Reviews - West End Apartments


2 Learmouth Terrace, ,, Edinburgh, EH4 1PQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (18)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Room quality


  • Patrick Ewing

  • July 2015

A Real Gem! A proper Home from Home!

A very warm and friendly welcome from the owner.

A perfectly stocked fridge and welcome basket, thank you. The accommodation really is first class, spotlessly clean and very user-friendly, such a comfortable bed and a bathroom you could dance in. Living/dining/kitchen very spacious too. TV and radio to suit any taste. Convenient for Princes Street and the rest of the city centre, all within easy walking distance. Secure and secluded parking in the rear of the property was an essential requirement for us. Hardly moved the car at all during our visit. Would recommend without hesitation and we'll certainly come back. Thank you so much.

  • A Day

  • June 2015

Excellent value for a family

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband, parents and 2 year old.

Very spacious accomodation, maintained to a high standard. Even room for when family with 2 kids came to visit for an hour. The manager Bryan was very helpful.

  • Hannah F

  • March 2015

Wonderful family short break in Edinburgh

Staying in an apartment rather than a hotel with a 2 year old made our stay in Edinburgh so much easier and relaxing.

The apartment is perfectly central in Edinburgh with great bus routes right outside to take you into and out of town. The apartment itself was plenty big enough, clean, lovely and warm. I would definitely recommend these apartments and would stay again!

  • sue b

  • March 2015

West End Apartments

This beautiful property was ideally located, spacious, clean and well presented.

The welcome pack was of very good quality. We would definitely stay again and recommend to our friends and family.

  • Michael S

  • March 2015

Beautiful apartment, friendly welcome

We stayed in the Hunter apartment, which is on the top (second) floor.

The rooms are lovely - large, high-ceilings, immaculately decorated. There is plentiful heating from good radiators that kept us toasty warm even with the wind blowing outside. We were welcomed by Brian, the owner, who had emailed beforehand to check on our arrival time. He explained all about the facilities, including complete control of heating and constant hot water on tap from the combi-boiler. We were also delighted with a welcome basket, containing croissants, marmalade, biscuits and chocolate, as well as a pint of milk in the fridge. With tea and instant coffee too, we did not have to worry about rushing to the shops for breakfast the next day. The kitchen area was in the main living room. There was plenty of crockery and cutlery, all the basic kitchen tools and a selection of pans. Electric oven, hob, toaster, kettle and microwave. If you wanted to cook meals, you would have no problem here. And for cleaning up afterwards, even a compact dishwasher and powder. There was an en-suite toilet and shower off the main bedroom, plus a separate toilet and bath/shower too. No arguments with daughters about access to a bathroom. Toilet paper, handwash and plenty of towels provided. Two large sofas in the living room, with TV and DVD player. Another TV in the main bedroom. And reasonable wi-fi too (there is an extender on the top floor, to ensure good signal). A large wardrobe in each bedroom, plus chests of drawers/dressing table, so no issue with storage. A few very minor points that I will note, lest anyone accuse me of glossing over:

- this particular apartment is up 2 flights of stairs, so probably not suitable for lugging pushchairs, etc. But there is a ground floor apartment in the house too. - the "double bed" in the main bedroom was actually 2 singles pushed together (and no mattress pad over the top, so you will notice the "join" if you snuggle up in the middle). These beds were on the firm side too. The 2 single beds in the other bedroom had softer mattresses

- there is a ventilation fan in the main bathroom which has a flap that bangs in the wind (it was quite breezy whilst we were there). Did not really bother us, once we worked out where the noise was from, but might annoy a very light sleeper

- as you can see if you look at the map, this is not in the centre of town, but is easily accessible by bus or taxi. Both refreshingly cheap (taxi less than £10 from the railway station). Just a 5 minute walk down a gentle hill is Stockbridge, which is a nice little area with several shops (Waitrose, Sainsburys Local), restaurants and take-aways. Overall, we were really happy with this apartment, and the Late Rooms price was about the same as a budget hotel, but this was SO much posher it felt like a real treat.

  • Lee Goldsmith

  • February 2015

Very nice apartment

The apartment is lovely and ideal for visiting Edinburgh.

Very spacious and well located for a short 10 minute walk into Princes Street. The owner, Brian, was very helpful on arrival and provided you with everything you need to know. We were a family of 4 with children aged 12 and 14 and would definitely stay here again.

  • lorna massey

  • January 2015

Perfect stay

Perfect in every way.

I wish we would have had more time to enjoy the apartment. Brian was very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The apartment is stunning, clean, spacious, and the bed is the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Only a few minutes walk away from princess street, and we were able to park the car in his private at park. Worth every penny. I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • S Keal

  • October 2014

Amazing apartment

We stayed as a family of four and felt the apartment helped make our stay in Edinburgh a really enjoyable one.

Within walking distance of Princes Street this spacious well decorated two bedroom apartment was a luxury, every aspect of your possible needs was thought of and provided for in the apartment. Brian was extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome, would strongly recommend these apartments and will use these apartments again in the future.

  • j smith

  • October 2014

A good find!

We were really surprised at the quality of the accommodation and it also included a parking space which was a bonus.

We would not hesitate to return here if and when we visit Edinburgh again. The owner Brian was very helpful and informative. Thank you.

  • gary robbins

  • August 2014

Excellent accommodation and location

Excellent six night stay during late July.

Apartment is comfortably furnished and within easy walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh

We were staying here as a family of four and travelling to Glasgow for the commonwealth games, the Haymarket station is around 10-15 mins walk away along with a tram stop directly from the airport. We did hire a car and the parking space was vital however with the station and tram stops being so close this was not really required.

Brian was helpful and the small unexpected welcome pack was a nice touch. Would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to friends, a thoroughly enjoyable holiday.