No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cambridge House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
8 Cambridge Avenue , Edinburgh, EH6 5AP
Your Home away from home located in the heart of Edinburgh. Cambridge House Central Edinburgh was built in 1880. Located conveniently close to the main shopping area (Princes Street) and the (Royal Mile) it offers quality accommodation. Cambridge House is the ideal base whether you are travelling for leisure or on business. Within walking distance of Edinburgh Waverley Train Station, St Andrews Square Bus Station, Playhouse Theatre, Omni Centre as well as a variety of restaurants, pubs and clubs around. Located close by are Ocean Terminal, where The Royal Yacht Britannia is moored, and all of the major motorway networks. For the sports fans Hibs FC is a short walk away. Cambridge House offers quality accommodation and consists of en-suite bedrooms and a comfortable lounge/dining room. All bedrooms are non smoking. We aim to make your stay in Scotland as comfortable and relaxing as possible with all the modern conveniences in a welcoming atmosphere. Our rooms offer facilities such as Private Bathrooms, Hair Dryers, Satellite TV, Complimentary Tea & Coffee, Electric Shaver Points. Rooms and public areas are ‘Wi-Fi’ enabled for easy internet access allowing you to keep in touch while travelling. Our lounge offers a wide range of books & periodicals on local tourist information. We pride ourselves in satisfying the personal needs of our guests in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. With its period charm of high ceilings and ornate cornicing in the public areas we hope to make your stay in Edinburgh a very comfortable & memorable one. A nineteenth century Townhouse which has been carefully restored & tastefully furnished to provide accommodation in a warm and friendly atmosphere with a great deal of character and charm with highest standards possible. Our aim is to provide a relaxed and informal atmosphere where the service is warm and friendly yet unobtrusive.
Picture of Cambridge House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

recommended
Really impressed

Reviewed by
Dominika S

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and tasteful
The room was very comfortable, and had everything we needed. it's on a quiet street but not far from a main road with lots of choice for eating (we went to Casablanca, a Moroccan restaurant just nearby). Staff were friendly and obliging and all was good.

Reviewed by
Jane p

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room exactly as described - amazing newly renovated bathroom.
Room is exactly as it looked in the pictures. Had everything we needed. WiFi, TV etc. Bed was very noisy - squeaking and creaking but comfortable. Bathroom was the highlight. Obviously newly done, with an amazing shower. Clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was a little disappointing - just cheap bread, packet spreads and cold meats and cheeses. Instant coffee we had to make ourselves. But having said that, it was all we needed. And for the price, it felt like value for money.
Good location, close to shops and restaurants and only a 20-30 minute walk to the centre of town. Free parking on the street.

Reviewed by
H Lawn

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and comfortable
furniture a bit dated but had everything required. bed was lovely and comfy. breakfast was lovely .

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Correct
A very good B&B - simple and efficient. Good value for the money.

Reviewed by
C Maciel

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

N/A

Reviewed by
Charlotte H

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and welcoming owners
10min walk from the "old city", free street parking without time limits and friendly and welcoming owner. Room was clean and presentable. Only negative was it felt too hot in the room and the double bed was wedged under a low ceiling, probably from stairs on the other room. I would suggest going for a twin room. Other than that I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
adrian romero

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower was great. Bed wasn't comfy at all. Okay for the money but don't know if we'd stay here again.

Reviewed by
Ryan Hunter

From Hebburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Find
Nice little B & B within walking distance of City Centre. Room was small but didn't feel poky, very clean and comfortable with everything we needed for one night. Towels fresh and lovely toiletries in the bathroom. Shower was very good and again very clean. Bed was a bit firm for me but my partner found it ok. The only wee down side was the double glazing was old and as it was a windy night it was a bit draughty and there was no extra blanket (or pillows) in the room but I am sure had I asked we would have got them but it was very late at night when I felt cold and I didn't want to disturb the owners. The owners were very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Diane L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were only there for a night but we found the room great and very clean with a comfortable bed and good bathroom/shower. The owners were very pleasant and it was good value for money for Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
Francesca Shapland

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next