Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh Hotels > The Edinburgh Minto Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Edinburgh Minto Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16-18 Minto Street , Edinburgh, Eh91RQ
Popular independent hotel, offering 22 boutique style bedrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and limited on-site parking, we offer all our guests the level of service you would expect from an established Capital City hotel. We want your stay with us to be memorable for all the right reasons.

We are an ideal base for corporate and leisure travellers alike. Located just minutes from the City Centre, with frequent bus services stopping directly outside the hotel and within a short walk to The Festival Theatre and Royal Mile, the hotel offers a chic, contemporary restaurant, a welcoming residents lounge and a stylish bar with 42" plasma screen TV's and an outdoor seating area. Bar food, snacks and drinks are served daily from 12 noon, and families are most welcome.

All bedrooms come with a range of quality complimentary amenities to help you relax and refresh, whatever your purpose for travel.
Picture of The Edinburgh Minto Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing customer service makes a visit...
I was only staying a night in Edinburgh and wasn't needing anything but a clean, comvenient roof over my head. I arrived 4 hours early and expected to leave luggage in a room until later, but housekeeping were called to make my room a priority. The manager, Melanie, was a superstar- she is excellent at her job; she was very friendly and proficient. I wpuld definitely come back based on this experience.

Reviewed by
Beth M

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad but room for improvement
Nice location but a bit further from the centre than I'd expected but there are plenty of buses and you can get a £3.50 all day ticket.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The room was small but what I had expected, it was clean and tidy and we had a nice view of the garden. Being on the rear of the hotel the room was quiet.
We were in room 27 and found the bed comfortable apart from it being two singles zipped together which meant the bedding didn't fit properly and we were constantly wrestling with the bottom sheet and the duvet also there was no mattress or pillow protectors. The bedding had also seen better days with the duvet cover having holes in it! I also feel the decoration could do with a bit of a touch up.
Housekeeping needs to be reviewed as it was a bit lax.
Our room wasn't hoovered during the whole of our 3 day stay. The toilet outlet pipe was thick with dirt and hasn't been cleaned in a long time.
On day two of our stay weren't left any milk or teabags and I had to go to reception to ask for some.
On Day three and housekeeping didn't even make the bed and took our small towels but didn't leave any replacements.
A few other small things, the window is difficult to close and I gave up in the end. The kettle is practically impossible to fill using the single tap on the hand basin, the thermostat on the radiator is a bit loose and difficult to control, the TV reception was a bit temperamental going on and off all the time.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would give the Minto a second chance if we were in Edinburgh again.

Reviewed by
Philip G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Edinburgh Minto Hotel
staff at the hotel were exceptional, very pleasant, friendly and helpfull. we thought the room was very small with no view from the window. breakfast was very tasty and well presented. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Linda Brennan

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall good value and convenience
The location was great for city shopping and sightseeing. Our room was a bit cramped but brilliant value [stayed in twin room with my daughter]. We had to ask for an extra glass and more tea/coffee supplies but there were lots of towels, extra pillows and it was very clean. My daughter had breakfast both days which she said was good. I was accidentally charged for 2 breakfasts on days prior to our stay but when I queried it, it was refunded though it took a long time to sort out. Staff were pleasant and polite. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
M O'Neill

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

minto banter
the staff were absolutley fantastic and were welcoming and very helpfull. when i requested a taxi phone number they rang for me and rang the room when it arrived.
good value for money
location is ideal for getting a short trip into the center of edinbugh
the only problem i can pickout was our room was next too the boiler room so constant noise and the double bed was two singles pushed together.
nevertheless a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
Joseph N

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
Friendly staff, nice room and decent location

Reviewed by
B Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It could be better
Fit for purpose if a little cramped, harsh lighting but good price price for the area.

Reviewed by
C Naldi

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant room.
Very happy with my stay here. Got to our room and there was no hot water (not a complaint; these things happen). We were immediately moved to one the executive rooms for no extra charge. This room was fantastic.
Staff were welcoming and helpful.
Good location. Just ~20 mins walk from Princes Street and Waverley. Far enough from the city centre to be quiet and restful.

Reviewed by
M Flanagan

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room needs to be checked
In my opinion, room needs to be checked more. I found some weaknesses: faucet drainage was blocked, left curtain could not be tied as there was no tie to do it, and bathroom's door was very hard to close. In addition, I could hear any sound from outside/next door very clearly, even when someone was stepping in front of my room.

Reviewed by
Nor J

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit shabby
The hotel is in a great location and has plenty of parking, and our room was large, but the place is generally a bit shabby. I'm not used to sleeping in a single bed but even so I feel sure this one was unnaturally narrow! They were still making up our room when we arrived but invited us to leave bags and a laptop in there, as they would be safe. On our return some hours later the room was unlocked. Nothing was missing but I felt a bit let down. The breakfast was pretty mediocre though plenty of it. Altogether, disappointing for the price, though by no means disastrous.

Reviewed by
Clare D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next