Reviews - St Bernards House


22 St Bernards Crescent, ,, Edinburgh, EH4 1NS

Price From 106.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (36)

58% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality



  • June 2015

just ok.

not so fantastic, but manageable, if al you want is a place to rest your head.

  • Denise Mc Court

  • April 2015

not to book this place

room small.

window felt like it was open all the time, needs to be fixed. slanted roof no good if your tall, keep banging my head.

  • A White

  • March 2015

St Bernards House

In a good location but very dated.

Fine if you are just sleeping there.

  • A Dravarics

  • January 2015

St Bernards House

The hostel was just next to the center about 15 min walk.Nice, quiet placentre,the price was good.

  • peter green

  • January 2015



  • kim h

  • January 2015

Basic but great for price paid

We spent £39 for the double on suite room for one night on a Saturday which was brilliant.

The hotel room was quite small and basic but for £39 it was exactly what we wanted. We weren't looking for anything special and it was only for one night. It was very clean compared to what I was expecting due to previous reviews left stating it was dirty so I was happy with what I found. It was about a 10 minute walk from the main shops but being a young couple we enjoyed the walk into the town. We would definitely stay here again if the price is the same or of a similar amount but if higher than £50 for one night then we wouldn't . We didn't have the breakfast so I can't comment.

  • Colin D

  • December 2014

Good if you just need a bed for a few nights, but overall pretty grubby.

On arrival, I was asked for my driver's licence & passport details, neither of which I had.

I was charged £3 for Wi-Fi, even though the signal didn't reach our room. Our room was the size of a cupboard & had barely any walking room, but it was mostly clean when we arrived. The room was up three flights of spiralling stairs, covered with very dangerously loose carpet that looked as though it had been old when it was new. We were provided with no 'Do Not Disturb' sign, something other rooms seemed to have. The window was very old & constantly sounded as though it was wide open. The bathroom was a grubby communal one, which looked as though it had never been cleaned. We had to ask for more towels & for replacement toilet roll. Over the three nights that we were staying, neither our room or the bathroom were cleaned. The housekeeper chapped our door once, & because we were still in the room at the time, never returned. On the bright side, all staff were polite enough when we saw them, & to be honest, you get what you pay for. This place is fine if you just need a bed for a few nights as we did. However, if you're looking for a proper holiday or relaxing stay, I'd steer well clear of this & fork out a little extra for an actual hotel.

  • R Whitney

  • December 2014

Good place to stay

Staff friendly and obliging, room and ensuite perfectly clean, bed very comfortable.

Had an undisturbed good night's sleep. Only mild niggle was that the radiator needed bleeding, though even so the room was adequately warm on a cold night (had been snowing earlier) and the receptionist obligingly serched for a radiator key when I mentioned it...

  • Philip M

  • November 2014

Friendly wee B and B

Arrived at St bear bards house in the evening to a friendly host and hostess .

Was given all the relative details and was given the use of a micro wave to reheat my dinner and shown to a very clean and tidy wee room with tea and coffee facility's, comfy bed and a decent shower in the morning. lovely place to stay in the dean village in Edinburgh would stay again 😃

  • D Shaw

  • November 2014

St Bernards House Hotel

Convenient to the city centre ,quiet ,in a good area