No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Guards Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh, EH12 5DR
The Guards hotel is perfectly located opposite Haymarket Station, in Edinburgh's City Centre, offering excellent accommodation and a warm welcome.
Picture of The Guards Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great, friendly stay
A very good place to spend a short break. Friendly & welcoming staff with a great adjoining bar/association club.

Reviewed by
Keith Kenworthy

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap weekend getaway
Me and my partner booked a cheap break away. The hotel was good value for money but the reviews on here were misleading to how far the walk was to the nearest hotspots and nightlife in the city. There was not much sign of staff throughout our stay and the welcome from the guards hotel bar was very icey as we are not ex service members. The hotel was clean and comfortable enough though.

Reviewed by
Laura H

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab wee find
From the outside it's easy to pre judge the standard of the hotel, it's attached to a club for service men and women. On entering the hotel we were met by Stephen, he was exceptionally courteous and led us up to our room, my expectations were NOT met, the room was beautiful, well laid out and immaculately clean. The en suite was large and also beautifully clean, the only flaw was the chipped paint on the claw foot bath, this would be a ridiculous complaint. The breakfast was sufficient, we had a choice of cereal, toast, cooked breakfast tea or coffee, the food was cooked to perfection. We also had the company of about 40 ex servicemen as they had a reunion in the rooms above the breakfast/bar room. The Major although evidently a busy man, made the time to speak to each of the guests and put us at ease. If it's friendly, well run hotel with no pretence at being anything other than somewhere to rest your head and made to feel welcome, this is absolutely the place to stay.

Reviewed by
Sharon B

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, good price, good service. Can't really complain!
Stayed for two nights due to business. Only a 5 minute walk to centre of Edinburgh, good public transport outside hotel too. Booked a single room but got a free upgrade. Stayed at weekend and had no bother from noisy customers etc or stag/hen parties. Customer service was fine, decent breakfasts and friendly staff. Would recommend for those who are going to be out and about quite a bit and looking to get some decent sleep afterwards. 7/10

Reviewed by
Adrian A

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only booked here as kate rooms said it was close to venue. It wasn't!!

Reviewed by
Paul V

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Pet friendly Hotel in Edinburgh
Hotel is a bit old and tired in decoration etc. Room basic but fine and very good for the money

Reviewed by
Andrew McIlvride

From Lochgilphead, Scotland
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

SHORT BREAK
Clean, comfortable, friendly with well furnished large rooms. Good situation with centre being in walking distance. Good value at reduced rate but would have been dissapointed at full rate. Tram works directly outside at moment with noise from 6.30 am ! Parking not easy and not cheap either . Overall had an enjoyable stay. Windsor Castle room very nice.

Reviewed by
Iain K

From Chesterfield, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bien, apenas lo que buscamos, central y limpio, apenas para el precio

Reviewed by
Y Ortiz

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3