You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Mayville Guest House

2

Mayville Guest House 5 Minto Street, EDINBURGH, EH9 1RG

Price From 135.92 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (61)

72% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Donna S

  • September 2016

Terrible!

Upon arrival the manager/owner was rude and unpleasant.

Showed us to room up long stairs.

Wow the room OMG. Decor was dreadful and looked like a child had done the papering. The bathroom had stock on tiled to the floor which were broken and coming off. The shower cubicle was mouldy.

The TV was tiny.

But we thought one night just manage.

We went out got tea and arrived back at 11.50 to find the lights in the long poky stairs did not work. The bannister was coming of the wall. I have MS not great at all.

Then when we got into the room the lights in there was also not working only sockets.

We will never ever be returning EVER.

Terrible experience .

  • Richard Thornton

  • September 2016

A GREAT BREAK IN EDINBURGH

We had a few days holiday in Edinburgh and were very impressed with the" olde-world-charm " it exhudes wherever we went.

The shopping is excellent and plenty restaurants to choose from. Sightseeing is a must and we visited the castle with it's fascinating and long history. Our guesthouse was very comfortable and affordable. The manager, Tommy, was very helpful and informative as to where to go and what to see. On the whole we had a very enjoyable stay!

  • A Bouilouta

  • August 2016

My Stay

Not good value for money.

Hole in wall, DIY items on the window sill, bad mould in the shower room,extract fan was full of dirt in the bathroom, bathroom flooring was peeling up. Spiders web on the top on bedside lamp and one from the ceiling. The rooms is advertised with free wifi, there was not any internet in my room and when I mention it to the owner, he already knew the signal would not reach my room. I have photos of all the stated issues.

  • Paul W

  • August 2016

Value for money

This is a value for money establishment.

It's fit for purpose. Although, you may wish to take your own light bulbs. When I went to my room I could only get a bathroom light and bedside light working, but the owner was very friendly and gave me some light bulbs so I could see. Breakfast is simple, yet adequate.

  • Valerie L

  • July 2016

The Mayville Guest House

Very good value for money

  • A Robson

  • July 2016

City break

Handy location

  • Janet Taylor

  • July 2016

Not enough for the money

I had read other reviews and seen that people said it was value for money , if that is the case then I expect more for my money.

The room wasn't clean , the carpet needed a good hover and the bathroom needed some bleach . The second morning we struggled to get any hot water for a shower . The breakfast was complimentary and was more than adequate for us with the exception that the milk tasted a little off. In hindsight I would have paid more for a more generic hotel chain for a couple of night than stay here again.

  • Sergey K

  • June 2016

A decent place with a charm

Absolutely loved the place.

Anyone seeking for a charming place to stay with a decent level of comfort, will certainly be happy with the stay. Of course, anyone sickly obsessed with spotlessness may want to prefer soulless Travel Lodge instead, but for a person with a healthy mind a thing as tiny and insignificant as a dead bee on the floor will never overbalance private shower, lovely backyard, simple, but nice breakfast, a friendly host and location not so far away from the the city centre. .

The Mayville Guest House is a great choice and excellent value for money. Will definitely stay there again and recommend the other!.

  • Judy Samuels

  • June 2016

A Jewel in the City

The Manager Tommy welcomed us warmly and was at hand to offer assistance and advice.

The free Continental breakfast was excellent.

The Guest House is located on a main road and it is very easy to travel to the city centre from there.

  • Andreea R

  • June 2016

The Mayville Guest House

The Mayville Guest House