Reviews - Marchfield Guest House



Price From 104.55 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (15)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Bermingham

  • August 2015

A Memorable Edinburgh Escape, For All The Right Reasons

My sister and I stayed at the Marchfield Guest House in late August 2015, while sampling the famous Edinburgh Fringe Festival.

While it took us a few minutes to find our destination from the main road, we were greeted warmly on arrival and given all the information we needed to help ensure we had an enjoyable stay.

Having struggled to source suitable accommodation in the city at this time of year, we were pleasantly surprised by the size and decor of our ensuite double bedroom (with an additional bed). The room was clean and very bright, with a hairdryer, towels, bathroom supplies and tea / coffee-making facilities to hand. Our beds were also perfectly comfortable.

We found the owner to be very friendly and helpful, while not being over-bearing. For example, there was no problem with us leaving our cases in the hall on our day of check-out as we were not flying until that evening and didn't fancy carrying them around the city with us for the day.

When compared to the excessive cost of some accommodation options in the city at that time of year (particularly hostels, where we may have had to share with several strangers), Marchfield Guest House was very good value for money.

It may be situated some minutes outside the city centre, however a regular bus service (day tickets just £4) meant this never became a problem for us. Even at night, we were able to get a taxi from Princes' Street for just under £10.

The owners take a novel approach to serving breakfast in that rather than the typical fry-up fare, a continental breakfast (fruit, yoghurts, cereal, croissants and juice) is instead served in the bedrooms by way of a mini-fridge. This suited us perfectly as it meant we didn't have to be up by a certain time to catch breakfast and could avail of a healthier breakfast than much of the standard fare. However, it's something to bear in mind if you love your English / Irish breakfast while away. The Edinburgh Fringe Festival was a blast - we're delighted we chose to visit and would very much recommend anyone tripping to Edinburgh for any occasion (business or leisure) stay at the Marchfield Guest House.

  • Colin H

  • April 2015

A recommendation

This accommodation was very clean, the owner friendly and helpful.

We had enjoyed having a fridge in the room as we had specific dietary requirements so we had storage for our foodstuffs. Easy access to town.

  • Julia B

  • February 2015

Very Pleasant Stay

The accommodation was very clean but basic.

The double bed was rather small for my tall husband but he slept well all the same. The landlady Julie was very helpful with any questions that we had. We were out all day and it was fine to come back to sleep at night.

  • Christina M

  • November 2014

Good Stay - friendly welcome and room was clean!

I stayed here when I was going to a rugby game at Murrayfield.

I picked the hotel because the website said it was close. It is only close if you are a keen walker, and even then it takes 20 minutes on foot and if you are not a keen walker, it takes 45 minutes. Julie gave us a pleasant welcome. The room was fine and it was very clean. The shared bathroom was lovely and you couldn't tell you were sharing it. The only downside is the continental breakfast. Seen as you don't get a cooked breakfast, I expected there to be a much bigger choice and of a better quality (muffins, smoothies, muesli, fresh fruit, fresh milk, etc...). Overall, it was a lovely stay, let down by the breakfast.

  • Alys L

  • October 2014


welcomed to accommodation - was told we were being put up in garage!!.

this had been part converted. part still had only a corrugated plastic roof held up with rotten wood beams. place got very cold at night. there was a cooker attached to the sink in kitchen area but we were told we could not use this. breakfast was abysmal consisting of choice of 2 tiny packs of cereal, uht milk, thawed croissants tea/coffee and 2 packs of biscuits. even at reduced rates this was, in my opinion definitely not any kind of value for money. the constant road noise was very loud especially during the night. all in all not an experience I would wish to repeat. other than our welcome the only time we saw the proprietor was when we handed in the keys when we left. she was very pleasant but that did not make up for a most disappointing stay

  • ian gray

  • October 2014

stay at marchfield guesthouse

breakfast was very poor flakes and bread that's it

  • James S

  • September 2014

3 day visit

Went for lads holiday and was clean and close to all the things you want from a city

  • Martina D

  • July 2014

Pleasent stay

We really liked the owners, Julia was really helpfull, we have shared bathroom but did not have any trouble to share with few people; very clean and cute, breakfest in the fridge to eat in the room ( you can eat it in your pyjamas :) ).

Generally the accomodation in Edinbourgh is expensive, so this was cheap version. It takes 20 minutes to get to the centre by public transport

  • douglas m

  • June 2014

one to avoid, unless you're desperate

Not worth the half price deal I paid.

God forbid paying £100 full price. There's not any one thing wrong here, but so many small flaws that it leaves you feeling disappointment. Room small, too hot in room, but open the window and you are kept awake by the constant traffic noise, day and night. A noisy old fridge that I has to switch off at 4 am, the side hanging off the shared bath, the smell of wet dogs from downstairs . Inadequate parking, having to squeeze against the hedge of a very narrow cul-de-sac. The neighbours must hate them. Payment being sought within 10 seconds or arrival, before a hello chat. The continental breakfast left in the fridge - how lazy can you get. Any positives. Had to think hard - the biscuits were nice. All in all, a place to steer clear of.

  • Martin H

  • June 2014

We we're in Edinurh for two nights.

Our accomodation was changed but owner was the same. I have to say that lady Julia is very dear and helpfull. She sent me all details which we needed. Apartman was nice quiet and almost everything else was fine.