No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St Bernards House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
22 St Bernards Crescent, , , Edinburgh, EH4 1NS
The St. Bernards Guest House occupies a charming Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh’s Stockbridge area, a short 10 min walk from George street and Princes Street in the city centre .

It offers 14 sumptuously decorated rooms. All come complete with tea/coffee making facilities, a hair dryer, a TV and Wi-Fi connection at an £3.00 extra charge .Continental Buffet breakfast is served every day at an extra cost of £5.00 per person per day.

The property provides luggage storage for guests' convenience.

St. Bernards Guest House is a stone’s throw from Edinburgh’s Royal Botanic Garden. There are several restaurants, a theatre, art galleries and shops in the local area, including on Raeburn Place, the Stockbridge area’s main commercial thoroughfare.

Edinburgh Castle and Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) can be reached in about 20 minutes on foot, and a bus stops 50 metres away.
Picture of St Bernards House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but great for price paid
We spent £39 for the double on suite room for one night on a Saturday which was brilliant. The hotel room was quite small and basic but for £39 it was exactly what we wanted. We weren't looking for anything special and it was only for one night. It was very clean compared to what I was expecting due to previous reviews left stating it was dirty so I was happy with what I found. It was about a 10 minute walk from the main shops but being a young couple we enjoyed the walk into the town. We would definitely stay here again if the price is the same or of a similar amount but if higher than £50 for one night then we wouldn't . We didn't have the breakfast so I can't comment.

Reviewed by
kim h

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NICE LITTLE ROOM
OUR ROOM WAS ALL WE NEEDED,WITH A CLEAN PRIVATE BATHROOM NEARBY WITH PLENTY OF SOAPS ETC .

Reviewed by
peter green

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good if you just need a bed for a few nights, but overall pretty grubby.
On arrival, I was asked for my driver's licence & passport details, neither of which I had. I was charged £3 for Wi-Fi, even though the signal didn't reach our room. Our room was the size of a cupboard & had barely any walking room, but it was mostly clean when we arrived. The room was up three flights of spiralling stairs, covered with very dangerously loose carpet that looked as though it had been old when it was new. We were provided with no 'Do Not Disturb' sign, something other rooms seemed to have. The window was very old & constantly sounded as though it was wide open. The bathroom was a grubby communal one, which looked as though it had never been cleaned. We had to ask for more towels & for replacement toilet roll. Over the three nights that we were staying, neither our room or the bathroom were cleaned. The housekeeper chapped our door once, & because we were still in the room at the time, never returned.
On the bright side, all staff were polite enough when we saw them, & to be honest, you get what you pay for. This place is fine if you just need a bed for a few nights as we did. However, if you're looking for a proper holiday or relaxing stay, I'd steer well clear of this & fork out a little extra for an actual hotel.

Reviewed by
Colin D

From Airdrie, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay
Staff friendly and obliging, room and ensuite perfectly clean, bed very comfortable. Had an undisturbed good night's sleep. Only mild niggle was that the radiator needed bleeding, though even so the room was adequately warm on a cold night (had been snowing earlier) and the receptionist obligingly serched for a radiator key when I mentioned it...

Reviewed by
R Whitney

From Welford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly wee B and B
Arrived at St bear bards house in the evening to a friendly host and hostess ! Was given all the relative details and was given the use of a micro wave to reheat my dinner and shown to a very clean and tidy wee room with tea and coffee facility's, comfy bed and a decent shower in the morning! lovely place to stay in the dean village in Edinburgh would stay again 😃

Reviewed by
Philip M

From Perth,, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St Bernards House Hotel
Convenient to the city centre ,quiet ,in a good area

Reviewed by
D Shaw

From Newtownards, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of stay
In spite of the low-ish marks, I still think this is good value for money for someone looking for a budget stay..... But I saw no evidence of 'self-catering' (?!) as described on the website. .....And why did the receptionist say my bathroom had a lock when it didn't? Did she understand the question? ....The dining room in uninspring and I wouldn't have breakfast there, but there's lovely little 'village', Stockbridge, a stone's throw away with great restaurants; book a table if you're eating out at the weekend. I bought a good breakfast at the Sainsbury's.

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very quiet place, lovely room and not too far a walk to City centre. Very clean, would stay again!

Reviewed by
Alysha M

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Neighborhood Feel
This hotel was reasonably priced and was located in a very interesting, residential neighborhood. Plenty of nearby stores for picking up snacks. Rather long walk to the center of town but passed by parks and restaurants. Room was clean but very small. Limited internet access.

Reviewed by
MaryAnn W

From Albuquerque, USA
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fairly average place, actually

Reviewed by
Peter Metcalfe,

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next