Reviews - The Edinburgh Minto Hotel

3

16-18 Minto Street, Edinburgh, Eh91RQ

Price From 140.29 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

72% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • C FERGUSON

  • August 2015

Fine Stay

Handy for nail bar and good traditional pubs.

  • F Teasdale

  • May 2015

lovely hotel with great staff

After looking at reviews I was a little nervous and I really can't see why people are complaining.

From walking through the door to checking out the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Walking into our room was a good delight, it was huge. Although after speaking to staff they did say that our room was the biggest in the hotel, we could of easily fit 2-3 children with us. With a late arrival time of 7:30pm we had light tea in the bar with a few drinks, portion sizes were large and good value for money. Drinks were a bit more expensive but that's what you would pay anywhere in Edinburgh, In the bars we were paying £12-14 a round. Location is also ideal, you can get a bus straight into the centre from right outside of the hotel or reception can order you a taxi which costs approx £8. If you go out for drinks on a night my advice would be to order a taxi back to the hotel as the taxi ranks were horrendously busy.

I could not fault this hotel or the staff, we would definitely stay again and I would recommend it to anyone wanting a city break. Thank you to the staff for making our stay great.

  • christina s

  • April 2015

A man's hotel in a man's world !

Well the first thing I was told is just a room and I had to say that it is bed and breakfast.

I will check she said . then I was given the key to my room which was on the first floor so you can imagine I had to carry my heavy suitcase upstairs so was a bit annoyed. I wish that I had been asked if I needed any help . so that's where the customer service comes to it. because there is a lift which I was not told about and found the day after by the cleaners when I asked to have a another room because there was no mirror for me to see when I do my hair using a hairdryer and the other reason was that there was a banging noise on and off all night that's why I asked to have a another room because I cant sleep when I hear noises. I feel there was a lack of communication between the staff and us. The lounge was more like a pub with two large TV in such a small place with football on where they could have gone to the sitting room where there an another huge TV. I felt out of place. I thought it's not just for a woman alone to travel but was not romantic either for a couple or a family with children. it is a nice hotel just for men and that's I would not go back on my next visit. The food took a long to arrive a least 40 minutes considering it was only a snack . I had a meal as well and that took a long time to and it was not busy. no reason for the waiting. Well all in . was a bit disappointed!. It is still a nice hotel but not for me sorry!.

  • N Liddle

  • March 2015

Great Overnighter

We were caught out by an entry on out calendar and had to quickly book an overnight stay for a concert at the Queens Hall.

A great room - very well equipped (i.e. a 'real' hairdryer was a big bonus for my wife and (had we needed it) iron complete with ironing board). Wi-fi sound. Think we caught the breakfast staff on the hop, since were up early. Had to seek out salt and coffee. But the food was fine. Recommended and great value. And a short walk from the Queens Hall if you're catching a gig. Much praise to the receptionist who was lovely.

  • p thomson

  • March 2015

Nice Staff and Clean room

Hotel clean and staff friendly

  • C Davidson

  • January 2015

Just the two of us

Room a bit small but ok and very clean evening meal very good and also 10/10 for breakfast

  • Gordon M

  • January 2015

Minto quality stay

I was very happy with the accommodation.

It was a late booking as I opted stay in Edinburgh overnight rather than travel back and forth from Glasgow, due to potential bad weather forecast next day. I had stayed at Minto before so had no hesitation staying again. Booking staff were very helpful and the overnight stay was very pleasant. Room was clean, bright and furnished to a high standard. All fittings in room worked ok, shower, kettle and TV. Room was a bit small though, fine for me but some folk might find it a tight squeeze or a bit cramped. Although I didn't require food the restaurant menu, looked good and I would have no hesitation eating breakfast or dinner there at future occasions. Hotel is a good option for those visiting Edinburgh and want somewhere quiet but still near Edinburgh centre.

  • debbie b

  • January 2015

Excellent value

I got a deal on this room, so it was very good value.

The room could have done with a lick of paint, but it was warm (on a cold night), and a decent size. It looked over the back of the hotel so was nice and quiet.The staff could not be faulted and the scambled eggs for breakfast were excellent!

  • Philip G

  • December 2014

Not bad but room for improvement

Nice location but a bit further from the centre than I'd expected but there are plenty of buses and you can get a £3.50 all day ticket.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The room was small but what I had expected, it was clean and tidy and we had a nice view of the garden. Being on the rear of the hotel the room was quiet. We were in room 27 and found the bed comfortable apart from it being two singles zipped together which meant the bedding didn't fit properly and we were constantly wrestling with the bottom sheet and the duvet also there was no mattress or pillow protectors. The bedding had also seen better days with the duvet cover having holes in it. I also feel the decoration could do with a bit of a touch up. Housekeeping needs to be reviewed as it was a bit lax.

Our room wasn't hoovered during the whole of our 3 day stay. The toilet outlet pipe was thick with dirt and hasn't been cleaned in a long time. On day two of our stay weren't left any milk or teabags and I had to go to reception to ask for some.

On Day three and housekeeping didn't even make the bed and took our small towels but didn't leave any replacements. A few other small things, the window is difficult to close and I gave up in the end. The kettle is practically impossible to fill using the single tap on the hand basin, the thermostat on the radiator is a bit loose and difficult to control, the TV reception was a bit temperamental going on and off all the time. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would give the Minto a second chance if we were in Edinburgh again.

  • Beth M

  • December 2014

Amazing customer service makes a visit...

I was only staying a night in Edinburgh and wasn't needing anything but a clean, comvenient roof over my head.

I arrived 4 hours early and expected to leave luggage in a room until later, but housekeeping were called to make my room a priority. The manager, Melanie, was a superstar- she is excellent at her job; she was very friendly and proficient. I wpuld definitely come back based on this experience.