No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St Bernards House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
22 St Bernards Crescent, , , Edinburgh, EH4 1NS
The St. Bernards Guest House occupies a charming Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh’s Stockbridge area, a short 10 min walk from George street and Princes Street in the city centre .

It offers 14 sumptuously decorated rooms. All come complete with tea/coffee making facilities, a hair dryer, a TV and Wi-Fi connection at an £3.00 extra charge .Continental Buffet breakfast is served every day at an extra cost of £5.00 per person per day.

The property provides luggage storage for guests' convenience.

St. Bernards Guest House is a stone’s throw from Edinburgh’s Royal Botanic Garden. There are several restaurants, a theatre, art galleries and shops in the local area, including on Raeburn Place, the Stockbridge area’s main commercial thoroughfare.

Edinburgh Castle and Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) can be reached in about 20 minutes on foot, and a bus stops 50 metres away.
Picture of St Bernards House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fairly average place, actually

Reviewed by
Peter Metcalfe,

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St Bernardr
Nice and cental.Impressive building,were offered a continental breakfast but decided to eat out.Would use again.

Reviewed by
Andrea G

From Fraserburgh, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location was a little too far from the city centre. Parking was only available from 5:30 PM -8:00 AM.
Very basic and dated. Our room was very clean and spacious, bathroom very small. No face cloths provided. Staff were very accommodating and helpful.

Reviewed by
Rhonda Lombardo

From Canada
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was tidy , linen clean,Old fashioned .The whole place could do with revamp, Shower cubicle was all mould and smelt of damp

Reviewed by
k tracey

From South Queensferry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St Bernard's
Hotel location was with I reasonable walking distance to city centre.
Only downfall to the hotel was you can hear the occupants in next room flushing the toilet

Reviewed by
I Howieson

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St Bernard's House
The reviews I read about this accommodation were not always favourable so I was pleasantly surprised to find myself quite satisfied with my room. It was clean and tidy. I stayed over a weekend and was not bothered by any noise from the street or other rooms. The decore certainly is somewhat dated with rugs a bit thread bare and curtains in need of an upgrade but that did not bother me. I enjoyed the continental breakfast - it was filling and had lots of variety. If you are looking for an affordable accommodation in a convenient part of Edinburgh, then this can work for you.

Reviewed by
Jan T

From Canada
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I don't take pleasure in complaining however on arrival, there was a clump of hair and faeces marks in the toilet which was disgusting. We then didn't have a window that was in good enough condition to open and paid £5 for continental breakfast which didn't even include any cooked food!

Reviewed by
H Smith

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap not cheerful
Dirty net curtain just about hanging up at the window. Not been dusted in a while. Get what you pay for, not a lot.

Reviewed by
K Laird

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paying for location
A few complications at check in which meant it took longer than it should've. The room was very basic and the bathroom which looked fairly new smelt strongly of damp. The tv was on a bracket on the wall sat squint and couldn't b repositioned. This made viewing tv interesting!! The light on the wall was exactly the same. Poor upkeep. Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't stay here again.

Reviewed by
Laura M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing abd

Reviewed by
S Goodway

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next