Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Grasmere Hotels > Best Western Grasmere Red Lion Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Grasmere Red Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Red Lion Square, Grasmere, LA22 9SS
The BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel lies at the heart of the Lake District, and provides the ideal base for walking in and around stunning countryside. Even if you decide to stay indoors, all our rooms overlook the Lakeland Fells, so you can enjoy breathtaking scenery wherever you are!
A converted coaching inn, the hotel combines comfort and character. In a village setting, you'll get a real feel for rural life and you'll be able to live it to the full thanks to nearby attractions and places of interest!
Close to Dove Cottage and the Wordsworth Museum, you'll also have your pick of local beauty spots.
The Best Western Grasmere Red Lion has 49 bedrooms, each with flat screen tv's and Ipod docking stations. The hotel has free onsite parking, free WIFI, two bars, a restaurant, and a leisure club with 20m swimming pool, sauna, spa bath and steam room and a small gym.
Picture of Best Western Grasmere Red Lion Hotel, Grasmere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely short break.
My husband and I spent one night in a standard twin room. The room was comfortable, the staff helpful and the breakfast good. We had dinner in the bar, which was excellent, so we can't comment on the restaurant, but the menu looked good.

Reviewed by
Joan G

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and Welcoming
The hotel staff were very helpful and the location was great.

Reviewed by
L Hobson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place.bookec 2 weeks before due to being messed around by another hotel in Anbleside. Glad we did. Got a free upgrade to a lovely attic room. Just what we needed after a difficult few months. Definitely recommend

Reviewed by
L Cowley

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
A Osborne

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really relaxing
We were surprised to get a room upgrade but it added to the enjoyment of our stay. Very helpful staff good facilities and excellent location. Really cannot fault anything about the stay and look forward to returning soon.

Reviewed by
Vernon E

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place To Stay
Booked via Late Rooms. Bargain price. Room upgraded free on arrival. Stayed in the Ruskin Suite which is excellent. Great swimming pool. Good breakfast. Polite and attentive staff. Great Location in the centre of Grasmere. We have stayed here before and once again no complaints. Would recommend without hesitation.

Reviewed by
A Singleton

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

midweek break
the hotel well located in village centre when you first arrive find parking space as these are limited at hotel do not arrive too late in the day we used the bar meals in the evening which were very good we had a standard room and thought the t v was far too small overall very quiet and peaceful location

Reviewed by
trevor a

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for two nights after having this hotel recommended to us by a friend. We specifically chose it for its leisure facilities and so were very disappointed to find that both the sauna and the jacuzzi were broken for the duration of our stay, and the gym floor was soaked with water?
We were disappointed with the size of our room too, but staff informed us on check out that they would have tried to move us to a larger room if we had told them earlier. The worst thing though was finding dirty underwear under the curatins in the room!
We did bring all the abovementioned problems to staffs attention but were only given a verbal apology.
We are regular visitors to the Lake District and normally stay at a different hotel with similar facilities which is cheaper in price. After our unfortunate experience at this Best Western we will definitely be returning to our previous hotel on our next visit.

Reviewed by
A Hackett

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion stay
Wifi continually a problem. Half of spa facilities not working. TV not on for football in bar.

Reviewed by
Paul P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money using Late Rooms
Accommodation good. Breakfast and service very good.
Helpful and pleasant staff.
My wife has a disability and always enjoys the swimming pool when we visit your hotel.
Unfortunately it was out of action during our visit form the 13, 14, and 15th Jan. 2014
Furniture in the lounge looks a little tired.

Reviewed by
Thomas Raymond Outterside

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next