No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh City Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
79 Lauriston Place , Edinburgh, EH3 9HZ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Perfectly placed in the heart of Edinburgh, this convenient hotel is steeped in history and charm.

The Old Town and Grass Market are on your doorstep. Within walking distance to Edinburgh Castle, the EICC and the numerous bars and cafes, there is something for everyone.

Free WiFi, modern and comfy bedrooms with a warm friendly welcome awaits you.
Picture of Edinburgh City Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round satisfaction
Great welcome by polite and very helpful staff. Food first class.

Reviewed by
Jenny C

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful city centre hotel
This hotel has a very good location, as it is very near the Grassmarket.
The rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Would definitely return to this hotel.

Reviewed by
Nina H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab hotel
lovely very clean hotel, lovely staff

Reviewed by
c burke

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming
Staff friendly and helpful. Situated close to the places we wanted to go. Great breakfast.

Reviewed by
g malcolm

From Forfar, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Middle aged couple
Although the outside of hotel was a little gloomy, inside was clean and tidy .

Reviewed by
Derek L

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super hotel
Super hotel with a lovely big room - have already recommended it to friends. Location was ideal for exploring Edinburgh City, close to all the attractions.

Reviewed by
Anna C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic spacious modern room in an old historic stone building
The hotel was really immaculate and my room was impressive. It was a decent size and nicely furnished with a modern contemporary feel. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It was slightly further than I had thought from the station (15 mins brisk walk) but is a nice walkthrough the town to get there and actually well situated once you get your bearings.
I had a cooked breakfast in the morning and only ordered a few things. When the plate arrived it was half empty which I guess is my fault but I had expected them to fill the plate with what I'd ordered. The restaurant was also nicely presented and modern
I will definitely book there again.

Reviewed by
Matthew P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The location is fantastic; about 10 minutes walk from Princes Street, very near to the university and within walking distance of lots of lovely cafés and bars. We were able to leave our luggage in the cloakroom before check in and for hours after check out. The rooms were clean and modern, with a flat screen TV, bath and shower. We didn't go for breakfast as it was extortionate, and there were plenty of places nearby to go. We brought takeaway food back to the hotel twice, and the restaurant staff were happy to provide us with plates. The only downside was the bed, which was a little uncomfortable, and left both my partner and I with back ache. However, seeing as it was quite good value for money, I'd certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Mhairi R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of food
Only had breakfast, which we pre-paid £8 for to get the discount. It was good, but not exceptional. I had a croissant and salami and cheese, which was nice, and then ordered the smoked salmon and eggs. The portion was quite small, but ok. I didn't like it served on a crumpet ... I think toast or a muffin would have been better. The salmon was cut too thickly, and still had the grey skin on bits of it, which was offputting. However, the service from the staff was fantastic. The young Polish man serving our table was very charming and cheerful. All in all, a great stay, with great staff and great room, so no complaints really.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Robertson

From Dollar, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation, pleasantly surprised
Great room and very clean, very pleasantly surprised

Reviewed by
David M

From Carluke, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next