No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mayville Guest House

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Mayville Guest House 5 Minto Street, EDINBURGH, EH9 1RG
Large elegent georgian villa 3 star guest house with private parking, providing spacious accomodation with period features.

The Accommodation comprises:

Variety of rooms available from large spacious en-suite family rooms to twin/double en-suite rooms, all are decorated to a high standard. TV and tea/coffee making facilities are standard. Breakfast is vegetarian. We served it in the elegant dining room.

Central location ideally placed to allow guests to explore and enjoy the delights of Edinburgh.

Features:
-Internet access
-Private/Free parking
-Telephone
-Towels and linen provided
-TV

Please note : For all rugby and August weekends, the minimal stay is 2 nights. For Hogmanay (December 29 - January 1st), 3 nights minimum are required and we only accept arrival on the December 29 and 30 (no checking in on the 31 or the 1st) Thank you.
Picture of The Mayville Guest House, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 162 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodation, location was excellent and room was large, bedding and towels totally fresh and laundered. We were only staying one night and would gladly
stay here again.

Reviewed by
karen g

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Mayville Guest House
Exactly how it was described, no unexpected surprises and exactly what I required.

Reviewed by
Tanisha M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Mayville Guest House
Took my girlfriend there for her Birthday 'Romantic' weekend away as I requested it and it was perfect! The bedroom/suite was stunning, poster bed was brilliant, space was fantastic, even had roses in the room as a romantic touch. Lovely outlook onto Hollyrood park in the morning. Breakfast was different, with a spread of buffet continental style and for extra cooked Scottish breakfast which was good. Overall very please with the value for money and attention to detail before we arrived!

Reviewed by
Josh Lee

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The price was great,the room could do with a make over but it was comfy

Reviewed by
IAN B

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay beautiful room
Our stay was very enjoyable it was only for one night I wished it had been longer to enjoy the full experience of our beautiful room. Central for everything & very clean I will visit this guest house again.

Reviewed by
E McCartney

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain
Stayed at the Mayville for a Saturday Evening, Warm and Quick Welcome as he the guy didn't want to bore us with the do's and don'ts. Comfy Bed, Clean room. Shower and toilet is tight but they work. Walk to centre took 10 mins but buses stop outside and run regular even at 1am. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
David F

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for the money
My room was large which included an em suite,there were shops close by and there was parking at the rear.
I will be staying there again

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed our newly refurbished room and you found us handy to get into town. Yes we are spoiled for good quality restaurants and bars on our door step.

Reviewed by
Christopher H

From Cemaes Bay, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for getting to Princess St
Hotel has car parking, close to pubs and restaurants and flat walk to east end of princess st. Room large with en-suite conversion.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your nice comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes you can walk into town in 20 mins but we also have the choice of 10 buses to take you to all areas of tourist attractions if you don't like to walk too much.

Reviewed by
WILLIAM M

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay at a nice hotel.
Enjoyed a short 3 day stay here while looking for a flat in Edinburgh. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was fine and the breakfast was well stocked. Only issue was that wifi didn't reach the room.

Reviewed by
Stuart O

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Middle of the road.
We arrived early and were met by a very pleasant man who said we could leave our car in the parking area and gave us some great ideas for getting around Edinburgh. We were so excited after our previous nights experience. I paid £35 for this room and we were given everything the ad said we would but upon leaving the next morning that very pleasant man was not so pleasant any longer. Seems a little more effort should be focused on after sales service!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments and I'm glad you found my information helpful as you have come to a new place. I feel its my job to give as much help so that you can enjoy the city and make the most of your short time in Edinburgh as there is a lot to see and do. I'm sorry that I came across as not so pleasant the next day. Don't understand what I did or did not do but I'm sorry and will try and be pleasant at all times. Tommy, Manager

Reviewed by
A Hodgson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next