Reviews - CULANE HOUSE HOTEL

4

9 HERMITAGE PLACE, LEITH LINK, Edinburgh, EH6 8AF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

97% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Carol Laird

  • December 2015

Great stay

I would definitely recommend staying here.

Plenty of on street parking and just a 10 minute bus ride from outside the hotel to Edinburgh city centre. We were warmly welcomed and given information on the area and bus timetable. We were shown to our room which was stunning. Everything was spotless. The breakfast was superb and nothing was an inconvenience. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it

  • V Sercombe

  • December 2015

Would stay there again

Stayed for one night early December.

Room was very clean a bit on the small side but nicely furnished. Cooked breakfast was good. Parking outside easy.

  • lynda hardwick

  • November 2015

A jewel in Edinburgh's crown

What a find..excellent place to stay..i had room 2 which was spotless clean and very comfortable.

The room had everything you needed iron, ironing board ,hair drier,hair straighteners, flat screen tv with freeview, wifi and a warm on suite shower, toilet and sink, a kettle and various drinks sachets which was rectangularly topped up. The bedding and décor was very pretty which made it cosy on cold evenings. The owners and staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble for them you just had to ask, they work very hard and the hotel is a credit to them. The breakfast was fantastic lots of choice, cooked breakfast was perfect or there was continental. The hotel is situated in Leith approx 15 mins from Edinburgh via bus, which i found the bus service fantastic , cheap and very easy to use. Leith is a lovely place in its self, has everything you need. Hotel is close to ocean terminal shopping centre where royal yacht Britannia is .. that's an excellent experience I enjoyed it. Getting to Edinburgh itself was so easy and lots to do. The view from front of hotel is lovely , looking over Leith links which has golfing history. All in all my visit here was perfect and I will definitely be coming back here to stay in few months time and will be making this a regular visit as I was made so welcome and I was well looked after very well as I have a Leukaemia and everyone made my time here very enjoyable and as easy as possible . Highly recommend Culane House Hotel great value for money, atmosphere, surroundings , and comfort and friendliness. The hotel has lots of information in a stand in doorway of places to visit which helped a great deal.

  • Michael N

  • October 2015

Little Gem

A warm friendly place to stay and we truly enjoyed our stay, we have nothing negative to say about Culane House and will without doubt stay again.

  • L Simpson

  • March 2015

Excellent

Very welcoming and helpful, it was a nice change from the hotel chains where everything is so impersonal.

Location was perfect easy access to all areas of the city plus the free parking was a bonus. Will be making this my first option for any future weekends in Edinburgh,

  • J Barton

  • March 2015

Excellent place...

Really enjoyed my stay here.

The staff were incredibly friendly and I would recommend it to everybody. Its roughly about a 25 minute walk to the centre of Edinburgh which is nice on a good day and has free parking which I thought was fantastic and quite a rare thing it seems nowadays. The food was great. On the whole, Brilliant.

  • I Williams

  • February 2015

Great Place to stay

Stayed at this hotel for a rugby weekend.

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I was staying in room 7, which is built into the roof of the building. The bathroom wasn't the best as I am 6 ft tall and had difficulty in the shower as the ceiling was incredibly low. I'm sure other rooms are fine.

  • K Brown

  • February 2015

A great place to stay!

Thank you for such friendly, helpful service and I was well impressed with my room and lovely ensuite.

I find it not easy to travel alone, but you were very welcoming and my stay was very comfortable. I would certainly return!

  • Pietro G

  • January 2015

Everything was very good

  • Andy King

  • January 2015

Good stay,What we expected for the money and our convenience, but no refund, Better score acheivable

Good points -; Easy to get to, Parking is on street but free and loads of spaces up and down street, Room was clean, Staff were welcoming, accommodated our vegetarian needs for breakfast, Buses available to town but we preferred to walk [25 mins to ctr] Bad Points -; 1 of the towels was dirty on arrival [looked like make-up] but was switched straight away, On arrival our TV wasn't working at all, we reported in the morning and was fixed by the evening when we returned [electrical issue] ***No refund*** Up until this point we were happy and would recommend this establishment even stayed again, but after a few days to digest and not seem quick to judge have now reviewed our experience with a clear head.

We had booked for 4 nights and in the terms it does state minimum 3 nights to stay, During our visit which was going well we were informed back home that one of our animals was unwell and had to go to the vets, this turned out to be quite substantial in cost and warranted our quick return, we checked out after our 3rd night and with out really thinking payed the full 4 nights cost with a promise that if the room was booked out then a refund would follow, being the night before Edinburgh's Hogmanay and advised the hotel was fully booked left without thinking, wanting to get home. Well 2 days later no refund just a std email saying thanks for staying, They could have refunded half ?. Not really happy after thinking about it for a week..it's not the money just the principle.