No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marchfield Guest House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1b MARCHFIELD GROVE , EDINBURGH, EH4 5BN
Marchfield Guest House is family run offering a warm welcome to visitors on holiday or business. We are conveiently situated just off the main road North on a bus route into the city centre.
We offer a continental breakfast in your room so you can take breakfast at your leisure. We are within walking distance of Murrayfield Rugby Stadium.
Picture of Marchfield Guest House, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay - friendly welcome and room was clean!
I stayed here when I was going to a rugby game at Murrayfield. I picked the hotel because the website said it was close. It is only close if you are a keen walker, and even then it takes 20 minutes on foot and if you are not a keen walker, it takes 45 minutes. Julie gave us a pleasant welcome. The room was fine and it was very clean. The shared bathroom was lovely and you couldn't tell you were sharing it. The only downside is the continental breakfast. Seen as you don't get a cooked breakfast, I expected there to be a much bigger choice and of a better quality (muffins, smoothies, muesli, fresh fruit, fresh milk, etc...). Overall, it was a lovely stay, let down by the breakfast.

Reviewed by
Christina M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay at marchfield guesthouse
breakfast was very poor flakes and bread that's it

Reviewed by
ian gray

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing
welcomed to accommodation - was told we were being put up in garage!!! this had been part converted. part still had only a corrugated plastic roof held up with rotten wood beams. place got very cold at night. there was a cooker attached to the sink in kitchen area but we were told we could not use this. breakfast was abysmal consisting of choice of 2 tiny packs of cereal, uht milk, thawed croissants tea/coffee and 2 packs of biscuits. even at reduced rates this was, in my opinion definitely not any kind of value for money. the constant road noise was very loud especially during the night. all in all not an experience I would wish to repeat. other than our welcome the only time we saw the proprietor was when we handed in the keys when we left. she was very pleasant but that did not make up for a most disappointing stay

Reviewed by
Alys L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 day visit
Went for lads holiday and was clean and close to all the things you want from a city

Reviewed by
James S

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasent stay
We really liked the owners, Julia was really helpfull, we have shared bathroom but did not have any trouble to share with few people; very clean and cute, breakfest in the fridge to eat in the room ( you can eat it in your pyjamas :) ). Generally the accomodation in Edinbourgh is expensive, so this was cheap version. It takes 20 minutes to get to the centre by public transport

Reviewed by
Martina D

From Pilsen, Czech Republic
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one to avoid, unless you're desperate
Not worth the half price deal I paid. God forbid paying £100 full price. There's not any one thing wrong here, but so many small flaws that it leaves you feeling disappointment. Room small, too hot in room, but open the window and you are kept awake by the constant traffic noise, day and night. A noisy old fridge that I has to switch off at 4 am, the side hanging off the shared bath, the smell of wet dogs from downstairs . Inadequate parking, having to squeeze against the hedge of a very narrow cul-de-sac. The neighbours must hate them! Payment being sought within 10 seconds or arrival, before a hello chat. The continental breakfast left in the fridge - how lazy can you get?
Any positives? Had to think hard - the biscuits were nice!
All in all, a place to steer clear of.

Reviewed by
douglas m

From Largs, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay at the marchfield
Stayed at the marchfield for one night with my family. The rooms where basic but clean and comfortable. The lady was very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend the marchfield to a friend. We enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Nicola M

From Bellshill, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We we're in Edinurh for two nights. Our accomodation was changed but owner was the same. I have to say that lady Julia is very dear and helpfull. She sent me all details which we needed.
Apartman was nice quiet and almost everything else was fine.

Reviewed by
Martin H

From Vojkovice, Czech Republic
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
We stayed here for 3 nights and it was lovely place. We had no complaints whatsoever. The owner was lovely and very helpful.

Reviewed by
S Shah

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not What I expected
We hired this because we were going to the Rugby at Murrayfield, and the Travel lodges wanted extortionate sums because of the Rugby that weekend.
We were met at the door. Julie asked how we were paying - before showing us the room - and disappeared to take a credit card payment. I was a bit concerned that she had my credit card details written down in a book from my initial booking. After showing us the room we never saw anybody again.
Breakfast was straight from Tesco. A Croissant wrapped in cling film, so that was dry by the morning. Yoghurt, Fruit salad and Variety box of cereal in fridge. Alright if you like Coco Pops.
A couple of bits of packed cheese and jam.
The fridge is either on its last legs or - as I suspect - had recently been moved. It turned on every 30 seconds or so and you could hear the fluid gurgle in the back. I turned it off on our second night. TV probably 30 years old. 14 inch screen with purple colouring where tube gone.
The electrical disposal toilet that made a right racket when flushed or even whilst having a pee. No extractor fan in the tiny bathroom, and window/skylight that does not open, which explains the black marks round the shower.
Minimal room as converted attic. The location was the best bit.

Reviewed by
Roger Masson

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next