Reviews - The Mayville Guest House

2

Mayville Guest House 5 Minto Street, EDINBURGH, EH9 1RG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (118)

49% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Murray A

  • August 2015

Quirky and comfortable

The decoration is definitely pretty unique, with some parts needing a bit of extra attention, but overall the room was very comfortable, had plenty of storage, everything worked and very well situated.

It's a bit of a walk into the centre of town, but very easy to Arthur's Seat and the bus stops practically outside if you're going a bit further.

  • Liz C

  • August 2015

En-suite problems

Very disappointed as we thought we were booking a bedroom with en-suite bathroom.

In fact a small corner cupboard was the 'shower room.' the W.C was wobbly, tiles loose on floor, step up to small shower caused problems. An unpleasant experience. Bed was comfortable though. Were booked to stay 2 nights but couldn't face it. Manager quite helpful & suggested we could change rooms however One night was enough..

  • Holly B

  • August 2015

Perfect for festival accommodation.

Very friendly and helpful owner. Comfortable room with tv, kettle and en suite.

  • John B

  • August 2015

Perfectly placed for a short walk to the city

A very nice friendly atmosphere, and very helpful.

In an ideal location just on the edge of the city, We would recommend and will certainly go back again.

  • C Christon

  • August 2015

Enjoyable stay

Easy booking.

Lovely room. We thought this accommodation was good value for money. Friendly welcome and lovely room for breakfast. Thanks

  • Karen S

  • July 2015

The Mayville Guest House

Friendly welcome, well located within walking distance of city centre and with off road parking.

Room slightly dated, shower needed re sealing, unable to shut window. New mattress would be advisable. On the whole excellent value for money.

  • Rick C

  • July 2015

Genuinely deserved top marks, brilliant and friendly guest house.

This was an amazing guest house, and genuinely deserves a full marks review.

Its places like this that restore your faith in private run guest houses with that personal touch. I had a couple of special requests as I was making a special trip and the Mayville didn't just accommodate them, they went above and beyond. Its very close to the city centre. It has its own parking. Late check was not a problem (unlike a number of the other guest houses I looked at)

The owner gave us some great knowledge and advice of where to head in the evening. It met my every need and I can't thing of a bad word to say.

  • Jill S

  • July 2015

The Mayville Guest House

Easy 25 min walk to city centre, good private car park.

  • N Clacher

  • July 2015

Best not

The en suite in our room was a poorly executed later change.

There was no hot water to the hand basin, no hot water to the shower one night and an excess another night. The faulty water control in the shower may have been the cause. A light fitting not fully attached looked unsafe. With no counter weight the window required both strength to open and a block of wood to chock it open. We have no intention of ever returning.

  • A Østergaard

  • June 2015

Very cosy

very cosy and friendly, you felt at home