No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marchfield Guest House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1b MARCHFIELD GROVE , EDINBURGH, EH4 5BN
Marchfield Guest House is family run offering a warm welcome to visitors on holiday or business. We are conveiently situated just off the main road North on a bus route into the city centre.
We offer a continental breakfast in your room so you can take breakfast at your leisure. We are within walking distance of Murrayfield Rugby Stadium.
Picture of Marchfield Guest House, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst B&B ever
Where to start, Smelly, Dirty, Breakfast a joke, carpets frayed and trip hazard. Without doubt the worst b&b my wife and I have stayed in.

Reviewed by
Andrew Kirk

From Larkhall, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Price high quality low
Asked for payment on arrival which suggested something. Room was small, you could hardly get round the bed, breakfast was a DIY picnic with a slightly stale croissant and what was left of the complimentary instant tea/coffee from the night before. Long life milk and other bits in the fridge. See other reviews for traffic noise, quality of fittings, facilities etc, View from the window looked like a breaker's yard. TV controller had flat batteries. We paid £85 for a night at this place and felt completely ripped off. Suggestions that it might be worth the "normal rate" of £110 a night are laughable. OK if you just want a bed and a quick get away - but don't pay more than about £25 ppp night max

Reviewed by
N CLARKE

From Much Hadham, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chambre exiguë, comme mobilier un lit et une table 40/40 (pas de chaise pour le petit déjeuner)
Une seule salle de bain avec W.C. pour 3 chambres.
Gentillesse de notre hôte qui a passé pour nous une commande de pizza à livrer et nous a offert la boisson

Reviewed by
j BOILLET

From corny sur moselle, France
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Aunque la casa estaba nueva y muy limpia, creo que es algo cara para la zona en la que está (unos 20 minutos en bus al centro) y sobre todo porque la habitación es muy pequeña. el desayuno algo básico.

Reviewed by
Rebeca C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lo svantaggio principale è la lontananza dal centro per chi viaggia con i mezzi, circa 15 minuti di autobus. Se prendete l'autobus dal centro, assicuratevi che vada a Queensferry, non tutti gli autisti conoscono la stradina dell'albergo.
La signora è molto gentile e disponibile, la stanza che avevamo noi era piuttosto piccolina ma dotata di lavabo, mentre il bagno vero e proprio era in comune con un'altra sola stanza (non che sia stato un grande problema, ma la cosa non chiaramente specificata al momento della prenotazione). Comunque abbiamo potuto vedere che sono disponibili almeno altre 2 stanze molto più grandi con bagno interno.
La colazione si consuma in camera ed è solo continentale - succhi di frutta, latte, cornetti confezionati, frutta.

Reviewed by
Livia F

From Italy
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

la signoraa julie è stata carina con noi.

Reviewed by
francesco b

From , Italy
Who stayed in August 2012

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Hosts very friendly and helpful. Very knowledgeable of the area eg. restaurants to eat, bus times, road directions. Continental breakfast very good. Room nice and clean. Very cosy stay. Excellent all round.

Reviewed by
Alison K

From Burton on Trent, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4