No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - West End Apartments

4Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
2, Learmonth Terrace , Edinburgh, EH4 1PQ
West End Apartments is a family business and one of the pioneers of quality self-catering accommodation in Edinburgh. Since opening in 1982, we have built up an enviable reputation with discerning visitors worldwide, many of whom return year after year. These spacious and stylish 1 and 2 bedroom apartments form part of an elegant Victorian town house located in Edinburgh's World Heritage Site, less than a 10 minute walk from Princes Street.

Picture of West End Apartments, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Victorian Splendour.
I was born in Edinburgh so knew the area the apartment was in. The apartment is only a 10 minute walk from the West End of Princess Street so a perfect location for visiting Edinburgh which must be the prettiest city in Britain. The apartment was one of four in what had been a grand Victorian family house and parking for up to 3 cars is included. We had a one bed apartment on the ground floor. The rooms were huge with large windows and high decorated ceilings. The rooms were very nicely furnished with a modern kithchen area in the large lounge. The bed was a King size with high quality bedding. There was even a bidet in the bathroom which is very unusual in the UK and also a washing machine. There was everything we required for a 3 night stay and would recommend this apartment as an ideal place to stay when visiting Edinburgh

Reviewed by
George Y

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Apartment in perfect location
Brian was a very friendly host and his welcome basket was very much appreciated. He took the time to show us around the apartment, how the appliances worked and offered advice on places to eat and tips on buses. The apartment was very comfortable, spacious and clean. Location was in a lovely part of Edinburgh with access to Dean gardens and just a ten minute walk to Princes Street. Perfect stay, thank you.

Reviewed by
M Park

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long Weekend with the Family in the Easter Hols
We had high expectations from the photos of the accommodation and the other reviews but we were still very impressed with the apartment and how well it was appointed. Our only concern was the level of noise from the traffic, as we are used to a country setting. But this was not a problem at all. One suggestion would be to have a detailed local map in the welcome pack showing the location of grocers, butchers, supermarkets etc as the directions we were given were not clear.

Reviewed by
Ben L

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb location!
Superb apartment!
Will most definately return in the future!
One tip which we found unusual a few restaurants we tried to eat in we're not licensed for children, one as early as after 5pm!

Reviewed by
N Collins

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived and was met by Brian, the owner, who was very helpful and friendly. Apartment was clean spacious and had everything we needed. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
andrew crowe

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location; excellent rooms and furnishings; friendly welcome
We were a couple accompanied by our son and daughter-in-law and their baby daughter. The accommodation was all we could wish for and the location convenient for both shopping and sightseeing. We were made very welcome.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Petyt

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh Break
Nice place to stay very clean, local to town centre and very friendly host.

Reviewed by
k ahmed

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin!
We were a group of 4 adults and 2 children (a 1 year old girl and a 13 year old boy).
Bryan couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The staff were cheery and helpful. The apartment (The Peploe) was more than we hoped for, spacious, everything we needed for a 3 day stay. The information freely available was accurate, helpful and easy to understand. Thank-you Bryan for making a special family time very special. Great position for a 'touristy' type break made even better by the quality of the accommodation and Bryan's patience and helpfulness.

Reviewed by
John McMillan

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful weekend break
We are a family of 4 with children, 15 and 11.
Wanted a base near centre of Edinburgh, it is just over a 10 min walk but there is a bus stop outside apartments.
Apartments were beautiful, tall ceilings, wonderful shutters for inside of windows, lovely fresh decor. A little welcome pack provided with shortbread, chocolate, crossaints and marmalade and also milk, juice, tea and coffee......this was very thoughtful. It was these little extras that made the difference.
The owner was very helpful going through local attractions, how to get there and where local shops were.
We only stayed for 3 days and didn't want to leave. Would Definately recommend these apartments.

Reviewed by
S Critchley

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh Fun
Great location, not too far from the city centre. Great to be able to cook if the feeling takes you rather than having to rely on restaurants or poorly made hotel food, or even just have stuff in the fridge. Much more spacious than any hotel room you'll get, and you have the benefit of 2 full bathrooms.

Reviewed by
Stuart B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next