No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The County Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
156 HIGH STREET , DALKEITH, EH22 1AY
A traditional Scottish Hotel in the heart of The Lothian’s, 32 En suite bedrooms. Perfect getaway place and an Ideal base for visiting Edinburgh and the Lothian’s.

Our 32 en-suite bedrooms, (single, double, triple, queen or family) offer free Wi-Fi, complimentary beverages, 24" flat screen TV's with inbuilt DVD players and ample work desk space. We also have two ‘dog friendly’ rooms available.

The hotel is located only 6 miles away from Edinburgh City Centre, providing an excellent base from which to explore Edinburgh and the Lothian areas. Easy access to all major transport links including Edinburgh City Bypass and the M8. Free on street parking.

We offer a wide selection of freshly prepared food all day. Our menus have something for everyone whether it is a bar snack or sit down meal in our relaxing restaurant we have it all. Guests can also enjoy our coffee shop that is open daily from 9:00am, serving hot beverages and a selection of delicious cakes and scones.

Our bar shows all live sport and we have a large selection of drinks to fulfil all thirsts. We have a range beers and lagers on tap and a good selection of Scottish Malt Whisky.

The hotel has two function suites, suitable for both business and social purposes. The Rosebury can hold up to 120 guests and is self-contained with own toilet block, bar and dance floor. The Melrose Suite consists of a main room and further 'breakout' room, holding 40 + 20 guests. Equipment included in room hire: 84" Smart board, WEBINAR conferencing, Internet access via PC, free WIFI, 42" flat screen TV and DVD player, 84" wall mounted pull down projection screen and flipchart
Picture of The County Hotel, DALKEITH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
decent place and handy location, would stay again.

Reviewed by
David McGuire

From St Andrews, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter stay
The room would benefit from putting a slip mat either in the shower or to stand on when coming out of the shower

Reviewed by
m heatley

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just okay
Hotel is ok but perhaps needs a refurbish, room okay, nothing special. Main problem was that the room was very cold when we arrived at 15.30, radiator was on but either the heating was off or it wasn't reaching the 3rd floor. There was a small oil filled radiator in the room which might suggest they were having issues with the heating.
We went out for the evening and came back after 1am, no heating on and the room was cold. In the morning, no heating.
This was not mentioned when we booked or checked in. Pretty poor I think.
Can't say i'd go back.

Reviewed by
mark w

From Milltimber, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional
In Dalkeith for the Rugby at Murrayfield. Hotel fine and functional if a little dated , clean enough, staff welcoming and pleasant , good adjoining bar and lovely breakfast.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Nice place for the £50. Pleasant enough staff. Quiet in the restaurant so atmosphere lacking. Room lovely and clean, hot powerful shower.

Reviewed by
Michael D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class accommodation.
Excellent location. Friendly staff. Great breakfast.

Reviewed by
William A

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good comfortable accomodation
I was very placed with the hotel, I just needed a room for one night stay which was reasonable in price. Overall no issues with my stay, the High Street offered a fair choice of "eat. Out" options so it hotel is conviently located.

Reviewed by
S Patel

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and clean
Ideally situated for our visit to take part in the Tough Mudder event. Good food and comfy room.

Reviewed by
J Campbell

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
I arrived at 10.45, not expecting to be able to check in and just get a bite to eat. I was given the key to the room and made most welcome. Great staff and a lovely room. Would stay again next time i'm in the area.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Take your earplugs.
This is a pleasent, family run hotel, with all the necessary components for great stay. Only one draw back is the noise from its own and the adjacent bar. Double glazing may be a solution.

Reviewed by
Gary N

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next