Reviews - Royal Overseas League Hotel


100 Princess Street, Edinburgh, EH2 3AB

Price From 251.81 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (38)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • I Johnston

  • September 2015


Enjoyed my stay found the accommodation o.k.

had dinner the first night and found the menu very limited. The staff were very nice and helpful.

  • ian K

  • August 2015

Perfect for a short stay

A perfect Edinburgh location with a fine breakfast view over the castle.

You won't get a castle view from a 'classic' room but ours was OK and reasonably quiet apart from the seagulls. Friendly staff, happy to advise you over breakfast concerning possible activities. Airport tram drops you right outside.

  • E Stubbs

  • November 2014

Very comfortable room.

The location of The Royal Overseas League Hotel is very central and the staff are very helpful. The dining room - which overlooks Princes Street - has a great view of the castle. The only criticism I would make is that there is better security for luggage left at reception.

  • Michael F

  • October 2014

An enjoyable stay, and centrally placed.

  • leigh jones

  • October 2014

Well placed and priced

We did have a bit of trouble finding it.

the photo on the web site is not the hotel in edinburgh. The room was fine, clean and very quiet, though we had a view of the fire escape and back yard. they cant all overlook the castle. The view from the dining room was stunning. The service very good and the receptionists very helpful and pleasant.

  • Alan M

  • October 2014

Full of charm

This hotel has an old world charm, and what more could you ask for than to breakfast with the castle as the backdrop!!!!

  • Terry G

  • September 2014

Castle view

Very nice small hotel.

Staff very friendly and helpful, room was clean and tidy, for the price paid I was expecting a room at the back of the hotel but our room on the 4th floor gave us what must be the best view of the castle in Edinburgh. (5 STAR VIEW)

  • Christine H

  • September 2014

not worth the price

The initial room we were given was hot and stuffy and the view was of a building and pipes very close to the windows which made it very claustrophobic and certainly wasn't what we expected.

It was my husband's 60th birthday and we were finishing a 6 week tour of Scotland, so I wanted a special room and chose this hotel because of the claim it would have a "view of the castle". What a disappointment--the furniture was old and in bad shape, the bed was uncomfortable and the room was very small. I complained to the reception staff and after first saying they were full and could not change our room, we asked if they could at least get the windows open so we could cool down the room. A short time later, they called and said they have a room for us with a view of the castle. This room was an improvement as it was bigger, had a better bed and did have a nice view, but it was still hot with only one small window. I realize it is an old, historic building but it was not worth the money.

  • S Foster

  • September 2014

In need of refurnishment

The hotel was in a great central location.

However, I believe the hotel is overpriced, it is very dated and rundown. The room was dark because of the very dark old furniture. The bathroom I would rate as a 1 or 2 star, there was a lot of rust around the bath and sink. We were in room 10 which had a small window with a view of the castle. The noise from the street was really loud and kept us awake, we had to have the window open because the room was too hot at night. We have stayed in Edinburgh on many occasions, in the future we will be staying a little further out, better quality accommodation and value for money.

  • A P

  • August 2014

Great view but Faulty showerhead taped up with insulating tape

Possibly the best view of the castle, very convenient for shops and other attractions, pleasant staff excellent breakfast let down somewhat by the quality of the room.

Wouldn't have wanted to stay in this room for more than one night.

Although we reported the faulty showerhead when we arrived it wasn't attended too and had obviously been like this for many days/weeks judging by the attempts to secure via insulating tape. A new showerhead would probably cost less than 50 pounds so difficult to understand why they haven't repaired.

No access to roof which was mentioned in some of the literature.

Bed mattress had seen plenty of wear and could also do with replacing.