No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mayville Guest House

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Mayville Guest House 5 Minto Street, EDINBURGH, EH9 1RG
Large elegent georgian villa 3 star guest house with private parking, providing spacious accomodation with period features.

The Accommodation comprises:

Variety of rooms available from large spacious en-suite family rooms to twin/double en-suite rooms, all are decorated to a high standard. TV and tea/coffee making facilities are standard. Breakfast is vegetarian. We served it in the elegant dining room.

Central location ideally placed to allow guests to explore and enjoy the delights of Edinburgh.

Features:
-Internet access
-Private/Free parking
-Telephone
-Towels and linen provided
-TV

Please note : For all rugby and August weekends, the minimal stay is 2 nights. For Hogmanay (December 29 - January 1st), 3 nights minimum are required and we only accept arrival on the December 29 and 30 (no checking in on the 31 or the 1st) Thank you.
Picture of The Mayville Guest House, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 162 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for the money
My room was large which included an em suite,there were shops close by and there was parking at the rear.
I will be staying there again

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed our newly refurbished room and you found us handy to get into town. Yes we are spoiled for good quality restaurants and bars on our door step.

Reviewed by
Christopher H

From Cemaes Bay, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for getting to Princess St
Hotel has car parking, close to pubs and restaurants and flat walk to east end of princess st. Room large with en-suite conversion.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your nice comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes you can walk into town in 20 mins but we also have the choice of 10 buses to take you to all areas of tourist attractions if you don't like to walk too much.

Reviewed by
WILLIAM M

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay at a nice hotel.
Enjoyed a short 3 day stay here while looking for a flat in Edinburgh. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was fine and the breakfast was well stocked. Only issue was that wifi didn't reach the room.

Reviewed by
Stuart O

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Middle of the road.
We arrived early and were met by a very pleasant man who said we could leave our car in the parking area and gave us some great ideas for getting around Edinburgh. We were so excited after our previous nights experience. I paid £35 for this room and we were given everything the ad said we would but upon leaving the next morning that very pleasant man was not so pleasant any longer. Seems a little more effort should be focused on after sales service!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments and I'm glad you found my information helpful as you have come to a new place. I feel its my job to give as much help so that you can enjoy the city and make the most of your short time in Edinburgh as there is a lot to see and do. I'm sorry that I came across as not so pleasant the next day. Don't understand what I did or did not do but I'm sorry and will try and be pleasant at all times. Tommy, Manager

Reviewed by
A Hodgson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place to lie your head
If you're heading to Edinburgh for 1 night for a night out and about and you're looking for a place to get ready and sleep that's not a ridiculous price then this place would do the job. Small room, small bathroom, next to no tv signal on tv, could do with a level and a redecoration. However, nice staff, comfy bed, working shower and heating and tea and coffee facilities meant that it was good for the hour prior to going out, sleeping post night out and the half hour prior to checkout. Had car parking too which is handy in Edinburgh. Not the Ritz but would use again to not get ripped off for the pleasure of sleeping somewhere else in Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
Stuart P

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My staying at Mayville
Very friendly owner. Location close to the city center. The room was VERY small and I think is not worth the money I paid. Cooked breakfast was excellent but for additional 5 pounds - I think that regarding to the price of the room it should be included.

Reviewed by
Bojan A

From Ljubljana, Slovenia
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant and friendly guest house close to Edinburgh city centre

Reviewed by
E Oliver-Evans

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, well priced and pleasant surrounds
We were very pleased with everything about our stay at the Mayville

Reviewed by
Julie Kearns

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was a twin and had just been painted so stank appallingly of paint. The paint pots were still lying about in the garden. Our room was up the back stairs and required passing the bins "sorry about the bins it's fortnightly collection" which were overflowing.... cleanliness is clearly a low priority at this guesthouse. We would have checked out and gone somewhere else but the festival was on so we were left to grin and bear the £520 no cancellation bill for 4 days for what was very basic with a manky old carpet and stained towel. We had to rewash teacups before using. A short end of toilet roll was provided. One bed was reasonably comfortable, the other wasn't. The tiny flat-screen TV worked fine. The toilet and shower worked ok though the shower bracket wasn't fixed to the wall properly. The Wifi didn't reach the back of the building. Since breakfast was included we were relieved to eat elsewhere having glanced at the kitchen off our access stairs. My son's review? Why don't we sleep in the car........ if you stay here avoid the rear entrance....

Reviewed by
John D

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tommy was great and helped us out whenever he could!
There were three of us staying for three night during the Commonwealth Games 2014 Diving in Edinburgh. We had a great time and the B&B was a perfect location. Tommy helped us out tonnes whenever we had questions and the Breakfast was perfect. He even bought in potato scones for me

Reviewed by
Christopher McKendry

From Coatbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next