Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh Hotels > The Edinburgh Minto Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Edinburgh Minto Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16-18 Minto Street , Edinburgh, Eh91RQ
Popular independent hotel, offering 22 boutique style bedrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and limited on-site parking, we offer all our guests the level of service you would expect from an established Capital City hotel. We want your stay with us to be memorable for all the right reasons.

We are an ideal base for corporate and leisure travellers alike. Located just minutes from the City Centre, with frequent bus services stopping directly outside the hotel and within a short walk to The Festival Theatre and Royal Mile, the hotel offers a chic, contemporary restaurant, a welcoming residents lounge and a stylish bar with 42" plasma screen TV's and an outdoor seating area. Bar food, snacks and drinks are served daily from 12 noon, and families are most welcome.

All bedrooms come with a range of quality complimentary amenities to help you relax and refresh, whatever your purpose for travel.
Picture of The Edinburgh Minto Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It could be better
Fit for purpose if a little cramped, harsh lighting but good price price for the area.

Reviewed by
C Naldi

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant room.
Very happy with my stay here. Got to our room and there was no hot water (not a complaint; these things happen). We were immediately moved to one the executive rooms for no extra charge. This room was fantastic.
Staff were welcoming and helpful.
Good location. Just ~20 mins walk from Princes Street and Waverley. Far enough from the city centre to be quiet and restful.

Reviewed by
M Flanagan

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room needs to be checked
In my opinion, room needs to be checked more. I found some weaknesses: faucet drainage was blocked, left curtain could not be tied as there was no tie to do it, and bathroom's door was very hard to close. In addition, I could hear any sound from outside/next door very clearly, even when someone was stepping in front of my room.

Reviewed by
Nor J

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit shabby
The hotel is in a great location and has plenty of parking, and our room was large, but the place is generally a bit shabby. I'm not used to sleeping in a single bed but even so I feel sure this one was unnaturally narrow! They were still making up our room when we arrived but invited us to leave bags and a laptop in there, as they would be safe. On our return some hours later the room was unlocked. Nothing was missing but I felt a bit let down. The breakfast was pretty mediocre though plenty of it. Altogether, disappointing for the price, though by no means disastrous.

Reviewed by
Clare D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was pretty small but ok for one night stay. If opened window on to stone wall, every so often big fan noise going on. One big complaint was room hadn't been hoovered. White fluff over floor and dusty looking. Staff really nice and friendly. Not bad over all.

Reviewed by
I McGrow

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and good value for money :-)

Reviewed by
C Young

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Issue in Wifi and water heater
I stayed in room no:5
1.There is no or poor WIFI connection.
2.Water heater is not clean.The color is black at the bottom (Salt).

Reviewed by
Bharathiraja M

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised!
Due to the festival I'd booked this hotel rather than a usual chain hotel and was worried about how good the hotel would be. I needn't have worried, the hotel was a great find. The room was recently refurbished, all the staff incredibly friendly & helpful and the food served in the bar was great. No would definitely recommend this hotel to colleagues visiting edinburgh.

Reviewed by
Katherine I

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburg fringe
Hotel was very clean ..room was just right for a single person.bath room very good room had everything you need kettle iron ironing board a fantastic hair dryers !!! Location was good 22/25 minute walk from city bus stop outside hotel is you want use instead . Would go back

Reviewed by
Barbara P

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight
Very nice hotel,very clean, bit pricey for 2 drinks, daytime staff very helpfull

Reviewed by
g hamilton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next