No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh City Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
79 Lauriston Place , Edinburgh, EH3 9HZ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Perfectly placed in the heart of Edinburgh, this convenient hotel is steeped in history and charm.

The Old Town and Grass Market are on your doorstep. Within walking distance to Edinburgh Castle, the EICC and the numerous bars and cafes, there is something for everyone.

Free WiFi, modern and comfy bedrooms with a warm friendly welcome awaits you.
Picture of Edinburgh City Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely weekend break
Myself and my boyfriend had a lovely stay at The Edinburgh City Hotel, great location just a short walk to the bars and restaurants at Grassmarket. Hotel exceptionally clean throughout and excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
lisa l

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Guest
Edinburgh City Hotel is situated relatively central to Princes Street, even walking from Waverley Station on a very hot July day! The entrance took us off the main street through a lovely courtyard into the airy and welcoming reception where we were warmly greeted by the reception staff. Our twin room was very spacious, well laid out and tastefully decorated. There was a generous supply of tea, coffee and biscuits both on arrival and topped up when requested. It was a quiet location even with the windows having to be left open due to the high temperatures. The receptionist was well informed about the history of the building when asked, having being converted from a Maternity Hospital some years before. There were several references to this on frames both within and outwith the hotel which had caught our imagination. Due to timings we were unable to dine in the hotel. Although our stay was short, we thoroughly enjoyed it and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would hope to stay there again on our next trip to Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
C MacKenzie

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend for the golf
Very enjoyable stay and weekend away enjoyed for the golf.

Reviewed by
Lee Maguire

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
Really pleased with the room. Lovely decoration and friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
F Bell

From Ellon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel, good location. Pehaps a little on the expensive side for what they provide, breakfast should have been inculded, but a nice hotel none the less.

Reviewed by
D Hawkes

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
We stayed here for two nights and were very happy with the hotel and its facilities. It looks a bit grim from the outside but inside is fine. Our room was large and light and even though we were on the ground floor with the street outside we heard no noise.
The hotel is well situated for walking into the Old Town with a good selection of bars, restaurants and shops within a ten minute walk - though you may have to go down steps into the Grassmarket and return the same way. The plus to this is the stunning view that you get of the castle.
There is a bus stop nearby which is served by the city tour bus which is well worth taking.

Reviewed by
Mike McManus

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was very very good indeed

Reviewed by
Vinod Kothari

From Kolkata, India
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't have been better
Booked this to go to Edinburgh University Open Day with a teen, had hoped for something a bit posher but this turned out to be just as good as the posh ones which I had been thinking of. Very friendly service, enormous and nicely decorated room, very comfy beds, smart bathroom, plenty of tea/coffee making stuff, quiet location, window which actually opened. Pretty central location, Sainsburys Local handily placed a block away.

Reviewed by
Caroline M

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly service

Reviewed by
j meacher

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel itself was clean, modern and comfortable
We only had breakfast there which was very nice.
Reception staff were very welcoming and friendly. Very helpful.
Our room was a lovely size, very comfortable. Quiet. Modern.
We used the bar one evening, very nice, again staff very friendly
Excellent service
Would recommend this hotel and would use it again

Reviewed by
Lisa B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next