Reviews - Bothwell Bridge Hotel


89, Main Street Bothwell, Glasgow, G71 8EU

Price From 177.53 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (105)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Lewis Clark

  • January 2015

Good value for money, shame about the WiFi.

For a cheap hotel, this was pretty good (I paid 55 quid, including breakfast).

I was in room 110 which does need a furniture update. The wardrobe looked like it came from Oxfam. Comfy bed, reasonable bathroom, good TV (no Sky though). The location is excellent, with lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance. Breakfast met expectations. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bizarre route through function room that looked like it had a hangover from a previous weekend's party. On Tuesday there were still half empty glasses lying around. The biggest complaint is with the Wifi, which although free, had very poor coverage from my room. I had one bar on my iphone and a bit more from the bathroom. The connection would frequently drop out completely so I couldn't use FaceTime at all. Also, the door handle also felt like it would come off in my hand at any time. If the WiFi was sorted out, I would recommend it, but until then..

  • A Bolden

  • January 2015

Great for business travellers

Nice hotel in an easy to access location, close to Glasgow and motorways.

Service was efficient rather than friendly, but good nonetheless. Had room service for an evening meal as I was working. This was delivered promptly and was a good quality from a reasonable room service menu (hot meals as well as snacks). Breakfast was a self-select buffet. Quality was ok but you were not encouraged to linger. Would happily stay again.

  • David T

  • January 2015

Location very good with ample car-parking

Room comfortable, clean and warm

Food very good

Staff friendly and helpful

I will return.

  • Elizabeth M

  • December 2014

Lovely room

Very nice room and very quiet.

Breakfast was very nice. My husband had a meal in hotel which wasn't very nice, but they did deal with it.

  • V Owen

  • December 2014

Warm pleasant welcome

Warm pleasant welcome which was needed as arrived during a storm.

Fast & efficient check in. large, clean rooms. Good value for money

  • Yvonne P

  • November 2014

excellent breakfast

lovely stay- comfortable room, and bed -excellent breakfast

  • W Smith

  • November 2014

Friendly staff but the hotel was a bit tired

  • n redfern

  • November 2014

Welcoming Hotel

I have used the hotel on numerous occasions and have always found it good value and very welcoming.

  • john rutherford

  • October 2014

Great Place


  • Jill S

  • October 2014

Horrendous from start to finish

I would highly recommend that you pick somewhere else to stay if you're looking at this hotel - even a tent would be better and that's from someone that hates camping!.

The hotel looks good from the outside, but like the old adage says 'never judge a book by it's cover'. Inside the hotel is tired and in some places quite grubby looking. The reception staff on check in were reasonably polite although when we asked how long the music for the wedding would be going on for, the answer was a bit when we got to our room and discovered that we were right above the wedding party, we weren't very happy and come midnight we phoned down to reception to find out when the music would be stopping, we were assured it would be didn't. The breakfast in the morning was ok, not great though and the toast was burnt - but then so was everyones from looking around... The following night after we'd come back from a long day, our hearts dropped as we saw that there was another wedding taking place - this time with a live band!. The same thing occured although the music went on later and came through the floor even more due to it being a live act - my bed even vibrated at one point. Also the guest were constantly walking up and down outside our rooms and banging bedroom doors - it was really peaceful!. We then had the delights in the morning of being woken up by the guy in the next room being violently ill. I can not tell you how thin the walls are in this place, but the fact that I could quite easily talk to him through them should tell you something.

When we checked out we did complain to the staff on reception who were incredibly rude and said that we should have asked to have been moved, which we did do after the first awful night and were told that there were no alternatives available. The woman behind reception looked at us very with such scorn my friend and I were quite taken aback.

Like I said at the start, the hotel was horrendous from start to finish and I've never encountered such rude and unhelpful reception staff - the worst part being that it wasn't just one woman - it was all of them!. Stay somewhere else!!!