No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bonnington Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
202 Ferry Rd, , , Edinburgh, EH6 4NW
Welcome to the Bonnington Guest House, a gracious, beautiful, listed, 3-storey Townhouse built in 1840 for a Leith sugar merchant. The Bonnington is an AA 4 yellow star [top 10% of 4 stars] family run Guest House offering quality bed and breakfast accommodation. We provide our customers with 7 rooms sleeping from 2 adults in our doubles/twins up to a maximum of 3 in our large triple rooms. Our easy to find location set back from Ferry road [A902] north of the city centre is a short walk from Leith, the Royal Yacht Britannia, Playhouse Theatre and Botanical Gardens. The excellent transport network on our doorstep means you can leave your car in our private off-road car-park and take a short bus or taxi ride to the city centre with ease. Offering you loads of places to go shop and visit, before calling it a day, and returning to our lovely accommodation, to relax. Please Note: Non-smoking. No pets permitted on the premises. No Takeaway Food allowed on the premises. No stag or hen parties allowed. Off street parking and private parking facilities . Check-in time: 12:00 Check-out time: 11:00. Latest check in 20:00 unless by prior arrangement.
Picture of Bonnington Guest House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely fantastic guesthouse!
Absolutely fantastic guesthouse!

Reviewed by
A Gorge

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic guest house with lovely feel
I really enjoyed my stay here! The staff were very helpful, arranging for a key to be left for me as i was arriving after midnight and making sure we were settled in! The room was very clean and facilities were brilliant. Would 100% recommend this guest house and would defintely stay here again.

Reviewed by
C Easton

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Edinburgh Experience
We LOVED this guest house. Lovely welcome, spacious room, very clean and a lovely touch with the decanter of Sherry (although we did not use it!). We had not been to Edinburgh for a while so we bought an allday bus pass (bustop 5 mins walk away)and just HAD to do the castle. Fantastic, used the headphones with the commentary which we were glad we did as it gave so much more info than just walking round, it took about 3 hours. Also visited the Botanical Gardens which were so interesting, paricularly the glasshouse. We climbed up Capital Hill (just!) and the view over Edinburgh was spectacular, another must see. On our last night we took the bus into the city centre - great atmosphere, great bars, great food, All in all we had a great weekend and would certainly recommend Bonnington Guest House.

Reviewed by
B HILL

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Accommodation
Lovely large room, comfortable and quiet. Excellent location. Very friendly owners. Great base for a break in Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
Jayne S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Experience!
Our stay was perfect!! The room was huge and accommodated my family perfectly. It is a cab ride or bus ride away from the city center, but it was excellent place to stay after a full day. The breakfast in the morning was awesome!! The best breakfast that we have had at a B&B. I would stay again if we visit the city again.

Reviewed by
J Ianni

From USA
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was clean & tidy & well laid out with all facilities to be expected in the room. The breakfast was excellent & served in a pleasant & friendly manner.

Reviewed by
r ferguson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great base to see Edinburgh
Jill very welcoming and informative on area, buses,etc. Beautifully large bedroom, top quality

Reviewed by
David R

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay - would reccomend
I stayed at the Bonnington recenty and was very pleased with the whole experience. As a single woman travelling on business I appreciate staying at smaller hotels and guest houses rather than large chains. I prefer the atmosphere and associated safety of small private venues. The Bonnington fullfilled this and offered great accommodation, customer service and the breakfast was delicious. The staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough to help, I will definately stay again when in Edinburgh and can only recommend for those wishing a quality and value for money experience.

Reviewed by
Jean J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay over following a wedding
Warm family friendly service. Great communication. Room was amazing and the breakfast wow !!!!. Great experience thankyou... Travellers from Liverpool

Reviewed by
A Eyres

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2