No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Culane House Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
9 HERMITAGE PLACE, EDINBURGH, EH6 8AF
Welcome to The Culane Guest House Hotel, Edinburgh. Centrally located and recently refurbished to high standards, The Culane Guest House Hotel is a modern yet traditional hotel in Edinburgh. On street parking is free and is available outside the Guest House . There is an excellent bus service which operates from outside the Guest House and the journey takes only 10 minutes to travel into the City Centre. The buses travel to most of the tourist attraction also. The Hotel is a walking distance to the fashionable Edinburgh Waterfront , popular for the Royal Yacht Britannia and the Ocean Terminal Shopping Mall.

Experience the comfort and luxury at the Culane Guest House Hotel. You can look forward to restful nights in well equipped bedrooms at pocket pleasing prices. The Culane Guest House Hotel has 10 comfortable luxury ensuite rooms, all of which have been designed and furnished with comfort and elegance in mind to the highest standard. All our rooms are non-smoking with ensuite shower facilities and have free WI-FI.
Picture of Culane House Hotel, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to stay
Stayed at this hotel for a rugby weekend. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I was staying in room 7, which is built into the roof of the building. The bathroom wasn't the best as I am 6 ft tall and had difficulty in the shower as the ceiling was incredibly low. I'm sure other rooms are fine.

Reviewed by
I Williams

From Hartley Wintney, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay!
Thank you for such friendly, helpful service and I was well impressed with my room and lovely ensuite. I find it not easy to travel alone, but you were very welcoming and my stay was very comfortable. I would certainly return!

Reviewed by
K Brown

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything was very good

Reviewed by
Pietro G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay,What we expected for the money and our convenience, but no refund, Better score acheivable
Good points -; Easy to get to, Parking is on street but free and loads of spaces up and down street, Room was clean, Staff were welcoming, accommodated our vegetarian needs for breakfast, Buses available to town but we preferred to walk [25 mins to ctr]
Bad Points -; 1 of the towels was dirty on arrival [looked like make-up] but was switched straight away, On arrival our TV wasn't working at all, we reported in the morning and was fixed by the evening when we returned [electrical issue]
***No refund*** Up until this point we were happy and would recommend this establishment even stayed again, but after a few days to digest and not seem quick to judge have now reviewed our experience with a clear head.
We had booked for 4 nights and in the terms it does state minimum 3 nights to stay, During our visit which was going well we were informed back home that one of our animals was unwell and had to go to the vets, this turned out to be quite substantial in cost and warranted our quick return, we checked out after our 3rd night and with out really thinking payed the full 4 nights cost with a promise that if the room was booked out then a refund would follow, being the night before Edinburgh's Hogmanay and advised the hotel was fully booked left without thinking, wanting to get home. Well 2 days later no refund just a std email saying thanks for staying, They could have refunded half ?? Not really happy after thinking about it for a week..it's not the money just the principle.

Reviewed by
Andy King

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding accommodation for my brief in Edinburgh
The staff at the Culane House Hotel are so friendly, professional and welcoming, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend other visitors to. My arrival was far earlier than planned and a quick call ensured my room was available hours before check-in. For my brief wait, I was directed to a lovely cafe nearby, and by the time I had breakfast and a coffee my room was ready. Nothing is too much to make your stay a welcome one; storing suitcases, arranging taxis, and having a good old chat about experiences of Edinburgh! Am sure to stay again!

Reviewed by
Daniel G

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was well priced.
Access was good for late night comings and goings. Parking on street was ok, no problems finding a space and my vehicle was unmolested. Staff very friendly. A typical Victorian building with creaking floors and single glazed windows which suffered from condensation in the morning, at least in the room that I stayed in, but that is quite normal for these old buildings. The en-suit was small but functional. All in all I was quite satisfied and would stay here again, especially as I felt it was value for money!

Reviewed by
N Mitchelson

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with warm and friendly reception
Stayed here for an overnight. The reception on arrival was excellent, friendly, genuine and informative and a big change from the false smiles of chain hotels groups. Amazing value for money.
Nice room and the hotel was close enough to Edinburgh city centre.

Reviewed by
J Ryan

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
Staff where very helpful and friendly. Room, a bit of climb to top, was lovely.

Reviewed by
Sean D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

outstanding customer service
What a fantastic overnight stay we had in culane house hotel. We were treated like royalty nothing too much bother, food excellent superb customer service will definitely stay here again. Well done.

Reviewed by
eileen f

From glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Culane House Hotel, Leith Links, Edinburgh, October 2014
A really nice welcome to this family-run Hotel. My room was on the ground floor at the back of the Hotel and it was clean, comfortable, really quiet and very good value (£50 for B&B courtesy of laterooms.com) and I was able to park my car outside the front door without incurring any parking charges as it's outside the City's restricted area. Hopped on a bus out the front which took me up to Waverley for the next part of my journey.Breakfast was fine. Would definitely stay there again at that kind of price. Pretty well perfect.

Reviewed by
D ALEXANDER

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next