Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Auld Reekie Tours Hotels > Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

4Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
217 High Street The Royal Mile, Edinburgh, EH1 1PE
On Edinburgh’s Royal Mile, these stylish 4-star apartments with free Wi-Fi are surrounded by tourist attractions. Centrally located, Edinburgh Waverley Rail Station is just 5 minutes’ walking distance.

Stay Edinburgh City Apartments offer fully furnished luxurious apartments with stylish open plan lounge and dining areas. Features include a flat-screen satellite TV and DVD player and leather sofas.

A modern fully fitted kitchen allows self-catering, and there are spacious bedrooms and luxury tiled bathrooms. Linen and towels are supplied weekly.

Princes Street Gardens, with Edinburgh Castle, is just a 10-minute walk. Many restaurants and bars nearby, and Edinburgh’s main shopping area, Princes Street, is only 5 minutes away on foot.
Please note that this property has several locations. Guests are kindly requested to check in at the Central Reception address stated on the booking confirmation.

Reception is open from 10:00 until 19:00. Apartments will be ready from 15:00 but you will be able to leave your bags in the apartment as it its being cleaned.
Guests arriving outside reception opening hours must inform the hotel at time of booking.
If arriving after 19:00, your keys will be placed in a security box outside our reception, the hotel will advise you of the check in procedure when they know your arrival time.

At check-in, you will need photo ID and a credit/debit card for pre-authorisation.

If you have trouble with stairs please inform the hotel in advance and we will do our best to allocate you a lower floor flat or an apartment with a lift

Picture of Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
The location of the apartments was excellent, right smack bang on the Royal mile within short walking distance of everything you need. The staff are friendly and very welcoming, and there is lots of information about places to go etc in the apartments themselves. The only downside was our taxi transfer to knockhill racetrack organised by Stay Edinburgh on the Sunday was 40 mins late so we missed the first race, although this was communicated to us, the staff were very apologetic and we were allowed to stay in our apartment until it arrived, however it was a good job it wasnt a transfer to the airport as we may have missed our flight :)

Reviewed by
Sam S

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Great location in town centre at walking distance from all the main attraction. Reccomended

Reviewed by
Marco Bernocchi

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location at the heart of Edinburgh city centre. A little nervous about checking in below a gift shop, and then being led up an adjacent flight of stone stairs, but the apartment was fantastic!!!

Reviewed by
Paul V

From Cowbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Great accomodation right in the centre of Edinburgh. Very clean, plenty of space and customer service was excellent.

Reviewed by
Gillian E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic apartment right on the Royal Mile
Beautiful, well kept apartment with terrific views! Had lots of lovely touches including treats on arrival. The staff were excellent and showed us to the apartment and explained all extra information. The information book in the apartment was very good, it included directions and phone numbers to restaurants, attractions and much more. The only slight downside was having to climb 92 stairs (after a couple of climbs I had to count!) to the apartment... Not for the faint hearted or the heavily intoxicated! The views from the top were more than worth it though! I've already passed the information about these apartments onto several friends and we can't wait to come back!

Reviewed by
Rachel L

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised
Never stayed with this company before but very happy with the accomodation. Perfect location, beautiful apartment with everything you need. Self catering but shops are less than a minute away. Beware that some apartments are up a lot of stairs but ours was well worth the climb! Would love to stay here again!

Reviewed by
jessica f

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
The reception staff was friendly and professional. They put me into a bigger flat than I had originally booked, so I had four bedrooms and three bathrooms to choose from! The rooms were all nice and clean.
The kitchen had everything I needed, though some of the utensils had not been cleaned properly by the previous guests (so you may have to check that before buying food).
The living room and eating space were really comfortable and quite big as well in the four bedroom flat.
Because the flat is right next to the Royal Mile, you can generally hear people down on the street. This did not generally bother me because my bedroom was farther away and quiet, but you may want to check with the office if you absolutely need your quiet at night.

Reviewed by
Lisa K

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great loccation and value for money!
Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights and were in apartment 10 which was right at the top of the spiral staircase. I had read previous reviews and emailed the apartments to which they promptly replied with a link to the pictures of the apartment which we were happy with. Although for us the stairs were not an issue I would advise to check with apartments if this would be a problem for you. Apartment its self was great and had everything we needed, although small issue of shower base filling up too quick so had to have quick showers! great location right on royal mile perfect for getting around to main places of interest. Would definitly reccomend

Reviewed by
Lucy B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for price paid
Got 3 nights for price of 2 which was good. This was a fair price. The check in office was easy enough to find following directions emailed to us. The apartment block was well positioned for exploring Edinburgh. To be honest, if there was pictures of the apartment building on the website then I would never have booked this place, the building was scruffy, dark and smelled of damp, so uninviting I felt a little vulnerable there! Once through the building The apartment gave good first impressions but on looking a little closer was a bit scruffy. Draw doors falling off, paint chipped off walls etc. The bed was 2 singles pushed together which isn't unusual. It was comfortable apart from the pillows, I dread to think how long they've been on that bed, totally flat! Bathroom was big and clean but shower lacked power! Overall this apartment was ok, good enough for what we wanted, a base for exploring the city. But don't be fooled by the nice pictures and the website calling them 'luxury', this is far from luxury but then I guess you would be silly to think you'd get real luxury for £140 for 3 nights!

Reviewed by
Z Blight

From Wallingford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely apartment,great value and location, would certainly stay here again.
Our apartment was right over the gift shop, the apartment was really nice and location great, near the Castle, town and pubs .A lovely apartment good value for money would certainly recommend it.

Reviewed by
jacqueline hancox

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next