. Good and very friendly service, wonderful room which all in all helped us having a great time in Edinburgh. We can really recommend the Bonnington Guest House. Best regards

Trine & Andreas from Denmark

  • D S

  • August 2014

Excellent B & B!

A friendly, family run B & B within easy reach of all the sights.

We had a lovely 2 night stay in this accommodation, the room ( number 3), had everything we needed, including complimentary bottled water and sherry. Our hosts were very welcoming and the breakfast, ( including kippers), very tasty.

From the Bonnington, it was easy to catch the number 11 bus into town, or take a leisurely stroll along the old railway line ( approx 30 mins).

We would highly recommend the Bonnington to anyone contemplating visiting Edinburgh.

  • Adam C

  • August 2014

Great location

A great base for exploring Edinburgh and Leith.

Very helpful advice given from the owners about places to visit. Our room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Mark D

  • June 2014

Best of both Worlds

Situated mid way between Edinburgh city centre & the coast, this is an ideal location.

Hop on the well run bus service to the port or city in minutes. The rooms offer old world charm with modern facilities inbuilt. The excellent breakfast has something to suit everyone. The kippers are a must try. Gill's personal touches & high standard presentation makes for a great stay in every way - much appreciated.

  • M Boyle

  • May 2014

Great little guesthouse

We stayed at the bonnington for four nights whilst we did the Edinburgh marathon.

Gill was extremely welcoming and helpful. The room was adequate and fulfilled our needs. The stay was made special by the extra little touches including the sherry in the room, the amazing breakfast and the effort they went to with a birthday breakfast. Thank you for making our stay so special and being so welcoming, excellent customer service goes a long way.