No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mayville Guest House

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Mayville Guest House 5 Minto Street, EDINBURGH, EH9 1RG
Large elegent georgian villa 3 star guest house with private parking, providing spacious accomodation with period features.

The Accommodation comprises:

Variety of rooms available from large spacious en-suite family rooms to twin/double en-suite rooms, all are decorated to a high standard. TV and tea/coffee making facilities are standard. Breakfast is vegetarian. We served it in the elegant dining room.

Central location ideally placed to allow guests to explore and enjoy the delights of Edinburgh.

Features:
-Internet access
-Private/Free parking
-Telephone
-Towels and linen provided
-TV

Please note : For all rugby and August weekends, the minimal stay is 2 nights. For Hogmanay (December 29 - January 1st), 3 nights minimum are required and we only accept arrival on the December 29 and 30 (no checking in on the 31 or the 1st) Thank you.
Picture of The Mayville Guest House, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 171 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant and friendly guest house close to Edinburgh city centre

Reviewed by
E Oliver-Evans

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, well priced and pleasant surrounds
We were very pleased with everything about our stay at the Mayville

Reviewed by
Julie Kearns

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was a twin and had just been painted so stank appallingly of paint. The paint pots were still lying about in the garden. Our room was up the back stairs and required passing the bins "sorry about the bins it's fortnightly collection" which were overflowing.... cleanliness is clearly a low priority at this guesthouse. We would have checked out and gone somewhere else but the festival was on so we were left to grin and bear the £520 no cancellation bill for 4 days for what was very basic with a manky old carpet and stained towel. We had to rewash teacups before using. A short end of toilet roll was provided. One bed was reasonably comfortable, the other wasn't. The tiny flat-screen TV worked fine. The toilet and shower worked ok though the shower bracket wasn't fixed to the wall properly. The Wifi didn't reach the back of the building. Since breakfast was included we were relieved to eat elsewhere having glanced at the kitchen off our access stairs. My son's review? Why don't we sleep in the car........ if you stay here avoid the rear entrance....

Reviewed by
John D

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tommy was great and helped us out whenever he could!
There were three of us staying for three night during the Commonwealth Games 2014 Diving in Edinburgh. We had a great time and the B&B was a perfect location. Tommy helped us out tonnes whenever we had questions and the Breakfast was perfect. He even bought in potato scones for me

Reviewed by
Christopher McKendry

From Coatbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate, no more tham

Reviewed by
C Gymer

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Run Away Don't Stay Here!!!
Window would not open or close the blinds were sticking out of the window. Bathroom was tiny hit your head on the sink every time that went to sit on the toilet. Shower had to step up into the shower basin at least 12" forgot to measure but it's a high step up and down. 2nd day of stay the towels were wet hanging over shower door and towels were folded and places on top of the duvet. Flooring was laid onto the bathroom floor but not trimmed into place or fixed into place. Room smell like it had mold in it but couldn't tell if it was the room or from outside since window wouldn't close. Parking area was full of rubbish (cups, newspapers, boxes, etc.) that's been sitting there for while and loads of cigarette butts thrown onto the ground around the down pipe.
Looked for the manager around 4:00 pm and the breakfast area still had crumbs around the breakfast serving dishes. Bananas on the breakfast area was more large black spots instead of nice yellow areas. They looked like they should have been thrown out days ago. Hotel is listed as a 3 star on their website and also on Laterooms.com but manager said no their hotel is a 2 star not a 3 star. Only good thing is received £30.00 off the total room bill.

Reviewed by
darrin w

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Breakfast
An interesting property with lots of historic paintings/prints and a beautiful stain glass window. The manager made our visit as he was very friendly and helpful especially in directions and buses to catch. The breakfast was served in the front room and the choice was vast and well presented and covered for hygiene. A cooked breakfast was also available. The B & B is on a bus route and is close to shops , bars and restaurants. The double bed was very comfortable. The only criticism was that the cleanliness of the room could have been better ( carpets and shower-room). However, I would have no hesitation in returning there.

Reviewed by
A Paterson

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Stayed here for two nights. Hotel was lovely, welcoming and very friendly. Couldn't fault it at all. Food lovely. Stayed in room 3. Brilliant sized room. Central Location. Loved the way the hotel was done up - very vintage and nice. Free parking also. Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I didn't even stay the night as the window didn't open in the room and it was dirty!!

Reviewed by
E Travis

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mayville review
The room was big, tea/coffee provided and the bed was very comfortable. The only downsides were cleanliness (when we arrived there were wrappers on the floor, dust, unclean bathroom), the shower wasn't fitted properly, and it was very noisy as our room was at the front of the house on the main road.

Reviewed by
Emma H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next