No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crioch Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Crioch Guest House, 23 East Hermitage Place, Leith Links, Edinburgh, EH6 8AD
CRIOCH means 'The end of a long journey' and where better to relax than here with Dora and James at Crioch Guest House - awarded 3 star Guest House by VisitScotland. Rated on TripAdvisor. The house dates from 1874 with original ornate plaster cornicing and warmly decorated throughout. There is unrestricted FREE PARKING on the street and you can catch the bus to the centre (less than 2 miles / 3km) from right outside the house - bus 25 or 12. Facilities: 5 rooms with en-suite shower and toilet, 1 room with private bathroom and shower. Accommodation in single, double, twin and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All rooms have television, welcome tray with tea/coffee/drinking chocolate and biscuits, hairdryer and central heating. Iron and ironing board available. Crioch overlooks the park of Leith Links, where the original Leith rules of golf originated. There are many excellent restaurants and bars nearby, and the Royal Yacht Britannia is only 1.5 miles (2.5km) away. Crioch is an ideal base to enjoy the magic of Edinburgh, the beautiful historic capital city of Scotland with many great places to visit. On a fine day, try a city tour on an opened-topped bus - you can get on and off as many times as you like. Linger in Princes Street Gardens, soak up the festival vibe on the Mound, or go shopping in George Street. Edinburgh Castle sits impressively looking over Princes Street, with fantastic panoramic views across the River Forth to Fife. Take a walk down the cobbled street of the Royal Mile, explore the narrow closes (alleys) and old buildings like Gladstone's Land (1620), St. Giles Cathedral (1400s) and John Knox's House (1490) until you reach the Palace of Holyrood House where the Queen stays when she visits Edinburgh. Don't miss a walk up to Salisbury Crags in Holyrood Park, where your reward is a great view over the city. Don't forget the excellent National Museum on Chambers Street, as well as many other galleries, museums, monuments and parks.
Picture of Crioch Guest House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ticks all the boxes!
After looking around for ages trying to find a good value place to stay for a couple of nights we found The Crioch. It already had good reviews and lived up to these. We parked the car outside and left it there until leaving. The bus stop is on the door step and a reliable service took us everywhere we needed. James was an excellent host and made us more than welcome. A spotless guest house with en suite and lovely breakfast. No need to keep looking - this ticks all the right boxes!

Reviewed by
P M

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay
Owners were nice. Room was nice and quiet and bed comfortable. Was a bit disappointed that the price did not include breakfast as I thought it did when I booked. It was not made clear on website. Really strange tap in ensuite. Only one tap which went from cold water to hot water on turning. Bottled drinking water, in the room, might be a nice touch.

Reviewed by
V Mackie

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at a very reasonable price
Owners were very helpful, printing off boarding passes and giving advice on travel around the city

Reviewed by
A Rogers

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Consideration and Comfort
Thank you for such a lovely and comfortable room. I also really appreciated the kind and helpful approach from finding out bus times to providing breakfast promptly to fit in with my schedule.
All in all a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
K Scanlan

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crioch
We had an amazing trip to Edinburgh made even better by the hospitality and kindness of James and Dora at Crioch. The guesthouse is immaculate and they are happy to help with anything from directions and advise around travel to room and homely comforts.
We would not hesitate to staying here again and would highly recommend Crioch to anyone from single traveller to familys and couples staying here for your trip to Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
Sophie C

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Phenomenal customer service and quality accommodation. Worth every penny!
Stayed for Hogmanay celebrations over New Years and James was very helpful in providing us with a wealth of information regarding events and transport links during the festivities. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were astounded how brilliant everything was, from the conditions of the rooms and breakfast room to the persistent smiling and helpfulness of the owner. I have never had such A-class hospitality and words cannot cover how brilliant I thought James and his wife are. We started the New Year in a place that felt as comfortable and warm as a home from home!

Reviewed by
Toni K

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb
A last minute booking, so honestly wasn't expecting much. But was thrilled with quality on all fronts. Warm service and very family friendly. To quote my three year old "I really like our new home"

Reviewed by
Ashley D

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Bed & Breakfast
This is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are beautiful. The hosts are very knowledgable and accomodating.

Reviewed by
Lisa O'Rourke

From Akron, USA
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely stay!
I have stayed in this guest house for four days, and really enjoyed it. The house was immaculate, the breakfast fresh and very good quality, and the couple running the house, James and Dora, the most genuine, helpful, generous, welcoming and professional people. In fact t I was even offered a nice umbrella when I realized I forgot mine at home... A real breath of fresh air!
Would I stay there again? No doubt I would. And I would not mind having to take my outside shoes off again; it was all so worth it!
Many thanks to James and Dora once again for their hospitality.

Reviewed by
Elena G

From Tarporley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay, while visiting edinburgh
Lovely friendly guest house, fantasticly clean accomidation.
Idealy transport links to the city, also within walking distance.
Fantastic first experience of Scotland.

Reviewed by
Kim Williams

From East Cowes, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next