No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Barony House

3Visit Scotland Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
20 Mayfield Gardens, Newington, Edinburgh, EH9 2BZ
Barony House is a lovely Victorian terraced villa, retaining its traditional appearance with some wonderful original cornice work and elegant high ceiling rooms. It is located on a main bus route and easily allows guests to access the city in 10 minutes. Leo and Susie have been looking after guests in Edinburgh for more than 20 years and their warm welcome excellent service and delicious home cooked breakfast bring people back again and again from all over the world.
Barony House can comfortably accommodate up to 14 people at any one time and we regularly greet single guests on business, couples and families on holiday and whole parties in Edinburgh for weddings and functions, kilts and all!
We have a range of accommodation to suit your needs.
5 rooms are en-suite and 1 has it's own private bathroom where dressing gowns are provided!
Tea,coffee,hot chocolate and a complimentary tipple in every room.
All rooms have a desk, colour Freeview TV, hair drier and central heating.
Picture of Barony House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
A comfortable and pleasant stay. The breakfast was delicious . There seemed to be a problem with the plumbing as the shower turned off while in use and the toilet cistern was very noisy. The bed was comfy and the room was clean and well decorated. There is easy access into town.

ManagementResponse

In reference to the above review we have had our plumber in to check the shower (which is on the mains and not electric) and the toilet cistern and he cannot find anything wrong with it. I am really sorry that you didn't feel that it was worth coming down and telling us you felt you had a problem during your stay to give us a chance to rectify it to your satisfaction.

Reviewed by
Hazel H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B & B
Great room on the ground floor to the rear of the property. Beautifully decorated, clean and quiet. Very good breakfast - well organised. On bus route for city. Buses almost every 5 Mins.

Reviewed by
Patricia Loveridge

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very close to Edinburgh city
Acc

Reviewed by
SAMAN C

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend
Lovely B&B on the outskirts of the city, plenty of buses stop outside to take you to the centre or about a 30 min walk (or faster if you dont stop to look in shops), carnt really fault anything as nothing was ever to much trouble for Fernando or his staff. A book had been compliled with lots of info on restuarants in the area and buses to catch.We had a room at the rear overlooking the pretty gardens. Breakfast was fab and plentiful. My only complaint was the room was so hot we kept the window open, there again Im sure someone would have said they were cold! All in all enjoyed our stay.

ManagementResponse

Dear Julie M, Thank you very much for staying with us in Edinburgh. It was a pleasure having you here as a customer and we really hope to welcome you back in your future visit to our lovely city. I am sorry the room was too warm for you hopefully next time we can work something out for you to feel more comfortable. Best regards, Fernando M, Manager

Reviewed by
Julie M

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter weekend
My husband and I had a very enjoyable stay at Barony House. Our room was tastefully decorated, very clean and had a view of the lovely rear garden.
The breakfast was well served and included porridge, cereals, a full Scottish breakfast, toast, yoghurts and continental choices.
The centre of Edinburgh is a 20/25 minute walk away, or £1:50 one way, on the very frequent bus service. A daily travel ticket was £ 3:50, which could be used to travel to all the attractions Edinburgh has to offer.
Sue and Leo were very welcoming. It was a pleasure to stay at Barony House.

Reviewed by
Susan W

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mr and Mrs G
Really enjoyed our two night stay at barony house, very warm welcome, very helpful and friendly, nice breakfast, good size room very clean, only a short distance from the city, would definitely stay there again....thank you

Reviewed by
Michelle G

From widnes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service all round. We were arriving late and this was not a problem. We were made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Stephon Bishop

From Newton Stewart, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendliest place I have stayed
The owners were lovely excellent customer service and the location is ideal. Would definately recommend and visit again!

Reviewed by
X Young

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful experience
Our host and hostess were very welcoming, warm and understanding. we were happy with the location as it was not far from the town centre and there was a variety of buses to suit our every need. We liked the warmth and cleanliness of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Elaine C

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, Comfortable and Great Breakfasts
I had a very comfortable two nights at Barony House and it was warm, clean, comfortable, had very friendly hosts and fabulous breakfasts (the bacon was cooked perfectly... no soggy fat, just crisp loveliness). Several local restaurants were recommended and, if you don't want to wander far, the Indian restaurant 100 years down the road is great. I picked the hotel because it was close to where I was attending a conference but it is incredibly easy to get into the centre of Edinburgh on busses which stop very close to the hotel. Barony House was a lovely find.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next