Reviews - Culane House Hotel



Price From 150.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (35)

97% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • L Simpson

  • March 2015


Very welcoming and helpful, it was a nice change from the hotel chains where everything is so impersonal.

Location was perfect easy access to all areas of the city plus the free parking was a bonus. Will be making this my first option for any future weekends in Edinburgh,

  • J Barton

  • March 2015

Excellent place...

Really enjoyed my stay here.

The staff were incredibly friendly and I would recommend it to everybody. Its roughly about a 25 minute walk to the centre of Edinburgh which is nice on a good day and has free parking which I thought was fantastic and quite a rare thing it seems nowadays. The food was great. On the whole, Brilliant.

  • I Williams

  • February 2015

Great Place to stay

Stayed at this hotel for a rugby weekend.

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I was staying in room 7, which is built into the roof of the building. The bathroom wasn't the best as I am 6 ft tall and had difficulty in the shower as the ceiling was incredibly low. I'm sure other rooms are fine.

  • K Brown

  • February 2015

A great place to stay!

Thank you for such friendly, helpful service and I was well impressed with my room and lovely ensuite.

I find it not easy to travel alone, but you were very welcoming and my stay was very comfortable. I would certainly return!

  • Pietro G

  • January 2015

Everything was very good

  • Andy King

  • January 2015

Good stay,What we expected for the money and our convenience, but no refund, Better score acheivable

Good points -; Easy to get to, Parking is on street but free and loads of spaces up and down street, Room was clean, Staff were welcoming, accommodated our vegetarian needs for breakfast, Buses available to town but we preferred to walk [25 mins to ctr] Bad Points -; 1 of the towels was dirty on arrival [looked like make-up] but was switched straight away, On arrival our TV wasn't working at all, we reported in the morning and was fixed by the evening when we returned [electrical issue] ***No refund*** Up until this point we were happy and would recommend this establishment even stayed again, but after a few days to digest and not seem quick to judge have now reviewed our experience with a clear head.

We had booked for 4 nights and in the terms it does state minimum 3 nights to stay, During our visit which was going well we were informed back home that one of our animals was unwell and had to go to the vets, this turned out to be quite substantial in cost and warranted our quick return, we checked out after our 3rd night and with out really thinking payed the full 4 nights cost with a promise that if the room was booked out then a refund would follow, being the night before Edinburgh's Hogmanay and advised the hotel was fully booked left without thinking, wanting to get home. Well 2 days later no refund just a std email saying thanks for staying, They could have refunded half ?. Not really happy after thinking about it for a's not the money just the principle.

  • Daniel G

  • December 2014

Outstanding accommodation for my brief in Edinburgh

The staff at the Culane House Hotel are so friendly, professional and welcoming, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend other visitors to.

My arrival was far earlier than planned and a quick call ensured my room was available hours before check-in. For my brief wait, I was directed to a lovely cafe nearby, and by the time I had breakfast and a coffee my room was ready. Nothing is too much to make your stay a welcome one; storing suitcases, arranging taxis, and having a good old chat about experiences of Edinburgh. Am sure to stay again!

  • N Mitchelson

  • December 2014

The room was well priced.

Access was good for late night comings and goings.

Parking on street was ok, no problems finding a space and my vehicle was unmolested. Staff very friendly. A typical Victorian building with creaking floors and single glazed windows which suffered from condensation in the morning, at least in the room that I stayed in, but that is quite normal for these old buildings. The en-suit was small but functional. All in all I was quite satisfied and would stay here again, especially as I felt it was value for money!

  • Sean D

  • December 2014


Staff where very helpful and friendly.

Room, a bit of climb to top, was lovely.

  • J Ryan

  • November 2014

Lovely hotel with warm and friendly reception

Stayed here for an overnight.

The reception on arrival was excellent, friendly, genuine and informative and a big change from the false smiles of chain hotels groups. Amazing value for money.

Nice room and the hotel was close enough to Edinburgh city centre.