No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Overseas League Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
100 Princess Street , Edinburgh, EH2 3AB
Situated in the heart of Princes Street directly opposite Edinburgh Castle, Royal Over-Seas League has a prime location for access into all parts of the city. Restaurant 100, famous between locals, Observation Bar and most bedrooms enjoy unrivalled views of the Castle and its surroundings. Built in the late 19th Century the hotel extends to five floors with a lift accessing all areas except the bedrooms on the fifth floor. The rooftop vantage point is open to members and guests on Fireworks night at the end of Edinburgh Festival and on Hogmanay, on these spectacular occasions guests have the benefit from having one of the finest addresses in Edinburgh.

Each bedroom provides fresh comfortable surroundings, with the modern technology unobtrusively installed to ensure guests can have access to the internet and a wide range of TV or radio programmes without the hardware overwhelming the room. Each room is different in shape and size which is to be expected of late 19th Century buildings, period features have been retained where possible while providing flexibility for guests to enjoy their stay. Rooms are situated at the front and rear of the hotel, please request which you would prefer at the time of the booking – subject to availability.

The second floor is often the busiest part of the hotel with famous Restaurant 100 open to both the Royal Over-Seas League members and the public (pre-booking necessary) seven days a week with a seasonal a la carte menu featuring an array of high-quality local produce; known also for the finest wines from the world-wide selection. Breakfast is served 7:30 - 9:30 (8:00 - 10:00 on Sunday), lunch is served 12:00 - 3:00PM, Royal Over-Seas League’s popular Afternoon Tea is served 3:00 - 5:00PM and Dinner is served 6:00 - 9:00PM.
On the second floor also The Observation Bar is situated offering snacks and meals throughout the day from 12:00 PM until 9:00 PM in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

The inspiring capital of Scotland is a historic, cosmopolitan and cultured city. Edinburgh Castle dominates the city-centre skyline and from its ramparts you can look down on medieval lanes and elegant, sweeping terraces that hold over a thousand years of history, mystery and tradition. Yet you will also see a modern dynamic capital where international festivals attract the world’s leading performers, galleries displaying cutting-edge modern art, and bars restaurants and clubs which create a lively cosmopolitan atmosphere with a distinct Scottish twist.

There is an abundance of attractions in the city including Edinburgh and Craigmillar Castle and Palace of Holyroodhouse; Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, St Giles and St Mary’s Episcopal Cathedral, Clan Tartan Centre, Jim Garrahy’s Fudge Kitchen. There are many art galleries and museums within the city, Malleny Gardens and Royal Botanic Garden, fascinating houses and monuments which are steeped
in history, Nature Reserves and the famous Edinburgh Zoo.

Please note that the whole price of reservation will be charged to your card 2 days prior to stay. If payment does not go through the hotel will ask for new card details. If new card details are not provided the hotel will cancel the reservation.
Picture of Royal Overseas League Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable room. The location of The Royal Overseas League Hotel is very central and the staff are very helpful. The dining room - which overlooks Princes Street - has a great view of the castle.
The only criticism I would make is that there is better security for luggage left at reception.

Reviewed by
E Stubbs

From Beaconsfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay, and centrally placed.

Reviewed by
Michael F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well placed and priced
We did have a bit of trouble finding it. the photo on the web site is not the hotel in edinburgh. The room was fine, clean and very quiet, though we had a view of the fire escape and back yard. they cant all overlook the castle. The view from the dining room was stunning. The service very good and the receptionists very helpful and pleasant.

Reviewed by
leigh jones

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Castle view
Very nice small hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful, room was clean and tidy, for the price paid I was expecting a room at the back of the hotel but our room on the 4th floor gave us what must be the best view of the castle in Edinburgh. (5 STAR VIEW)

Reviewed by
Terry G

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not worth the price
The initial room we were given was hot and stuffy and the view was of a building and pipes very close to the windows which made it very claustrophobic and certainly wasn't what we expected! It was my husband's 60th birthday and we were finishing a 6 week tour of Scotland, so I wanted a special room and chose this hotel because of the claim it would have a "view of the castle".
What a disappointment--the furniture was old and in bad shape, the bed was uncomfortable and the room was very small. I complained to the reception staff and after first saying they were full and could not change our room, we asked if they could at least get the windows open so we could cool down the room. A short time later, they called and said they have a room for us with a view of the castle. This room was an improvement as it was bigger, had a better bed and did have a nice view, but it was still hot with only one small window. I realize it is an old, historic building but it was not worth the money.

Reviewed by
Christine H

From Eugene, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of refurnishment
The hotel was in a great central location. However, I believe the hotel is overpriced, it is very dated and rundown. The room was dark because of the very dark old furniture. The bathroom I would rate as a 1 or 2 star, there was a lot of rust around the bath and sink. We were in room 10 which had a small window with a view of the castle. The noise from the street was really loud and kept us awake, we had to have the window open because the room was too hot at night. We have stayed in Edinburgh on many occasions, in the future we will be staying a little further out, better quality accommodation and value for money.

Reviewed by
S Foster

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great view but Faulty showerhead taped up with insulating tape
Possibly the best view of the castle, very convenient for shops and other attractions, pleasant staff excellent breakfast let down somewhat by the quality of the room. Wouldn't have wanted to stay in this room for more than one night.
Although we reported the faulty showerhead when we arrived it wasn't attended too and had obviously been like this for many days/weeks judging by the attempts to secure via insulating tape. A new showerhead would probably cost less than 50 pounds so difficult to understand why they haven't repaired.
No access to roof which was mentioned in some of the literature.
Bed mattress had seen plenty of wear and could also do with replacing.

Reviewed by
A P

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We had a lovely one night stay for the Edinburgh Tattoo. Hotel is well situated right across from Edinburgh Castle so was very easy walking distance. Nice quiet hotel, friendly staff and breakfast was great.

Reviewed by
J Rees

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing! Room was very warm but the legends bought us fans!

Reviewed by
Ellis A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of charm
This hotel has an old world charm, and what more could you ask for than to breakfast with the castle as the backdrop!!!!

Reviewed by
Alan M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next