You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Links


2 Alvanley Terrace, Edinburgh, EH9 1DU

Price From 114.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Murray

  • July 2015

The Links

Lovely hotel but decoration is a bit tired.

In a great location easy walk into the city and on the bus route. Room was large (family room) but my son had to sleep on a sofa bed with a very thin mattress not very comfortable when you are 6foot tall. It was advertised on laterooms as having 2 double beds. I have complained but the manager has failed to get back to me. Disappointing.

Response from hotel

Hi Jackie,

Sorry to hear about your disappointing stay, and I apologise for not being able to respond sooner as I have been away on leave for 2 days.

Was this brought to any of our staff members during your stay? If it was, I know my staff would have tried their best to reallocate you into the family that does have 2 king beds. We always get glowing reviews regarding how helpful our staff are.

I do understand your disappointment, however on laterooms it does state that our family rooms have either 2 double beds or a double bed and a double sofa bed.

See description:

'Family Room sleeps 2 Adults 2 children. Room only. Non Smoking Requested, 2 Adults, and 2 children (max. child age for this room is 16) Spacious accommodation offering a either a King size bed & sofa bed or two King size beds. Tea/coffee faciltiies, en-suite with shower. Decorated to a high standard, offering luxury at an affordable price.'

If you ever wish to stay with us again please contact us directly if you do have certain requests as we can accommodate much easier. If a special request on laterooms does come through we always try our best to accommodate the best we can, and let the guest know in advance if we are unable to. With external sites lots of our guests do not realise that we do take all requests just as seriously so sometimes do not put any requests on their bookings.

I would like to thank you for your comments as we take on feedback very seriously.

Kind regards,

Bryan Reid,

General Manager

  • Angela S

  • July 2015

Lovely hotel - but a little extra thought required.

Although staff very friendly, hotel was beautifully furnished, warm and inviting and the room comfortable - no shampoo, shower gel or toiletries were provided - this is a standard expectation when paying £79 for a single room.

The soap dispenser (at the sink) could have been doing with a clean and the overflow outlet needed bleaching. So whilst a very comfortable sleep and everything else about the stay was absolutely fine - the above shortfalls resulted it a disappointing stay.

  • B Bolger

  • June 2015

Edinburgh Hospitality

Great location.

Great accommodation. Great food. Great staff. Well done.

  • Tiffany C

  • April 2015

Lovely weekend break

Great hotel staff are friendly and very helpful will be booking for my next visit

  • S Jordan

  • April 2015

The Links

Lovely hotel for a short stay.

Short walk to main attractions. Clean, quiet and smart.

  • S Smith

  • April 2015


Nice rooms, very friendly staff, fantastic food

  • D McWhirter

  • April 2015

Excellent small hotel

Stayed at The Links for 1 night whilst attending open day at the University.

Lovely hotel off main road and overlooking park so nice and quiet. Bar area was excellent with a good selection of meals and what we had was super - and hotel guests get a discount. On street parking available. It is free overnight but can only stay for a certain length of time during the day but we just moved car to nearby NCP car park in the morning so no problem.

  • Daniel Stewart

  • April 2015

Lovely stay

Great couple of days with my girlfriend.

Clean, stylish room in a great area. Would definitely stay again.

  • Deborah C

  • March 2015

unfortunately depressing

Considering The Links is in such a vibrant city the room we were in could never be described as 'vibrant'.

The colour scheme although fresh did nothing for a room with very little natural light. The carpet was thin, loose and rumpled up near the door. The shower room was extremely tight and left little room for privacy. We were shown to our room by a young man who offered to help with the bags then strangely walked on not following through on his offer. After struggling up to the second floor via the stairs he then decided that he would show us where the lift was. Why he couldn't have done this before we had to carry heavy bags upstairs I do not know. Frankly this was a disappointing experience in a city that I have visited often.

  • Darren Mckay

  • March 2015

nice break

great hotel