No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Culane House Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
9 HERMITAGE PLACE, EDINBURGH, EH6 8AF
Welcome to The Culane Guest House Hotel, Edinburgh. Centrally located and recently refurbished to high standards, The Culane Guest House Hotel is a modern yet traditional hotel in Edinburgh. On street parking is free and is available outside the Guest House . There is an excellent bus service which operates from outside the Guest House and the journey takes only 10 minutes to travel into the City Centre. The buses travel to most of the tourist attraction also. The Hotel is a walking distance to the fashionable Edinburgh Waterfront , popular for the Royal Yacht Britannia and the Ocean Terminal Shopping Mall.

Experience the comfort and luxury at the Culane Guest House Hotel. You can look forward to restful nights in well equipped bedrooms at pocket pleasing prices. The Culane Guest House Hotel has 10 comfortable luxury ensuite rooms, all of which have been designed and furnished with comfort and elegance in mind to the highest standard. All our rooms are non-smoking with ensuite shower facilities and have free WI-FI.
Picture of Culane House Hotel, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but faultless service
We booked this hotel on the strength of previous comments and the location - being ideal for both the attractions of city centre Edinburgh (30 mins walk) and Leith (20 mins walk).
The staff were welcoming and most helpful, particularly in describing the bus services and the locations of the attractions we were keen to see.
We had booked a double but go the family room which was clean, towels changed daily. Yes there were some damp spots at the top of the walls but these were probably condensation casued and did not detract from the overall decor of the room. After all it is in an old house and was full of character.
We overlooked Leith Links a large park/open space, and although the road outside was busy the traffic noise was negligible - a big bonus is the free, unrestricted on-street parking. The car did not move for 4 days - there is a bus service into Edinburgh that takes 10 mins to Princes Street from the bus stop less than 30 yards from the hotel front door.
Breakfasts were ample to set us up for the days travails - a choice of scottish (cooked) or continental. A Tea and Coffee tray was in the room.
Just to repeat that the staff were welcoming, helpful, polite and could not do enough for us.
At the bargain price we paid we will be back

Reviewed by
I Zirins

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights with my brother and his wife who were over from Australia. I had booked the hotel so I wanted it to be good for us all. We were not disappointed, our rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast provided a varied choice and was good.
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
We would certainly recommend this hotel and when next in Edinburgh we will use it again.

Reviewed by
P Turner

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

christmas market break
very good value for money

Reviewed by
R Taylor

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attentive, lovely staff
A wonderful little B&B fairly close to the city centre.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly young woman who happily informed us of the location of the local bus stops, bus numbers & fares into town.
We were shown to a lovely kingsize room.
In the morning our breakfast order was taken by a friendly attentive young man, after being told we had a choice of continential, or full Scottish cooked breakfast. The breakfast was lovely & fresh & more than enough to sustain a full day's shopping.

Reviewed by
A Muir

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cold room and no wi fi
Booked because it had free wi fi but it didnt work. Room cold and windows drafty!The radiators need fixing and they should have heating on for longer.Staff very good and friendly though.

Reviewed by
bernard g

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly and welcoming
lovely stay at this hotel

Reviewed by
j richardson

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
The accommodation was clean, well presented and the bed extremely comfortable. I booked the luxury single room which was cosy rather than spacious, but it did have a double bed. The other facilities were great too. It is the only guest house l have stayed in, that have provided both a hairdryer and hair straighteners!!! The staff were very friendly and so helpful. Breakfast was wonderful both filling and tasty, it really set you up for a days sightseeing. Easily accessible by public transport it was excellent value for money and I will certainly be using it again.

Reviewed by
A MacDermid

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good old Hotel in conveniant place
Great for a place in the heart of Leith

Reviewed by
D Macrae

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendliest hotel in Edinburgh?
The Culane House hotel is a large Victorian property on a busy street overlooking the parkland of Leith Links,really quite a nice location. On arrival we were met by the owner/manager who could not have been more welcoming.He explained the front door opening system and told us where to get busses to the theatre we were going to that night. The room was small ,but very clean and tidy.
The weather was bright,but cold so it was nice that the room was warm.
After a great night watching Bryan Ferry we awoke to a sunny day. Breakfast was served from eight until ten and consisted of continental self service or a freshly cooked breakfast if required.
Staff were very cheerful offering all types of eggs and other cooked regulars. ; we had the continental option with unlimited coffee which was ideal for me.
All in all this hotel is exactly what we needed for a night out in Edinburgh;shower was hot and fairly powerful,towels were a plenty,so we were happy.
Price was spot on.

Reviewed by
J Robertson

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Culane House Hotel Review
Thoroughly enjoyed a two night stay in this hotel, extremely welcoming and friendly. First class accommodation - would highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
L McMillan

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next