You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Mayville Guest House

2

Mayville Guest House 5 Minto Street, EDINBURGH, EH9 1RG

Price From 68.17 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (61)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Paul W

  • August 2016

Value for money

This is a value for money establishment.

It's fit for purpose. Although, you may wish to take your own light bulbs. When I went to my room I could only get a bathroom light and bedside light working, but the owner was very friendly and gave me some light bulbs so I could see. Breakfast is simple, yet adequate.

  • Valerie L

  • July 2016

The Mayville Guest House

Very good value for money

  • A Robson

  • July 2016

City break

Handy location

  • Janet Taylor

  • July 2016

Not enough for the money

I had read other reviews and seen that people said it was value for money , if that is the case then I expect more for my money.

The room wasn't clean , the carpet needed a good hover and the bathroom needed some bleach . The second morning we struggled to get any hot water for a shower . The breakfast was complimentary and was more than adequate for us with the exception that the milk tasted a little off. In hindsight I would have paid more for a more generic hotel chain for a couple of night than stay here again.

  • Sergey K

  • June 2016

A decent place with a charm

Absolutely loved the place.

Anyone seeking for a charming place to stay with a decent level of comfort, will certainly be happy with the stay. Of course, anyone sickly obsessed with spotlessness may want to prefer soulless Travel Lodge instead, but for a person with a healthy mind a thing as tiny and insignificant as a dead bee on the floor will never overbalance private shower, lovely backyard, simple, but nice breakfast, a friendly host and location not so far away from the the city centre. .

The Mayville Guest House is a great choice and excellent value for money. Will definitely stay there again and recommend the other!.

  • Judy Samuels

  • June 2016

A Jewel in the City

The Manager Tommy welcomed us warmly and was at hand to offer assistance and advice.

The free Continental breakfast was excellent.

The Guest House is located on a main road and it is very easy to travel to the city centre from there.

  • Andreea R

  • June 2016

The Mayville Guest House

The Mayville Guest House

  • Michael H

  • June 2016

Good location for walking into town and several good places to eat locally and did have car parking however room was dirty, sash window chords broken making ventilation difficult.

No obvious evidence of room being serviced each day. Advertised as guest house the difference being no cooked breakfast. Complimentary cereals and bread products including burnt toast available. Clean sheets and towels but bottom sheet did not fit over the two mattresses exposing unprotected old stained and damaged mattresses and divan base.

  • A Hogg

  • May 2016

A quirky home from home

If you are happy to feel you are living in someone's home then you may like this guest house.

It is a bit more slap dash than most hotels but the price reflects that. Pleasant enough and the owner is friendly. The breakfast room is full of lovely old pictures and feels very Scottish. You can help yourself to a variety of tasty muffins, croissants, cereal etc etc.

  • R McAllister

  • March 2016

City Break

Ideal location, 20 min walk from the Royal mile and fantastic views from our room.

Great local bars so no need to walk back into the centre all the time in the evening. Room was ornate and traditional.