No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh City Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
79 Lauriston Place , Edinburgh, EH3 9HZ
Perfectly placed in the heart of Edinburgh, this convenient hotel is steeped in history and charm.

The Old Town and Grass Market are on your doorstep. Within walking distance to Edinburgh Castle, the EICC and the numerous bars and cafes, there is something for everyone.

Free WiFi, modern and comfy bedrooms with a warm friendly welcome awaits you.
Picture of Edinburgh City Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for price. I would stay again.
Room was very warm. We could not open window more than a couple of centre meters. Toast given out cold. Cheap sausages. Staff forgot some of the items on breakfast. Over all good, clean, helpful staff and good location.

Reviewed by
M Lawes

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, pleasant rooms, great breakfast.
I was worried by the exterior appearance of this hotel when I approached -- access is via a courtyard off a small street so the entrance is a little hard to find. The location is good but the road does not look promising (the hotel is opposite a pawnbroker). When inside the experience was excellent. Lovely staff, great quality and choice of breakfast, clean and nicely decorated room. I had to go out on my own on foot for an evening meeting and found the area safe. I had a peaceful night's sleep. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Maggie B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly the high standard I expected
The staff were great, the hotel was very clean and spacious set in a lovely Edinburgh building. Thanks guys

Reviewed by
D Arblaster

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel!
I stayed for 1 night, felt slighty over priced for room only however I was not disappointed with the room or the service.

Reviewed by
Tammy O

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but bit of a hike
I stayed here with a friend and we found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and modern. Rooms were a good size and had a decent hairdryer and an iron was available on request. Wifi connection was okay.. The staff were friendly and very helpful.
The only negatives were that the location was not that central and it was a long walk to the new town and Princess Street. We also thought the breakfast was pretty average. Our poached eggs were over cooked 2 out of 3 mornings.

Reviewed by
Donna N

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City hotel edinburgh
We were lucky to get accommodation as Edinburgh was very busy because of the Festival. However the City Hotel was a good situation because we were going to the Tattoo. The only complaint we have is that on checking in the girl said the bar was open 24hrs for residents so on coming out of the Tattoo we made our way back to hotel thinking we could have a couple of drinks before bedtime, but bar was all closed. The chap on reception did offer to get us a drink and offered us to sit in reception but we decided against it. Everything else was fine.

Reviewed by
janet m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely weekend break
Myself and my boyfriend had a lovely stay at The Edinburgh City Hotel, great location just a short walk to the bars and restaurants at Grassmarket. Hotel exceptionally clean throughout and excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
lisa l

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Guest
Edinburgh City Hotel is situated relatively central to Princes Street, even walking from Waverley Station on a very hot July day! The entrance took us off the main street through a lovely courtyard into the airy and welcoming reception where we were warmly greeted by the reception staff. Our twin room was very spacious, well laid out and tastefully decorated. There was a generous supply of tea, coffee and biscuits both on arrival and topped up when requested. It was a quiet location even with the windows having to be left open due to the high temperatures. The receptionist was well informed about the history of the building when asked, having being converted from a Maternity Hospital some years before. There were several references to this on frames both within and outwith the hotel which had caught our imagination. Due to timings we were unable to dine in the hotel. Although our stay was short, we thoroughly enjoyed it and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would hope to stay there again on our next trip to Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
C MacKenzie

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend for the golf
Very enjoyable stay and weekend away enjoyed for the golf.

Reviewed by
Lee Maguire

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
Really pleased with the room. Lovely decoration and friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
F Bell

From Ellon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next