Marchfield Guest House

3

1b MARCHFIELD GROVE, EDINBURGH, EH4 5BN

Price From 103.57 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

76% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Colin H

  • April 2015

A recommendation

This accommodation was very clean, the owner friendly and helpful.

We had enjoyed having a fridge in the room as we had specific dietary requirements so we had storage for our foodstuffs. Easy access to town.

  • Julia B

  • February 2015

Very Pleasant Stay

The accommodation was very clean but basic.

The double bed was rather small for my tall husband but he slept well all the same. The landlady Julie was very helpful with any questions that we had. We were out all day and it was fine to come back to sleep at night.

  • Christina M

  • November 2014

Good Stay - friendly welcome and room was clean!

I stayed here when I was going to a rugby game at Murrayfield.

I picked the hotel because the website said it was close. It is only close if you are a keen walker, and even then it takes 20 minutes on foot and if you are not a keen walker, it takes 45 minutes. Julie gave us a pleasant welcome. The room was fine and it was very clean. The shared bathroom was lovely and you couldn't tell you were sharing it. The only downside is the continental breakfast. Seen as you don't get a cooked breakfast, I expected there to be a much bigger choice and of a better quality (muffins, smoothies, muesli, fresh fruit, fresh milk, etc...). Overall, it was a lovely stay, let down by the breakfast.

  • Alys L

  • October 2014

disappointing

welcomed to accommodation - was told we were being put up in garage!!.

this had been part converted. part still had only a corrugated plastic roof held up with rotten wood beams. place got very cold at night. there was a cooker attached to the sink in kitchen area but we were told we could not use this. breakfast was abysmal consisting of choice of 2 tiny packs of cereal, uht milk, thawed croissants tea/coffee and 2 packs of biscuits. even at reduced rates this was, in my opinion definitely not any kind of value for money. the constant road noise was very loud especially during the night. all in all not an experience I would wish to repeat. other than our welcome the only time we saw the proprietor was when we handed in the keys when we left. she was very pleasant but that did not make up for a most disappointing stay

  • ian gray

  • October 2014

stay at marchfield guesthouse

breakfast was very poor flakes and bread that's it

  • James S

  • September 2014

3 day visit

Went for lads holiday and was clean and close to all the things you want from a city

  • Martina D

  • July 2014

Pleasent stay

We really liked the owners, Julia was really helpfull, we have shared bathroom but did not have any trouble to share with few people; very clean and cute, breakfest in the fridge to eat in the room ( you can eat it in your pyjamas :) ).

Generally the accomodation in Edinbourgh is expensive, so this was cheap version. It takes 20 minutes to get to the centre by public transport

  • douglas m

  • June 2014

one to avoid, unless you're desperate

Not worth the half price deal I paid.

God forbid paying £100 full price. There's not any one thing wrong here, but so many small flaws that it leaves you feeling disappointment. Room small, too hot in room, but open the window and you are kept awake by the constant traffic noise, day and night. A noisy old fridge that I has to switch off at 4 am, the side hanging off the shared bath, the smell of wet dogs from downstairs . Inadequate parking, having to squeeze against the hedge of a very narrow cul-de-sac. The neighbours must hate them. Payment being sought within 10 seconds or arrival, before a hello chat. The continental breakfast left in the fridge - how lazy can you get. Any positives. Had to think hard - the biscuits were nice. All in all, a place to steer clear of.

  • Martin H

  • June 2014

We we're in Edinurh for two nights.

Our accomodation was changed but owner was the same. I have to say that lady Julia is very dear and helpfull. She sent me all details which we needed. Apartman was nice quiet and almost everything else was fine.

  • Nicola M

  • June 2014

Pleasant stay at the marchfield

Stayed at the marchfield for one night with my family.

The rooms where basic but clean and comfortable. The lady was very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend the marchfield to a friend. We enjoyed our stay.