No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Culane House Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
9 HERMITAGE PLACE, EDINBURGH, EH6 8AF
Welcome to The Culane Guest House Hotel, Edinburgh. Centrally located and recently refurbished to high standards, The Culane Guest House Hotel is a modern yet traditional hotel in Edinburgh. On street parking is free and is available outside the Guest House . There is an excellent bus service which operates from outside the Guest House and the journey takes only 10 minutes to travel into the City Centre. The buses travel to most of the tourist attraction also. The Hotel is a walking distance to the fashionable Edinburgh Waterfront , popular for the Royal Yacht Britannia and the Ocean Terminal Shopping Mall.

Experience the comfort and luxury at the Culane Guest House Hotel. You can look forward to restful nights in well equipped bedrooms at pocket pleasing prices. The Culane Guest House Hotel has 10 comfortable luxury ensuite rooms, all of which have been designed and furnished with comfort and elegance in mind to the highest standard. All our rooms are non-smoking with ensuite shower facilities and have free WI-FI.
Picture of Culane House Hotel, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff, clean comfortable room

Reviewed by
e shanks

From Montrose, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel my room was very small but comfortable and clean staff very helpful and friendly breakfast was ok easy access to town centre good bus service on doorstep would stay again

Reviewed by
michelle mccormack

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food
Was a B & B only, breakfast was a wee bit greasy & their poached eggs were not the best, but scrambled eggs and anything fried was good. Only tried bacon, sausage & egg.

Reviewed by
A Arthur

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly but not intrusive
The host is very accommodating and helpful with any queries you might have.
The breakfast was delicious and there was a good choice of continental as well as traditional cooked fare.
The room was very clean and spacious and has a nice view over a park.The bed was very comfortable and the en-suite was spotless and I think recently installed.
The location of the hotel is a little out of Edinburgh centre, but perfect if you have a car or don't mind travelling by bus.

Reviewed by
I Jenkinson

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great experience
Everything was spot on and the breakfast was brilliant really set us up for the day. Would only ask for a room with higher bathroom ceiling for my partner as the shower was a bit cramped for him and larger TV or better placed in the room. Loved the fact there was straighteners as well as a hairdryer as I had forgotten mine. I loved the personal touch of an email wishing us a safe journey and hoped we had a good stay

Reviewed by
F Bashir

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but faultless service
We booked this hotel on the strength of previous comments and the location - being ideal for both the attractions of city centre Edinburgh (30 mins walk) and Leith (20 mins walk).
The staff were welcoming and most helpful, particularly in describing the bus services and the locations of the attractions we were keen to see.
We had booked a double but go the family room which was clean, towels changed daily. Yes there were some damp spots at the top of the walls but these were probably condensation casued and did not detract from the overall decor of the room. After all it is in an old house and was full of character.
We overlooked Leith Links a large park/open space, and although the road outside was busy the traffic noise was negligible - a big bonus is the free, unrestricted on-street parking. The car did not move for 4 days - there is a bus service into Edinburgh that takes 10 mins to Princes Street from the bus stop less than 30 yards from the hotel front door.
Breakfasts were ample to set us up for the days travails - a choice of scottish (cooked) or continental. A Tea and Coffee tray was in the room.
Just to repeat that the staff were welcoming, helpful, polite and could not do enough for us.
At the bargain price we paid we will be back

Reviewed by
I Zirins

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights with my brother and his wife who were over from Australia. I had booked the hotel so I wanted it to be good for us all. We were not disappointed, our rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast provided a varied choice and was good.
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
We would certainly recommend this hotel and when next in Edinburgh we will use it again.

Reviewed by
P Turner

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

christmas market break
very good value for money

Reviewed by
R Taylor

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attentive, lovely staff
A wonderful little B&B fairly close to the city centre.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly young woman who happily informed us of the location of the local bus stops, bus numbers & fares into town.
We were shown to a lovely kingsize room.
In the morning our breakfast order was taken by a friendly attentive young man, after being told we had a choice of continential, or full Scottish cooked breakfast. The breakfast was lovely & fresh & more than enough to sustain a full day's shopping.

Reviewed by
A Muir

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next