No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old School House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
2 WOODHALL ROAD, EDINBURGH, EH13 0DX
Built in 1815, to replace the original old thatched school, dating back to 1651 the new school house accommodated 120 scholars, for the local village children and gentry. The Old School House is now a small, welcoming family bed and breakfast. We’re situated in the vibrant village of Colinton, only a few minutes’ drive from the City Bypass, A720. The extensive bus service available from Colinton includes Lothian buses route numbers 10, 16 and 45 which run to the City Centre on a regular basis.

Within the village there are three Restaurants two shops and two traditional Village Pubs.

Unrestricted street parking is very close by. The City By pass is about 3 minutes drive and the Airport is about 15 minutes drive away.

Our guests are invariably very pleased with the delicious freshly prepared breakfast

A third guest can be accommodated in each room.

Testimonial
My wife and I stayed here recently having travelled to Edinburgh for a long weekend for my wife's birthday. We chose the Old School House based on other peoples testimonials and were certainly not disappointed. Sandra the owner, is a most friendly and efficient hostess. The house is lovely, as is the setting, and the room we had was excellent. The food choice was also excellent and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Easy access to the city centre, a superb local village and amenities, countryside right on the doorstep, means that this is a place that we would not hesitate to recommend or to use again at some future date. Thank you for making our stay so pleasurable! Vance Whittall, British (06 October 09)

ABOUT US | BREAKFAST | SUITES & TARIFF | RESERVATIONS | LINKS FIND US | CITY RECOMMENDATIONS

We serve a full breakfast in the dining room overlooking our garden. Try our full School House Scottish breakfast and watch out for our homemade specials!

Picture of The Old School House, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family wedding in edinburgh
We were delighted with our stay at the old school house and the owner was very friendly . as we were travelling quite a distance we got in touch with the owner with regard to booking in early . she readily agreed so we were able to freshen up and get changed for the wedding. if visiting the area in future we would want to stay here.

Reviewed by
r goodrick

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming guesthouse and wonderful host!
This was our second stay in the schoolhouse and once again it didn't disappoint.
The rooms are individual and some lovely personal touches everywhere well thought out
by the owner. Sandra is very welcoming and provides a wonderful breakfast to set you up for the day.
Highly recommended if you truly want a comfortable stay and not just a bed in a box.

Reviewed by
Danielle Tolhurst

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic B and B
I cannot recommend this B and B highly enough. Excellent accommodation, fantastic food, lovely and helpful owner. Great place to stay just outside of Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
e harrison

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the bunker part of the old school. Made welcome (as expected) by the owner, Sandra. Lovely, warm, clean accomodation in Colinton village. Breakfast was excellent and a Sunday newspaper was provided.
Also had a delicious eveing meal in the Spylaw Inn, Colinton. Would definitely recommend both guest house and Inn.

Reviewed by
Diane D

From Inverness, Scotland
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful, unexpected wee gem
My partner and I came to stay here as we were going to a gig in Edinburgh. We had room downstairs which turned out to be like a small flat! We had a lovely comfy, extra large bed. There was a separate seating area with a fridge which had milk, water and a botlte of ale :) We also had fruit, biscuits and crisps in the room, with a small comfy sofa! There was underfloor heating too which made the place super cosy. Sandra was very accommodating and made a delicious meat-free breakfast which was very healthy :) Thank you, we will come back x

Reviewed by
Danielle S

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfy&hospitable
Had a lovely stay, comfy bed, excellent breakfast, lovely hostess. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
p caldwell

From runcorn, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have never stayed in such a welcoming and brilliant bed and breakfast,nothing was too much trouble
The lady who owns this business deserves to be full and busy every night of the day. Wonderful wonderful place tyo stay, just near enought to Edinburgh, but just far enough away. The village of Colinton is also good.

Reviewed by
joan k

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean , comfortable room . Sandra was very welcoming and cooked a lovely breakfast. Only downside was traffic noise early in the morning.

Reviewed by
A Johnston

From Singapore, Singapore
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming, comfortable and interesting
A very comfortable stay in an unusual building. Definitely to be recommended as a first choice for a stay in Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
Neil Curtis

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect hostess, very helpfulful and accommodating. Food - highly recommend this. nothing to fault.
I have no hesittion in recommending this B&B.

Reviewed by
n clark

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next