No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Albyn Townhouse

4Visit Scotland Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
16 HARTINGTON GARDENS , EDINBURGH, EH10 4LD
The Edinburgh Albyn Townhouse is an impressive 4 storey Victorian townhouse. Formerly the St Oswald Church Manse, the Albyn has been a guest house for at least 45 years. Located at the end of a really quiet & beautiful tree line cul-de-sac, within walking distance of Edinburgh's Old town & Edinburgh Castle, as well as Edinburgh's main attractions, it is perfect if you are looking for tranquility & welcoming surroundings as well as a city centre feel!

Only 3 parking spaces available, this must be pre-booked, no parking is guaranteed until confirmed by phone with the Albyn.
Picture of Albyn Townhouse, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely first class home from home
My stay a the Albyn Town House Hotel was utter quality and relaxation, the staff were amazingly polite and could not do enough for you your every need was met, nothing was too much they provided a first class service. The room was spotless, clean towels an abundance of pillows and beautiful cushions, the décor was very sophisticated and calming. Breakfast was quick and very well cooked and presented, once again nothing was beyond their capability. The location was close to all amenities and the Fringe Festival. The location was so quiet and peaceful I have to ask were the matress was from as I had the most perfect 2 nights sleep in a long time, Well done to the owner Lindie you have "Got it spot on" you have a 5 star Hotel. Valerie,

Reviewed by
Val wheatle

From Loughton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Town house
Lovely town house highly recommended

Reviewed by
Catherine Galota

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Even better than The Balmoral!
Absolutely lovely. If I don't get to stay here the next time I visit Edinburgh, a massive strop will ensue! Staff were so welcoming, helpful and friendly. room was spotless and the bed was so comfortable. I wish I was still there! :)

Reviewed by
Catherine F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at the Albyn Townhouse
Top quality room standard - similar to boutique hotel, excellent wifi, great location, very helpful staff, good food. Absolutely faultless, will stay again.

Reviewed by
Mark A

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, would definitely recommend to friends
We were made very welcome and wouldn't hesitate to book again

Reviewed by
Catherine Cobain

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly, Great Room!
The owner of the house was extremely friendly, we arrived whilst she was clearly very busy but stopped to chat to us and made sure we were happy.
Room was very nice, and well worth the money we paid. Bed was very firm, but that's just personal preference. Very clean, and a great size.

Reviewed by
Alex F

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Wonderful genuinely friendly welcome from Lydie on the Friday night we arrived. The room was excellent, spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed. Only stayed for 2 nights, but would definitely stay again, and make sure we had time to sample the breakfast in the mornings.

Reviewed by
Michael Brown

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely welcome and host
Lovely welcome from owner, room very well presented although quite small but as i was on my own adequate for my needs. Clean and comfy and well decorated.

Reviewed by
R McGee

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very friendly welcome and excellent service throughout the stay

Reviewed by
John L

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class bed and breakfast
The Hotel is set at the end of a cul-de-sac in a very quiet area. We were met by David on arrival, he and his wife Lydia own and run the hotel. We were taken to our room on the top floor which was amazing we had a view over the city from the window. We had the most comfortable night especially as I do not sleep very well apart from my own bed. It was luxury. The whole decor which Lydia does herself even the upholstery was excellent. We were given the hotel book/information which was really helpful. In the morning we went to breakfast, well there was so much to choose from. It was very difficult to decide, Lydia does all her own baking with the help of her two children aged 2 and 5.
This hotel was booked by my daughter for my 60th birthday And we would definitely return again and again which hopefully we will do.

Reviewed by
Julie Marsh

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next