No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Martins Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
5 Granville Terrace, Edinburgh, EH104PQ
Denise and Steven Laurie would like to welcome you to Martin’s Guest House. Martin's is a traditional Victorian end terraced house providing free Private Parking (Limited Spaces Available, please email or telephone to check availabilities before booking) and is a friendly family run house pleasantly decorated and retaining many of its original features. An Ideal base from which to explore the delights of Scotland's beautiful capital city and beyond.
We are Open All Year with only a 20mins Walk or 5mins by bus to our city centre.
Picture of Martins Guest House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
This is such a nice place. I stayed in room six. The only issues I have were the t.v placement. It's on the wall bedside the bed which you can't actually see if you lie on the bed because of the screen. The breakfast was also average. The bacon could have been more cooked and an egg option would have been nice as I am not a fan of scrambled. Other than that it was lovely. The man looking after the house was very polite and helpful and the room was perfect. Thank you.

Reviewed by
E Jacobs

From Turriff, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay
very clean, well looked after and very accessible. Recommend a stay here.

Reviewed by
j young

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely single rooms, pleasant staff, and a really amazing breakfast. The staff were a little too busy to assist me in the morning and I was nearly late for my meeting as a result; however breakfast must be important to them, as they get such good reviews for it, so they were clearly all hands on deck with that. Overall, a beautiful little gem of a place to stay, especially if you're a single traveller.

Reviewed by
H Brown

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quiet place with good food
The variety of food is great and the people are very nice. The location is nice with bus towards the city centre directly. The room is comfortable and the shared bathroom is spacious.

Reviewed by
M Lu

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay, very friendly people, very clean bathroom n bedroom, great facility's, also modern,good breakfast, we were also running late next day but they didn't rush us at all.. Would definetly go back!!

Reviewed by
Kayleigh K

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff,nice place

Reviewed by
Robert O'Neill

From Berwick upon Tweed, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, great value, B & B
I booked this B &B at the last minute, as most of the conference hotels were booked or out of budget, now I'm glad they were!
Welcoming friendly staff, nice room, and delicious breakfast, only a short walk from the conference centre, and I fitted in a run in the nearby parks, perfect!

Reviewed by
Rebecca M

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service with a few small 'glitches'
My husband and I were travelling to Edinburgh with a friend and had booked a double room and a single for our friend. There was a last minute situation with the single room and we ended up in the apartment sharing with our friend - just as well that it is a good friend and that we could share. Denise was most helpful in the unexpected change she requested from us and had gone out of her way to accommodate us in the apartment, keeping us together in the same B&B. The only thing was that our friend slept in the lounge and had lights all night from the stairwell, had no place to hang clothes and the bathroom was not really suitable for three adults. Surmountable issues and we did still enjoy our stay. Would prefer the double room and en-suite as these looked great - nice breakfast and super hospitality.

Reviewed by
Susan B

From East Molesey, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Water pressure in shower and taps was poor. Bathroom shelf was so close to basin that it was almost impossible to brush teeth, was face etc. I thought it was expensive for 3 star accommodation at £100 a night.

Reviewed by
T Oneill

From Berkhamsted, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Martin's Guest House Edinburgh
Considering the price of everything in Edinburgh is hiked during the Fringe, this was very good value. We had a lovely clean and quiet en-suite room, plus a separate lounge and little terrace to sit out on. It is possible to walk into the city, but buses go from just outside roughly every 10 minutes and a taxi office is just 200 metres away. Friendly staff and nice breakfast - we would happily come here to stay again.

Reviewed by
Lynne M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next